We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Kingsteignton hotels

BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hackney Lane, Kingsteignton TQ12 3QH, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
73%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kingsteignton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (533)
  • Photos (145)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (205)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

533 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    214
    85
    31
    28
See reviews for
64
316
11
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Passage House Hotel (July 2014). Room – slightly dated but in generally good condition, very clean, the house-keeping team cannot be faulted. Room cleaned and vacuumed every day. Even when we were still occupying the room for most of the morning to get ready for a wedding, we returned in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
chorley
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here whilst visiting family in the area. The location of the hotel is lovely near the estuary ( however at the time of writing the current directions on the booking confirmation are wrong - get the correct postcode from hotel website for your sat nav - we did point this out so hopefully they will get changed) Check in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so disappointed to hear that you weren't satisfied with your stay. We are upgrading our mattresses, so I am surprised to hear that your bed wasn't comfortable. I will ensure that this is rectified with immediate effect. Did you notify a member of our team during your stay... More

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The new North Lodge section has lovely rooms. Noise from main road so have to keep window closed. No air conditioning. Electric Fan provided. FOOD -Do not eat here! Food dull and tasteless. Complaint not well received.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your experience in our restaurant, I would like to discuss it further with you further, please can you contact me on 01626 355515 or carleywarren@passagehousegroup.co.uk. Kind Regards Carley Warren More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We paid £95 to stay here, and were really disappointed. We had come down for a friends 50th and decided to splash out and stay somewhere nice for a change. Unfortunately the bed and mattresses were in a terrible state, what cost for a new one in this day and age?? especially when charging such a high price!!! Next time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. So I can investigate your stay further I would like to have the opportunity to discuss it with your further. My contact details are carleywarren@passagehousegroup.co.uk or 01626 355515 Kind Regards Carley Warren More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Had a wedding to attend nearby, so came and checked in before the evening do.. Was greeted by Kate who was very helpful and polite and asked if we needed help with luggage etc.The room was so inviting and clean, everything was lovely and set up well, with ample pillows. We unpacked and went back to the wedding. On arriving... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for lovely review. I will look forward to sharing it with the rest of the team. Kind Regards Carley Warren More

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Possibly the worst hotel I have ever had the misfortune to stay! The staff were friendly but the hotel was very understaffed. Bitten badly in the hotel room and basically slept on wire springs, not very comfortable to say the least. The food was truly dreadful, the fish could of used to replaced the sole of my shoe, (excuse the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am slightly confused by your review, as this is not a complaint we have ever heard of before from yourself or anyone else who has visited the hotel. So I would like to ask you to contact me directly on 07725481518 to discuss your review further. Regards Carley Warren More

Launceston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The rooms look tired in the main hotel complex. Mine overlooked the car park and was adjacent to the stairs which had a squeaky door and the soft stop was not working well. I was awake until after midnight with people returning to their rooms and then woken at 05:30 when people started to leave again. A group of lads... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay with us here. Did you notify a member of our team to inform them that you were not happy? I do hope that we can welcome you back again soon so that we can provide you with the superior service we aim... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We have used this hotel many times for both business and pleasure, superb location, good clean hotel, very good value for money, but there is a unique difference with this hotel............THE STAFF, when you enter the hotel you are greeted by Kate on reception, she is extremely friendly and efficient, really make us feel at home and very welcome, Kate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Kate was thrilled to hear she helped make your stay more enjoyable! Look forward to seeing you again Kind Regards Carley Warren More

Ashburton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Service excellent and surroundings were good with fabulous views. Food well presented and enjoyable. Price structure was also good.Health club and spa facilities with beauty treatments offered. Parking plentiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so glad to see that you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again soon Kind regards Carley Warren More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel

Address: Hackney Lane, Kingsteignton TQ12 3QH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsteignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passage Hotel Newton Abbot

145 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the banks of the Teign estuary, BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel offers a comfy-contemporary atmosphere for any business or leisure stay. With a total of 90 well appointed hotel bedrooms with en-suites and holiday apartments which have spectacular South Devon riverside views and a luxurious leisure suite with a Steam Room, Sauna and well appointed Gym. Our Beauty Salon offers a range of treatments, massages and aromatherapy. Centrally located between the busy city of Exeter and sea side town of Torquay, BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel is a unique location that ensures that you and your guests will enjoy the benefit of a delightful riverside setting as well as the unique accessibility whether they are travelling by road, rail, or air. All this makes BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel one of the most perfectly positioned venues in Devon. Situated just off the A380 and M5, our conference hotel in Devon is only 15 minutes from Exeter city centre and offers ample free parking and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
90

See which rooms travelers prefer