We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan at Stoford

Warminster Road, Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PR, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Swan at Stoford
Professional photos View all
The Swan at Stoford
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    59
    17
    10
    8
See reviews for
38
77
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (164)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I didn't stay here overnight but my partner and me came here for a meal out! We had camemberts which were cooked to perfection, steaks which were tender and both our desserts were amazing too! Brilliant service! Could spend lots of £££ here!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel when we visited stonehenge. The staff were lovely and happily sorted us out a cot for the baby even though we hadn't booked one. The food was great. The two rooms we booked were comfortable and clean and we would happily recommended this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We used to stay at The Swan very regularly but haven't been for a couple of years until this visit. The staff were friendly and attentive, our room was comfortable and clean, the bed was comfortable and, for me, cosy - although the duvet was too short for my husband and he woke several times in the night with cold... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night, chose this venue as halfway point to meet friends for the weekend. Staff very friendly and helpful. Ate in the restaurant for dinner. Very nice. Breakfast ok. Accommodation good standard however the shower had insufficient water pressure to work at all which we duly reported. No bath alternative so we had to settle for going... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you liked our pub. I can only apologise for the issue with the shower and think that this was unfortunately because a few people took a shower at the same time and the plumbing couldn't cope as the shower worked fine when we tested it. LIz More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed a night here on 9th Nov to start off our holiday. Arrived early room not quite ready but told would only be 30 minutes which was no problem as there was a very welcoming seat by the roaring wood burner where we enjoyed a glass of wine while we waited. Our stay was on a Sunday and a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed for two nights at this hotel in a deluxe double room. The room and bathroom were very clean and stocked with tea and coffee. The bed was comfortable. We ate dinner from the carvery and breakfast each morning as it was included in the room rate. The food was fantastic and the service was impeccable.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review - we appreciate you taking the time to feedback and it was a delight to read it. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Liz More

Hythe, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly staff. No wifi in room which was a poor start. Mould above the shower. Low water pressure that caused the water temperature to change quickly from cold to very hot - a dangerous condition. Half a tomato served for breakfast! Couldn't provide porridge for breakfast. Inadequate night lighting for double steps in corridor. No radio available on tv in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay and that the fire alarm went off. We found out the next day that a customer had been smoking in one of the bedrooms and set it off, unacceptable behaviour but out of our control. You may have only had half a tomato as part of your full breakfast, however, you... More

Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for one night during October half-term and had a pleasant and comfortable stay. All the staff were friendly and polite, making sure we had all we needed. Our room was a double en suite overlooking the road, but this wasn't a problem as we had a solid night's sleep. We ate in the main bar area in the evening... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, our wood burner and our vegetarian options. Liz More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very good and friendly staff and service. Good food, we ate dinner and breakfast there. Clean room but unfortunately we had a poor night's sleep as there was no way of controlling the temperature of the room, it was really hot as there was a hot pipe running all round the edge of the room which fed the towel rail... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our pub- I am pleased you rate our service and am sorry that the room temperature was not to your satisfaction. Liz More

ashford kent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

stayed for couple of nights at the swan, in late october. we had the twin room, which was quite acceptable, it is a very old inn, and I dont think you ever expect them to compete with the newly built hotel chains. we had a good look round for rooms, but either they were too expensive, or fully booked, so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. We are definitely not in the same market as the large chains, our pub has been trading since 1740 and is quirky and old, which we love as we think we have more character than a purpose built hotel. I am glad you found us good value for money and conveniently located. Liz More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Swan at Stoford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Stoford

Address: Warminster Road, Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Stoford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Swan at Stoford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Salisbury

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Swan at Stoford

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby