We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glenferrie Lodge

3.0 of 5 12a Carabella St, Kirribilli, North Sydney, New South Wales 2061, Australia
Hotel website
Special Offer
Best prices and free wine
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Glenferrie Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Glenferrie Lodge
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    42
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
24
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (86)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff were all extremely professional, helpful, polite and friendly. They make the guests feel very secure, comfortable and welcome. The full buffet breakfast offered plenty of choice. There is a lovely garden area adjoining the dining room for guests to mingle, or quietly sit and relax.The bed was very comfortable, and the whole place was basically very clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is now my favourite place to stay in Sydney. Smack bang on the Sydney Habour, literally a two minutes walk from the ferry, Glenferries has everything the traveller could want. The breakfast has a variety of different, well cooked, foods. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable, and there are no problems accessing the shared bathrooms. Plus, there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Glenferrie Lodge for 2 nights in December. I love the location ; Kirribilli is an area of Sydney outside the main tourist drag but with a real charm and great things to do. Swim at the old Olympic Pool , drink coffee at the Kirribilli Ferry coffee spot , walk past the Kirribilli mansions and art... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bathurst, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed here with the kids and some friends who came to visit. 1st class service, reception and very clean. This is a little gem in the middle of the city with very easy travel around Sydney. I will always call to see if they have a room when I'm travelling to Sydney. Fantastic staff and very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diamond Bar, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this lodge on December 2014. This is a lodge located in Kirribilli, which is a great place. Kirribilli is a upper middle class residential area where crime is virtually non-existent. The place is located across from the Opera house, and you'll be at the opera in just 5 minutes by taking the ferry. Rooms are clean, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was looking forward to our stay based on all the good reviews, was particularly looking forward to meeting Jean-Claude the manager who writes all the responses to reviews (had imagined a chic french guy but all the desk staff I saw would be more likely be named Sandeep or Kumar). Breakfast was good, backyard is great for sitting and enjoying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bathurst NSW
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just checked out after a Sat and Sun night stay. The location is perfect, less than 5 minute walk from Kirribilli ferry, which is a 5 min journey from circular quay. Perfect. This service though is hourly, so check the timetable first. Immediately around the lodge is all residential, and the restaurants and bars are a good 10... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jean-Claude B, General Manager at Glenferrie Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JP Morris, Thank you for your detailed review of Glenferrie lodge. I sincerely appreciate the feedback and especially the constructive feedback. You must have been at the lodge this week because this was when the hot water system failed. Yes it was a massive panic and we were without hot water for almost 2 hours. We managed to get... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Look no further! Our extended stay at the glenferrie lodge whilst my wife was undergoing medical treatment was so friendly and kind that i would recommend this gem to anyone visiting sydney. Nothing was too much for the management team who's professionalism and manners were genuine and friendly.Competitive rates, clean rooms and facilities, peaceful suburb, close to anything you may... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jean-Claude B, General Manager at Glenferrie Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Robert G, Thank you kindly for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Glenferrie Lodge with your wife and I hope the medical treatments were fruitful. I will pass on your lovely comments to the staff about their professionalism and manners. We do try to be the best budget hotel in Sydney and... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A beautiful building in a beautiful spot, and amazingly helpful management --the staff drove me to my office when a taxi they had called didn't materialise! The breakfast, as everybody says, is wonderful, and the gardens are lovely. The bathrooms, though shared, are clean and comfortable, and I didn't have to wait, and the wifi is free and fast. All... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jean-Claude B, General Manager at Glenferrie Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kaysou, Thank you for your review. I was the one who took you to the office in North Sydney and I'm glad that we were able to assist. Thank you for your lovely comments about the staff and breakfast. My only suggestion is that if you were not happy with your room we would have been more than willing... More 

Gosford, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel for 6 years regularly for mainly business but also for nights out, I always recommend this place for my friends and many have stayed. It is clean with friendly staff and a great buffet breakfast included , great for exploring Sydney with good restaurants and close to all transport , highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jean-Claude B, General Manager at Glenferrie Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Grant S, It makes me very happy to read that you have been coming to Glenferrie for 6 years. I sincerely appreciate the support and hope that you will continue to visit us for both business and pleasure. As i'm sure you've noticed we've been making a few upgrades to the property which I hope you enjoyed. However please... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Glenferrie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenferrie Lodge

Address: 12a Carabella St, Kirribilli, North Sydney, New South Wales 2061, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney > Kirribilli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenferrie Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Glenferrie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenferrie Hotel Kirribilli
Glenferrie Lodge Kirribilli, North Sydney

42 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
0:48
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay