We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Playa Avellanas B&Bs / inns

Hotel Mauna Loa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mauna Loa to your Saves list
Playa Avellanas, Guanacaste, Playa Avellanas 4023, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Hotel Mauna Loa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Avellanas
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    9
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
20
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent an entire week at Mauna Loa. It was fantastic! The property is beautiful, and getting prettier all the time. I ate mangoes they picked off of their trees! The cabins were very comfortable, and the a/c was most welcome at the end of the dry season (March). I thought I wouldn't need the pool, but it was perfect... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MaunaLoaCrew, Manager at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this review

Hi Kristen, thank you so much for your nice review!! was a pleasure for us to have such a cool guest here, we spent a really nice time with you. Right now we're finishing our remodelling work, tryin' to get the place in a better shape to make everybody feeling confortable. I hope to see you back in town soon,... More

Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed here mainly because it was one of the only places in area that had a pool, but in retrospect we did not use the pool that much, so would have rather stayed somewhere either closer to the beach or with a kitchen. They have one cabina with a kitchen, but it was taken. If you want to keep... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MaunaLoaCrew, Propietario at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with others travellers. I apologize for the inconvenient about the late open of the restaurant, by the way it was low season and during it we normally keep a reduced opening time. You were not the first asking for a coffee maker or fridge so we are now setting up a shared kitchen to... More

El Cerrito, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I enjoyed my stay here. The owners and staff were very friendly and were willing to share their experience living in Costa Rica. I was on a trip, looking for places, I might like to retire. Please check out Mario's Seafood Restaurant. My room was fine, I was happy to have some AC. I enjoyed the pool and hammocks. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MaunaLoaCrew, Propietario at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with others travellers. It's a pleasure to have guests so in love with this beautiful country, we hope to see you soon More

Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed here on March 10-12 2014 with our 1 and 4-year old daughters. Our cabin was simple, spacious and clean, and perfect for our family - we did not experience any issues regarding odours or cleanliness noted in other recent reviews. The cabin was right by the lovely pool - our girls particularly liked the bubbling volcano in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MaunaLoaCrew, Gerente at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with other travellers. We appreciate your review and we will keep trying to do our best. Actually we are organizing our manteinance season, starting with the deck and the walkway, after the whole high season they need a restyle! I'm sorry that the restaurant has remained closed two days, unfortunately we heard... More

Boblingen, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We were staying at an all inclusive resort but decided to only eat there once. The rest of the meals we spent our time driving around looking for local restaurants and decided to stop here. The food was prepared to order right before us and it was extremely delicious. As with every other restaurant visited during our week long stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The rooms are big and filled with beds, which are ok. The bathroom was so old and worn down!!! It smelled soooo bad! They tried to cover to snell by all sorts of parfum vaporators and things like that but even with the bathroom door closed it penetrated in to the room. The garden is not looked after at all.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michele113sdrino, Owner at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your opinion with others traveller. I would like to explain you something that you probably don’t know. Guanacaste region, where we are located, has a dry season from december to may. That means no rain at all during these months and nobody can waste water for gardening because there’s not enough water in the... More

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This establishment is in need of maintenance. We stayed for 1 night (Jan 17th) and found this "resort" very neglected. Even though we had pre-paid for an extended stay after 1 night we checked out the morning of the 18th. It was our first hand experience that the "resort" was dirty and neglected. We are seasoned travelers and were expecting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michele113sdrino, Owner at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this review

Dear Mrs it looks incredible to me that you keep writing bad reviews of the place. Maybe you're disappointed because you were looking for a place with TV and minibar as you told me when you get here but that was not our fault; as your husband told us you didn't check out what the neighborhood was offering about restaurants,... More

New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This place was great, especially for a solo traveler. The rooms were spacious bungalows with a nice rustic feel. They were very quiet and you had your own porch complete with hammock. I felt very safe there, leaving my surfboard right on the porch. I didn't take a dip in the pool but it looked nice. The staff was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Michele113sdrino, Owner at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this review

thank you for your review, it was our pleasure to let you enjoy your holiday in the beautiful Playa Avellanas. See you soon More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Really nice place to stay, with an amazing pool. Owners are really gentle and helpful, the cabinas are large and guarantee real privacy. The place is 15 minutes by walk from avellanas beach, trough a nice walk in the jungle, and two minutes by car. The restaurant is managed by a costarican family that produce organic food by theirself in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Michele113sdrino, Owner at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this review

Hi, thank you so much for this nice review, having guest like you make us more than happy to do this job! Hope to see you soon More

Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Super nice owner and very friendly stuff. Anna is a great cook! Breakfast an especialiy the pasta she is preparing taste super good. You feel like you eat in a nice restaurant in italy. The rooms are clean an the climate inside the little bungalow is very pleasant. THey all come with ac, but it doesn't get to hot inside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Michele113sdrino, Owner at Hotel Mauna Loa, responded to this review

Thank you guys, was a pleasure for us to have such a nice guests here. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Mauna Loa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Mauna Loa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mauna Loa

Address: Playa Avellanas, Guanacaste, Playa Avellanas 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Avellanas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hotel Mauna Loa Surf Playa Avellanas
Hotel Mauna Loa Costa Rica/Playa Avellanas

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Playa Avellanas with
any amenities