We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Playa Avellanas B&Bs / inns

Hotel Mauna Loa Surf Resort

Playa Avellanas de Santa Cruz, Playa Avellanas 4023, Costa Rica
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Hotel Mauna Loa Surf Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Avellanas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    8
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
20
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here on March 10-12 2014 with our 1 and 4-year old daughters. Our cabin was simple, spacious and clean, and perfect for our family - we did not experience any issues regarding odours or cleanliness noted in other recent reviews. The cabin was right by the lovely pool - our girls particularly liked the bubbling volcano in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Windsor, New York, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We were staying at an all inclusive resort but decided to only eat there once. The rest of the meals we spent our time driving around looking for local restaurants and decided to stop here. The food was prepared to order right before us and it was extremely delicious. As with every other restaurant visited during our week long stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The rooms are big and filled with beds, which are ok. The bathroom was so old and worn down!!! It smelled soooo bad! They tried to cover to snell by all sorts of parfum vaporators and things like that but even with the bathroom door closed it penetrated in to the room. The garden is not looked after at all.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michele113sdrino, Owner at Hotel Mauna Loa Surf Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your opinion with others traveller. I would like to explain you something that you probably don’t know. Guanacaste region, where we are located, has a dry season from december to may. That means no rain at all during these months and nobody can waste water for gardening because there’s not enough water in the... More

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This establishment is in need of maintenance. We stayed for 1 night (Jan 17th) and found this "resort" very neglected. Even though we had pre-paid for an extended stay after 1 night we checked out the morning of the 18th. It was our first hand experience that the "resort" was dirty and neglected. We are seasoned travelers and were expecting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michele113sdrino, Owner at Hotel Mauna Loa Surf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mrs it looks incredible to me that you keep writing bad reviews of the place. Maybe you're disappointed because you were looking for a place with TV and minibar as you told me when you get here but that was not our fault; as your husband told us you didn't check out what the neighborhood was offering about restaurants,... More

New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This place was great, especially for a solo traveler. The rooms were spacious bungalows with a nice rustic feel. They were very quiet and you had your own porch complete with hammock. I felt very safe there, leaving my surfboard right on the porch. I didn't take a dip in the pool but it looked nice. The staff was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Michele113sdrino, Owner at Hotel Mauna Loa Surf Resort, responded to this review

thank you for your review, it was our pleasure to let you enjoy your holiday in the beautiful Playa Avellanas. See you soon More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Really nice place to stay, with an amazing pool. Owners are really gentle and helpful, the cabinas are large and guarantee real privacy. The place is 15 minutes by walk from avellanas beach, trough a nice walk in the jungle, and two minutes by car. The restaurant is managed by a costarican family that produce organic food by theirself in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Michele113sdrino, Owner at Hotel Mauna Loa Surf Resort, responded to this review

Hi, thank you so much for this nice review, having guest like you make us more than happy to do this job! Hope to see you soon More

Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Super nice owner and very friendly stuff. Anna is a great cook! Breakfast an especialiy the pasta she is preparing taste super good. You feel like you eat in a nice restaurant in italy. The rooms are clean an the climate inside the little bungalow is very pleasant. THey all come with ac, but it doesn't get to hot inside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Michele113sdrino, Owner at Hotel Mauna Loa Surf Resort, responded to this review

Thank you guys, was a pleasure for us to have such a nice guests here. More

West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We loved spending time in Playa Avellenas and we were so happy to find the amazing Mauna Loa hotel one afternoon as we searched for an "upgrade" to the place that we were originally staying. We looked around online and found a few places to check, but when we were actually looking at places in person, nothing really impressed us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Michele113sdrino, Proprietario at Hotel Mauna Loa Surf Resort, responded to this review

Hey Will, i have no words to say how much we appreciate your review; sometimes we have guests that really make me love my job, trying to do it better and better and that was you. Was our pleasure to spend time talking with you and trying to give you an unforgettable stayin' in Costa Rica. You will always welcome... More

victoria australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We are an Australian family having stayed a week here. Michel the host cant do enough for his guests and Anna his chef is the best chef in town. Her pasta is made fresh daily and served with a smile always. To stay in Tamarindo would be a real shame. This place has it all, jungle, awesome beach, friendly dogs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MaunaloaCR, Owner at Hotel Mauna Loa Surf Resort, responded to this review

Hi Myles, thank you for this great review. We really had a nice time with your wonderful family, i hope to see you again here or maybe in Australia!! we'll keep in touch, i'm following your blog. all my best wishes for you More

Mira, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Èvery every year I got to go here This is the BEST place to stay in CostaRica Nice Rooms Clean Nice pool Good original italian food Fare prices Frendly owners 5 minutes walk distance to the beach ( you will walk in a paradise ) I know every single corner of CostaRica & this is the best Promess you will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Michele113sdrino, Owner at Hotel Mauna Loa Surf Resort, responded to this review

Man, the time you were here was the best of 2013 to me!!. just check out the forecast and come back!!!!!!!!! More

Been to Hotel Mauna Loa Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mauna Loa Surf Resort

Also Known As:
Hotel Mauna Loa Surf Playa Avellanas
Hotel Mauna Loa Surf
Hotel Mauna Loa Surf Resort Costa Rica/Playa Avellanas
Address: Playa Avellanas de Santa Cruz, Playa Avellanas 4023, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Avellanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Avellanas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauna Loa is about 0,4 miles from the Pacific Ocean, and has wide bungalows, that can host up to 4 people. Each bungalow is equipped as follows: A/C,orthopedic beds,safe,private bathroom, shower and facilities for disabled people,free wireless. Inside the resort you get: swimming pool for adults and kids,restaurant/pizzeria, laundry service, professional massages service on demand, handicrafts and souvenir shop, reserved and guarded parking, tropical garden. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mauna Loa Surf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Mauna Loa Surf Resort to your Saves list