We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan at Stoford

Certificate of Excellence
Warminster Road, Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PR, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Swan at Stoford
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Swan at Stoford
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    90
    93
    35
    14
    11
See reviews for
56
120
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (243)
  • Mar-May only
    (84)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

As it was a lovely day we went into the garden with our dogs. No one else was there and it was very quiet. The meals were OK but I ordered chips which didn't come with my meal and eventually they arrived after I had finished which was a bit annoying. The waiter did apologise, but seeing as it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We arrived at the swan for a belated fathers day lunch for my father. We opted for the carvery BIG MISTAKE the meat looked lovely but unfortunately all the veg was stone cold. When we complained we were told they could put it in the microwave for us (I think not!!) Upon looking around the restaurant it was clear to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I can only apologise that you thought your meal was stone cold and that you did not receive enough of an apology. However, I am very puzzled by the carvery as I was eating from the carvery myself when the staff told me that you had complained and commenting on how nice the veg was.... More 

Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two days and could not fault our stay. Room was clean and comfortable, the staff were wonderful and the food was excellent. From the Stoford we were easily able to spend our day around this area as we had a guided tour of Salisbury Cathedral. Walked around the streets of Salisbury, and visited Old Sarum and Stonhenge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely words and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope you trip to England was a complete success. Liz More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have visited the Swan many times with friends and family, hence why we chose it for my sons birthday meal. Unfortunately this time I was extremely unhappy with everything. It started with getting the wrong drinks for 3 of us out of 6 ! It was resolved however when we made the waitress aware. After choosing our meals from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

I was very disappointed to hear that your birthday meal was not up to our usual standard. If you had complained at the time about the food we would have gladly exchanged it for you, however, we were totally unaware that you were so unhappy with it, despite our check back policy. With regards to the plate, the waitress informed... More 

Essex
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good spot but not the best service. Functional without frills is the best description. Breakfast was slap dash for crockery and cutlery....also helps if waitress brings what she wrote down rather than guessing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our venue. I am disappointed to hear that our service was not up together at breakfast and will discuss your comments with our team. We are very close to Stonehenge as you say, and make a great base for anyone wanting to explore the history of the area. Liz More 

Somero, Finland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I needed a last minute place to stopover and this is where I ended up. In terms of what I needed, somewhere to sleep close to Salisbury, then it did the trick - the bed was certainly comfortable and the service was very friendly. However if I had been coming here for a holiday I would have been disappointed. First... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are on the A36, but the triple glazing is usually considered effective by customers. I am sorry if the bar (which closes by 11 pm) was noisy for you. We do have some 5 rooms at the back of the property, however 4 of them have shared facilities. Liz More 

Collingbourne Kingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked this hotel at the last minute, so got a good deal on the price. Unfortunately we arrived too late late to eat in the restaurant (last orders at 2130). Had a drink in the comfortable bar and then went up to the room. Plenty of space, free WiFi available, comfortable bed. Although it was bedside a busy road, there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review and 5 star rating. I am sorry if you were disturbed by the other guests in the morning. I am delighted you are returning to visit us. Liz More 

Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Popped in for a quick lunch and were not disappointed. We had burgers and these were very good especially the buffalo burger which was very tasty, came with coleslaw n chips served on a board (would of preferred a plate as it kept falling off small board). The menu is quite large with lots to choose from. There is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review- I am glad you enjoyed your buffalo burger which is proving extremely popular. I will pass your comments on the chef regarding the board. Liz More 

Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After our lovely stay last year we decided to use The Swan again on our way down to Plymouth. Our room was pleasant and the dinner was delicious, however serving burger on thin wooden platter meant I spilt quite a lot of it on the table. There was only one member of staff at breakfast time who was also having... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback seriously and have increased the breakfast staff at the weekend to cope with the busyness and I apologise you had to wait. We do offer a full breakfast menu as placed on tables. I am sorry this was not offered to you. Liz More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Innkeeper and staff couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating during our visit from America. The food was wonderful, the on-site skittles game in the pub was great fun (even though I lost) and the food was excellent. The rooms were clean and comfortable - nice shower. Everyone made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. Their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you have taken to write a lovely review and we enjoyed having you stay. Thank you. Liz More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay