We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Olde Bell

High Street | Hurley on Thames, Hurley, Maidenhead SL6 5LX, England
Hotel amenities
The Olde Bell
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #4 of 5 Hurley B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Leo C
Add Photo Write a Review

599 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    195
    148
    123
    73
    60
See reviews for
67
322
11
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (599)
  • Mar-May only
    (166)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (180)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (142)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (111)
All months
Hurley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I have lived in Hurley village and on occasions use The Olde Bell, it's a lovely looking place and very convenient on the high street. But in 9 years I can count on one hand how many times I feel that the bar service has been excellent. This claims to be a first class venue (possibly for wedding planners only?)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Being in the industry for over 20 years I know that it is a hard working role managing a team but politeness is still free and I recommend. We spent a night at the old bell on our nice's wedding. Lovely small room with everything as standard apart from the shower not working properly. My wife called reception about it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were invited to the evening do after a friends son's wedding at the Olde Bell Hurley and, after looking at their website decided to make a night of it and stay there too. We picked a deluxe room and ended up in room number 21 in the Brick Barn. The room was very spacious but that was all. In... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers are raving about these Hurley hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel could be amazing, the location is very petty and charming as is pub-hotel itself. The beer garden is ideal to while away a few hours in a beautiful setting but we found the drinks and food very overpriced, nearly £9 for a large glass of standard rosé and not much choice either of wines and ales, also bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear Benbob72 Thank you for your recent review and honest feedback. I will be reviewing with the team so we can continue to work on areas that require improvements. I do hope we cam welcome you back again soon. Regards Paul More 

Uk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

i know reviews are subjective, beauty in the eye of the beholder etc BUT NEVER ever have we paid £234 for a room (2 rooms) £300 for dinner and been treated with such discourtesy, disrepect and lack of care. We refused the £33 refund offering which was an insult to the experience we had. the luxury room booked was Ok,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paul T, Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear Hubblebubble Thank you for your review and as you have already mentioned the version of events are different from our point of view. I am aware that we have responded to you separately via our head office. Regards Paul More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here in a luxury room. Beautiful room with lots of character - made even better by the in-room claw footed bathtub! The bed was a good, large size and very comfortable. We ate lunch on the grounds, outside (luckily we had good weather) and dinner in the restaurant. Food was a very good quality. The grounds surrounding the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear Coco_Cou Thank you for a great review and hope to see you back again at the Olde Bell in the future. Regards Paul More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I paid £135 for a room at the Olde Bell in Hurley for a one night stay (room 5) whilst attending a friends Wedding nearby. I really don't mind paying this much when the service and standard of the room reflects the price paid but on this occasion I was disappointed. On arrival (I was early) I was told by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paul T, Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear David W Thank you for your recent review and am sorry to hear that you were disappointed. I do apologise that the level of cleanliness of your room was not up to our usual high standards and have addressed this with my Housekeeping Manager to ensure this does not happen again. I do hope we can welcome you back... More 

Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked the Olde Bell for Sunday 5th July so that we could attend a family wedding in the Barn. We were very disappointed with the room we were given in the annex (no 43) On entry to the room we found is to be "musty smelling". Only one window would open and the room was very small, there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul T, Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear Susan Y Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room. I have checked with the team and unfortunately I have received no letter or message to contact you so I would appreciate it if you could contact me on 01628 828881 to discuss further. Regards Paul More 

Stockport
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely hotel and beautiful place. Room really nice and comfy. Felt the restaurant meals are very expensive and not a lot of choice. Felt some of the staff were rather slow had to ask for cutlery and waited about 10mins. Dirty cup on the table at breakfast and after requesting another one I ended up getting my own

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear Caz J Thank you for your recent review and for your honest feedback. I have taken on board your comments and will discuss with the team to make the necessary improvements. I hope to see you again soon Regards Paul . More 

Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked in for two nights. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The grounds afford a pleasant area to rest and sip. David our Barman was very friendly and obliging. His customer service excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul T, Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear Susi M Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and also glad to hear that David looked after you well, I will pass on your comments to him with thanks. I do hope we see you again soon at the Olde Bell... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Main building(6)
  • Very good(5)
  • Brick barn(4)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (95)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurley
4.8 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#5 of 11 in Maidenhead
3.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
2.2 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
0.8 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#3 of 12 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 stars 540 reviews
4.2 mi away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay