We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Olde Bell

High Street | Hurley on Thames, Hurley, Maidenhead SL6 5LX, England
Hotel amenities
The Olde Bell
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #4 of 5 Hurley B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Lynn T
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    141
    112
    66
    51
See reviews for
64
298
10
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (557)
  • Mar-May only
    (157)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (147)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (142)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (111)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Two weeks ago my daughter's wedding took place here. The venue was absolutely ideal for this occasion. Everything took place on site and all the rooms had an old and quirky feel to them.Family and friends took over the building for the whole weekend and many of the guests commented on what a fabulous place it was.The staff were so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First impressions of the Olde Bell are favorable and indeed the meal in the restaurant was very nice. However, the room I was given ( which was not even a basic one but a superior one) was a huge let down. Across the road in the car park at ground floor level it was more a motel room. Even worse... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paul T, Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear Kat6883 I do apologise that you were disappointed with your stay. I would appreciate it if you could contact me direct at the hotel on 01628 825881. Regards Peter More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Olde Bell and treated myself to a luxury room. I was not disappointed. It was absolutely stunning , in the main building and was actually on two levels - the bathroom and dressing room being on one floor and the bedroom up a windy old staircase. I was meeting a friend and she stayed in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul T, Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear Jenny M Thank you and I am pleased to see that you decided to write a review We do get some mixed reviews but it is always nice to hear when we do things well. The team work hard on delivering a great experience for all our customer's and it is rewarding for them when it is appreciated. I... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I will start with saying the food at the Olde Bell was in no way bad, just no where near the standard you would expect for the price you pay. My boyfriend and I came here for a Sunday roast a week or two ago. The service was impeccable. Very good, friendly and attentive without being over-bearing. The restaurant itself... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul T, Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear Maddie S Thank you for your review. I was pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your visit with us and that you found the service very good. I have taken on board your feedback and will be speaking to the Chef to improve our quality further. I do hope you come visit us again soon Regards Paul More 

Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel for a long weekend and paid extra for a deluxe room given it was for a birthday. Upon checking in, we went to our room and were immediately disappointed by the quality and decor (very marked carpet and paint work). We then checked our booking and realised we had been put in a basic room and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paul T, Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear Little MIlli Thank you for your review. I have looked at your reservation details and can confirm that you did get the Tithe Barn room and rate as booked on your confirmation backup. If you would like to discuss further please contact me at the hotel on 01628 825881. Regards Peter More 

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been to The Olde Bell many a time as we're only local. The sun was shining and we fancied a drink and some food in the lovely pub garden. I ordered a Bulmers and a Hendricks & tonic, I nearly fell over when I paid the bill - just over £20 for two drinks!! My hendricks and tonic cost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul T, Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear Emwebs Thank you for your review. I must admit I was surprised to read this as if you have visited us many a time before then you will know we operate as a hotel and not a B&B. Our prices are competitive for the area and also displayed at the bar. We have been getting lots of good reviews... More 

London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I went to the Olde Bell with a group of friends for an Easter break. I made the original booking for 3 rooms in Brick barn online after speaking to reception staff and being advised that since 2 of the rooms needed an extra bed for a child - the Brick barn rooms are the most spacious and can easily... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear Malin E Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was pleased to hear that overall you and your family enjoyed the Easter break. I do apologise for some of the shortcomings you experienced and will be working with the team to implement corrective action and training to improve our service delivery further.... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I used this hotel for a business trip, it is advertised as 5 Star, but was far from that. I had a deluxe room which did not have a a wardrobe or chest of drawers, I was not able to unpack properly. Bathroom was clean but I didn't really expect the plastic shower curtain in a 5 star deluxe room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear Paul N Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay and have taken on board your feedback which I will be discussing with the team to implement corrective action where appropriate. We are a 5 star coaching inn and the rooms are designed to have a minimalistic feel which as... More 

london
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came across Ye Old Bell by chance as we were walking the Thames Path.The amazing building date back to 12th century and has a great history.The staff were friendly and helpful due to our dietary needs and even supplied Gluten free sandwiches, which is a rarity !Very enjoyable lunch.We will certainly go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear JessikaLondon A great review thank you so much. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us and found the staff friendly. Now that you have found us hopefully you will come and have an overnight stay with us next time. Kind Regards Paul More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked for a family of 4 for a birthday weekend. We had an issue with our room because our toilet didn't flush ! we spoke to the Manager and made a complaint - he then very kindly gave us an upgrade and made the rest of our stay feel amazing ! It's not luxury but is however warm ,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear Vic W Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that there was a problem with your room on arrival but very pleased that Peter was able to sort that out for you and that you enjoyed your time with us. I look forward to welcoming you back again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question