We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nepenthe B&B

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
La Fortuna, San Carlos | 100 m este y 1.5km sur de la Escuela, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nepenthe B&B
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Nepenthe B&B
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    85
    31
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
85
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (125)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
El Castillo, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I spent our 7th wedding anniversary at Nepenthe… really nice, we enjoyed every minute. We got royalty treatment from the staff, the views are spectacular, the amenities are warm and comfortable, and dinner at their restaurant Benedicts Steak House was superb. I recommend either the cerviche or chef salad for starters, and then any of the entrees... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My fiance and I stayed at this establishment for a few nights at the end of our trip to Costa Rica. As it was July and the low season, we were the only guests. Regardless, we were treated wonderfully and the staff was very attentive, before and during the stay. Breakfast was always ready in the morning, no matter the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Absolutely incredible! The view was breathtaking, the manager, Augustine, was extremely kind and helpful. The restaurant on site, with Chef Benedict, served some of the best food I've ever had. Highly recommend going to the Arenal National Park; stunning views and gorgeous nature. I cannot rave about this place enough!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here on our trip to Costa Rica right after getting engaged. It's a bit of a drive to get there, especially the last bit, but totally worth it at the end. An incredible view, lovely porch and pool, hot tub, great food, and interesting hosts. The restaurant was just being set up at the time, but we liked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We stayed at Nepenthe for four to five days. The weather was clearly not on our side, so we got a lot of water on our heads! Nevertheless, even with that weather, we could still enjoy the peaceful scenery around us. It's not easy to find it - that's true, so make sure you load the map on WAZE. That... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Beautiful room with wild hummingbirds feeding in the hedge outside. Fantastic views over Lake Arenal from the rooms and the infinity pool, even in a tropical downpour! Well worth the steep, bumpy access track to get there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

This was 1 of out 5 hotels we stayed at in CR. Overall, the stay was wonderful. You can’t beat the view (best view for our trip). The place is very tranquil with no sound of traffic. You get woken up by the birds and the rain. There are some sheep/lamb onsite in the meadow (we enjoyed that). We walked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We ´ve spent a few ninghts here ..in fact the most worst road to get somewhere in costa rica is definitely here! That s the black point.. But.. The room is Nice.. What we didn t like that much is the kind of breakfast where u have to sit at a table with other guests..sometimes, we love just to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Definitely spring for the 4x4 if you're coming here. Also recommend staying in the lower level Cabinas as they're more private and have the best views. Agustin the manager was super helpful in recommending activities and restaurants in the area (the best being right on the property!). His wife runs the spa and my girlfriend got one of the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

Stayed here with my boyfriend, his friends were staying at a hotel in the same town but it was full so the owner booked us a room here. It's even more in the middle of nowhere then the town of El Castillo. Up a really terrible road. It is over priced for the location. We got there after dark and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nepenthe_ByB, Gerente at Nepenthe B&B, responded to this review

Hi Stacy First of all I´m sorry for the inconvenients during your short stay at Nepenthe. We try hard everyday to please all of our guests, but there are things we can´t control, like the road condition and the rain. Nevertheless we disagree with you in a couple of things: - We don´t feel the place is overpriced considering the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

326 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (226)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Cabin (56)
Viewed
Hot Tub (19)
Viewed
Main House Room (31)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay