We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Hurley B&Bs / inns

The Olde Bell

5.0 of 5 Inn   |   High Street | Hurley on Thames, Hurley SL6 5LX, England
Hotel amenities
The Olde Bell
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Olde Bell to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 5 Hurley B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Clare L London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    135
    99
    62
    48
See reviews for
59
286
9
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (523)
  • Mar-May only
    (129)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (147)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (142)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (105)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

On the surface this pub/ hotel looked totally charming, beautifully designed and unique. Having visited their (previous) sister operation, The Crown, a few years ago i had high hopes as this was truly a rare combination of perfect location, charming pub and gorgeous interiors. We arrived on Friday afternoon with a small baby in tow and had booked a Luxury... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The good points about this place are the location - a beautiful village, the huge comfortable bed, the quiet at night, the excellent breakfast, the way that the staff keep really trying and wanting desperately to get it right. The bad things are that we got no paper but the next day a paper we hadn't asked for, the miserable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear Catherine A Thank you for your recent review. I was pleased to hear that you had a good sleep and breakfast with us however I do also apologise that you experienced some shortcomings and I will be speaking to the team to implement corrective action with immediate effect. I do hope we can welcome you back again soon Regards... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately I was disappointed with our one night stay at the Olde Bell over New Years, especially as this was my first New Years not spent at home. We wanted a relaxing stay and the location seemed ideal. Hurley is an olde English village situated on the River Thames, and perfect for those who want to explore Marlow and Henley-On-Thames... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paul T, Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear EmilyAnna1990 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear of your dis appointment and would appreciate it if you could contact me on 01628 825881 to discuss further. Kind Regards Peter More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although our visit here was comfortable and quite pleasant there was a sense of "we want your money"! £4.50 for a lime and soda is simply not acceptable and the staff wouldn't even offer a refund despite no warning of the day light robbery that happened right in front of our eyes! Dinner was great however the steak was sent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear Charliet Thank you for your recent review. I do appreciate your honest feedback and will be reviewing with the team here to take corrective action so we can further improve our service delivery. I do hope you visit us again soon Regards Peter More 

Slinfold, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the Olde Bell for 3 nights on a business trip to the area in January. I arrived late, and first impressions were not good. The main building is dull and unwelcoming, although the girl on reception was very nice. As I arrived late, I did not eat - this would prove to be just as well. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear HughJempton Thank you for your recent review. I do apologise for the poor experience that you have had with us and would appreciate it if you could contact me personally on 01628 825881 to discuss in more detail. Kind Regards Peter More 

Birmingham, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed in a luxury double in the main building. room was large, clean and comfortable and full of character. Nice and quiet compared to some hotels we've stayed in. Breakfast was good - plenty of choice. The hotel is a short pleasant stroll through hurley 'village' (one shop) to hurley lock and the thames pathway. Marlow is also close by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear Allen3 Thank you for your recent review.I was pleased to hear that you had a nice relaxing stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Peter More 

London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well, 2015 can only get better if our New Year's Eve stay was anything to go by! Arrived around 5pm and checked in - all ok. Booked a superior room which was next door in the Malt House. Nobody to help with bags etc but not the end of the world. They'll tell you it's minimalism - which, in fact,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear Bradthebarbie Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I do apologise that you were not happy with your stay and would appreciate it if you contacted me personally on 01628 825881 to discuss further. Regards Peter More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a lovely looking old inn with an old barn used extensively for weddings. We stayed for a wedding. I have to say that the standard double rooms are adequate but not overwhelming for the price which seems to increase somewhat when a wedding is on. A lick of new paint in the rooms behind the barn wouldn't go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear Caroline F Thank you for your recent review and for your honest feedback which we as a team will be working on to improve. I do hope to welcome you back again in the near future Regards Peter More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Gorgeous old inn on the outside, with modern renovations/furnishings within, with a variety of gardens and buildings to explore. We booked a last minute new years eve getaway as we could not be bothered with the hustle and bustle of London this year - they were fully booked for the dinner but we got a call the next day offering... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul T, Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear Rich1381 Thank you for your recent review. I appreciate your honest feedback and I can assure you that all points have been taken on board to enable us to improve our service delivery and standards further. I do hope you visit us again soon and experience the positive changes we have made. Regards Peter More 

Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited here for a wedding in November and stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is set over a large area with different buildings scattered over each side of the road . The pub itself is the oldest in Britain and has superb character and charm. The Barn which holds wedding functions is stunning and highly recommended for anyone wanting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Olde Bell, responded to this review

Dear ThePTGuru Thank you for your recent review and I was pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. I do apologise that you experienced a few shortcoming's however was glad to hear that my staff were able to rectify immediately. I wish you a happy new year and hope to welcome you back to the Olde... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Olde Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Bell

Address: High Street | Hurley on Thames, Hurley SL6 5LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Hurley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Olde Bell 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Olde Bell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Bell Hotel Hurley
Ye Olde Bell Hurley
Ye Olde Bell Hotel Hurley

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (86)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay