We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan at Stoford

Certificate of Excellence
Warminster Road, Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PR, England
Hotel amenities
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Swan at Stoford
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    95
    99
    36
    14
    11
See reviews for
58
124
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (255)
  • Mar-May only
    (84)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A warm welcome on arrival. Shown to our room and my husband said wow. Clean and bed was very comfortable. Staff very friendly. Drinks a bit pricey. Lovely riverside garden which the Weather would not let use enjoy. Ideal for visiting Salusbury, Bath, Stonehenge, New Forest etc. Good choice for breakfast continent and cooked. All day menu has good choice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at the swan on the 24th of this month, it's a great little place set by a main road but this does not effect your stay, the staff are great very helpful, the room was not large but clean and well layed out. When booking the room you get breakfast as part of the price which is great,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review - I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope you do return soon. Liz More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just got back after breaking down outside this inn. We decided to eat whilst waiting for the rac and the food was really good. The staff were amazing and even though we were there for 4hrs - not a good advert for the rac! - they were really accommodating and could not do enough to help. 5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review - I am glad you got your car sorted out eventually. I am pleased you found my staff helpful. Kind regards Liz More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at The Swan for one night this week as we were attending a meeting in Salisbury early the following morning. We travelled down fro Sheffield after work so didn't arrive until after 8p. We found the inn with no problems and there was plenty of space to park. Check in is at the bar and the lady that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

It was a real pleasure to read such a lovely review. Thank you so much. Liz More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Party of 14 with a age range of 2 - 85 years, having a variety of meals from the Main Menu, overall excellent Lunch time, excellent service, mainly food very good, but felt the Buffalo burgers were disappointing and overpriced, would we go back again yes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review and I am glad we managed to satisfy such an age range! We are pleased you enjoyed your meal. I am a tad disappointed that you did not enjoy your buffalo burger. They are our most popular burger, partly because they are healthier than the usual meat. As they are reared locally near Stockbridge,... More 

Bucharest, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a most wonderful stay, wish I had more time at The Swan! The place is very clean and accommodating, with spectacular service and food! And the garden by the river has indeed swans gliding by, to complete the picture of a heart melting sunset, if you're lucky to get the perfect weather I got. But u'll also enjoy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review, particularly about my staff team. I think they are great and glad that you do too. Safe journey home and enjoy the rest of your trip. Liz More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From arriving to leaving the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. Plenty of choice for evening meal, and the breakfast was excellent. We will definitely stay there again when next in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to welcome you again soon. Liz More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is quite a pleasant pub, situated alongside a busy road, which also offers rooms to let. The service received during our one night stay was very good and the evening meal and breakfast was well presented and of good quality. The Spanish waitress serving in the bar and dining room was charming and attentive. Our main whinge was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry your particular room did not overlook the river garden and that you expected something bigger than a double bed which is what our double rooms sport unless it states differently. I am afraid that the design of our building means that not every en suite can have a window. I am delighted... More 

Headley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

If you're in need of a convenient place to stay whilst in and around Salisbury this is an economical, good value place to stay. The accommodation and fabric of the hotel is in need of some modernisation but I have stayed here a couple of times and have been impressed with the standard of service. The staff are very caring... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind comments. I am delighted you rate our service. Liz More 

Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at The Swan at Stowford for two nights, we were greeted by very friendly staff, who are a credit to to the Swan. We were shown our room which was lovely & clean. The bed was comfortable, the toiletries were very nice in the bathroom. We had dinner both nights. The food was a good quality & nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, your kind words sum up the reason we are in the hospitality trade and we hope you return to visit some of our local tourist attractions soon. Liz More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoford
4.2 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#3 of 15 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Salisbury
Premier Inn Salisbury
#8 of 15 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
5.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 15 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
3.9 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 15 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay