We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan at Stoford

Certificate of Excellence
Warminster Road, Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PR, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Swan at Stoford
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Swan at Stoford
Add Photo Write a Review

249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    91
    97
    36
    14
    11
See reviews for
56
123
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (249)
  • Mar-May only
    (84)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

From arriving to leaving the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. Plenty of choice for evening meal, and the breakfast was excellent. We will definitely stay there again when next in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is quite a pleasant pub, situated alongside a busy road, which also offers rooms to let. The service received during our one night stay was very good and the evening meal and breakfast was well presented and of good quality. The Spanish waitress serving in the bar and dining room was charming and attentive. Our main whinge was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Headley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

If you're in need of a convenient place to stay whilst in and around Salisbury this is an economical, good value place to stay. The accommodation and fabric of the hotel is in need of some modernisation but I have stayed here a couple of times and have been impressed with the standard of service. The staff are very caring... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at The Swan at Stowford for two nights, we were greeted by very friendly staff, who are a credit to to the Swan. We were shown our room which was lovely & clean. The bed was comfortable, the toiletries were very nice in the bathroom. We had dinner both nights. The food was a good quality & nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, your kind words sum up the reason we are in the hospitality trade and we hope you return to visit some of our local tourist attractions soon. Liz More 

Englishman in Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Old building with lots of character full creeks when you walk around. Complicated route to get to some of the rooms, but this adds to the charm. Staff very friendly and very helpful. Manager stayed up especially to wait for my late check-in and 23:30.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed staying at our creaky old inn and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. Thank you. Liz More 

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As it was a lovely day we went into the garden with our dogs. No one else was there and it was very quiet. The meals were OK but I ordered chips which didn't come with my meal and eventually they arrived after I had finished which was a bit annoying. The waiter did apologise, but seeing as it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. I am glad that you enjoyed our garden - they are both quite relaxing although my personal favourite is sitting by the river watching the sun go down. I can only apologise that your chips got missed off your ticket, this is very remiss of us and I am sorry.... More 

1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived at the swan for a belated fathers day lunch for my father. We opted for the carvery BIG MISTAKE the meat looked lovely but unfortunately all the veg was stone cold. When we complained we were told they could put it in the microwave for us (I think not!!) Upon looking around the restaurant it was clear to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I can only apologise that you thought your meal was stone cold and that you did not receive enough of an apology. However, I am very puzzled by the carvery as I was eating from the carvery myself when the staff told me that you had complained and commenting on how nice the veg was.... More 

Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

We stayed for two days and could not fault our stay. Room was clean and comfortable, the staff were wonderful and the food was excellent. From the Stoford we were easily able to spend our day around this area as we had a guided tour of Salisbury Cathedral. Walked around the streets of Salisbury, and visited Old Sarum and Stonhenge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely words and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope you trip to England was a complete success. Liz More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

We have visited the Swan many times with friends and family, hence why we chose it for my sons birthday meal. Unfortunately this time I was extremely unhappy with everything. It started with getting the wrong drinks for 3 of us out of 6 ! It was resolved however when we made the waitress aware. After choosing our meals from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

I was very disappointed to hear that your birthday meal was not up to our usual standard. If you had complained at the time about the food we would have gladly exchanged it for you, however, we were totally unaware that you were so unhappy with it, despite our check back policy. With regards to the plate, the waitress informed... More 

Essex
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

Good spot but not the best service. Functional without frills is the best description. Breakfast was slap dash for crockery and cutlery....also helps if waitress brings what she wrote down rather than guessing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our venue. I am disappointed to hear that our service was not up together at breakfast and will discuss your comments with our team. We are very close to Stonehenge as you say, and make a great base for anyone wanting to explore the history of the area. Liz More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoford
4.2 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#2 of 15 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
5.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 15 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 stars 602 reviews
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Salisbury
Premier Inn Salisbury
#7 of 15 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
3.9 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#3 of 15 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#9 of 15 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay