We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Esmeralda Resort

4.0 of 5 Baie Orientale | BP 5141, Orient Bay 97071, St Maarten-St Martin
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Esmeralda Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Esmeralda Resort
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    110
    40
    25
    10
See reviews for
28
177
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (272)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (97)
All months
Gothenburg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a quite OK hotel with a good location on the beach, but it is not a four star hotel. This is a typical three star hotel. It is Clean and the staff are service minded, but it is a bit run down. One pool for each complex of four apartments, Clean and no complaints, but I would actually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
USAsalesoffice, Guest Relations Liaison at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We believe that our well-appointed rooms and semi-private pools, dedicated guest service, and excellent location on beautiful Orient Bay usually meets or exceeds our guests' expectations. If you choose to stay with us again, please let us know how we can make your stay more enjoyable! More 

Buenos Aires
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose Esmeralda because we wanted the "island feel" with comfort and relaxing atmosphere. The resort is really nice, and the Coco Beach Bar and restaurant are wonderful. But, Hotel staff were definitely a mixed bag when it comes to customer service. The front desk receptionist at the hotel was barely civil and she never told us that breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
USAsalesoffice, Guest Relations Liaison at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed our resort! We of course always aim to make our guests feel take care of, and will be following up with the agent at reception, as well as the staff at Coco. Please feel free to ask for a hotel manager if you experience these issues in the future so we can quickly recover... More 

Saint Joseph, Michigan
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
22 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have been coming here for twenty years now. Very low keyed resort with a wonderful beach and restaurants. The beach is very much like St. Tropez. With private restaurants, lounge chairs and umbrellas. Most of the "cruise people" get dropped off at the opposite end of the beach, so they aren't as common here. Great for couples!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
USAsalesoffice, Guest Relations Liaison at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We look at our repeat guests as cherished friends, and we are thankful for the opportunity to be able to host you again and again. See you next time! More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm a little OCD so the caulking that needed repair in the bathroom got under my skin, however the maid did a great job of cleaning every day. We were disappointed that the eatery down by the beach was never opened when we mangage to get out of bed. The restaurant on site gave a sufficient breakfast and we paid... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
USAsalesoffice, Guest Relations Liaison at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this review

We are glad you discovered one of our island's secrets: our abundance of great and diverse restaurants all over! Thank you for the note on the caulk, it's those little details that we are always looking to improve. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future! More 

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The resort is ok, rated as one of the better resorts however needs work. Grounds are in need of upkeep, every pool had broken glass, rooms good size, lots of small bugs in kitchen area (bug spray provided in room). Front desk staff do not go out of their way to assist guests including the management. The beach is well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
USAsalesoffice, Guest Relations Liaison at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately, we do encounter weather and some wear and tear to our glass enclosures around the pool, and work to replace these as quickly as we can so they don't impact our guests' stays. We are following up with the hotel in regards to the guest service... More 

New Palestine, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A five-star experience in the U.S. is very different from 5-star in the Caribbean. We had a fabulous 1-bedroom suite and it fully met our needs. We thought our space was lovely, and we had a terrific week. This was at least our 10th trip to St. Martin, and our 3rd time staying at the Esmerelda. We noted several improvements... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
USAsalesoffice, Guest Relations Liaison at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We have undergone some renovations to upgrade our guest experience, so we're glad you like them. We take pride in providing comfortable, themed accommodations on beautiful Orient Bay. Thank you! More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First, the price is right. You won't have to think about a second or third mortgage. This place is affordable. The rooms are quite large and very clean. Each room has a little kitchen setup with a fridge, microwave, dishes, etc. handy. And there are plenty of grocery stores, convenience stores close by to load up. Air conditioning works as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
USAsalesoffice, Guest Relations Liaison at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We have nearly completed our renovations of the room interiors, and will take your note about the lobby furniture when that time comes. Our maintenance team works hard to keep the resort grounds pristine, unfortunately with Caribbean weather there are days when they can't catch everything on our large grounds. We are glad you enjoyed... More 

Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Stayed fir two nights prior to sailing on Windsurf. Two nights was more than enough. The hotel does have a nice restaurant on site and the beach is nice. However, the resort itself is very run down. Previous reviewers claim of bed bugs is a stretch for the record. There are no bed bugs. The resort needs major overhaul however.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
USAsalesoffice, Guest Relations Liaison at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this review

Unfortunately, the island went through a major storm near the end of 2014, so we are working diligently to restore every part of our resort to the highest quality. The glass around the pools is custom made Stateside, and it took longer than we anticipated to receive it. We are glad you enjoyed the beach and onsite restaurant. Thank you! More 

1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

I don't want to start with the negative as i think people tend to see that first and make a decision so I will start with the good. This is a very nice resort which is ideally located on Orient Beach. there are small villas grouped with private pools which makes it very nice and private. the pools light up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
USAsalesoffice, Guest Relations Manager at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for notifying us of your complaint. It is with great concern and regret we received your comments concerning one of our receptionists. We strongly believe that the guests service is vital so we will make sure this will not happen again. We have share your comments with the receptionist in question and have taken appropriate actions to improve... More 

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015 via mobile

I came here for a nice relaxing vacation to spend time with my fiancé. At first we loved the place; nice staff, spacious room, private pool, and easy access to the beach. However we kept waking up during the night feeling itchy and had large bites on our arms and legs. Our room had a very serious bed bug infestation.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
USAsalesoffice, Director of Sales at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this review

In reference to your complaint, we are sorry you did not enjoy Esmeralda Resort and if complained we would have inspected the room immediately. After reading the post, we called in a professional exterminator and we are happy to report we did not need them and all rooms and facility were throughly inspected for any type of bugs and none... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Esmeralda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esmeralda Resort

Address: Baie Orientale | BP 5141, Orient Bay 97071, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Esmeralda Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Esmeralda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esmeralda Hotel Orient Bay
Esmeralda Hotel Marigot
Esmeralda Resort Marigot
Esmeralda St Martin
Esmeralda Resort St Martin
Renaisance Esmeralda Resort

875 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (113)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (38)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (699)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Beach (41)
Viewed
Oceanfront Room (100)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (155)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (126)
Viewed
The Hotel (145)
Viewed
Villa Pools (111)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (63)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay