We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arkleside Country Guest House

Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6SG , England
Hotel amenities
Arkleside Country Guest House
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #5 of 10 Reeth B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Maisymunch kent
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    41
    30
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
12
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (88)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
kent
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a lovely warm welcome from the owners we were shown to our room which had everything you would expect from a country B and B. The breakfast was excellent and the view from the dining room is beautiful! Hannah and Terry are wonderful hosts, we will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our arrival at the guest house was very welcoming. Our room was very disappointing, small and in the roof space (Dormer type). The bed was two singles pushed together with bedding that didn't fit, displaying a dirty mattress. The ensuite was small with no space for your toiletries. The WiFi only worked successfully downstairs. The breakfast was very good. Overall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hanhanhill24, Owner at Arkleside Country Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Bungy1956 Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We were sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room, had something been said at the time we could of tried to offer you a different room. I'm afraid our rooms are not huge spaces, they are in keeping with what a 17th century building has... More 

Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Previous reviews did not reflect our experience. The most expensive B and B on our trip and the least impressive. The welcome wasn't great made to feel we were a nuisance. Good location but otherwise not much to offer. Trying too hard to be a boutique type Band B but basics were a bit ropey e.g plumbing reminded me of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hanhanhill24, Owner at Arkleside Country Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Elan10 Thank you taking the time to post a review. We are some what disappointed and quite upset at this review for a few reasons. Firstly, we would never make anyone feel like a nuisance as we would go out of business very quickly. If our memory serves correctly you arrived earlier than check in (which is at 4pm... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights as a base for walking in the dales. We received a warm welcome from the owners Hannah & Terry, whom also gave us good advice on where to eat in the evenings. The rooms were clean, of reasonable size and the bottled water was a nice welcome touch. There was a good choice of food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hanhanhill24, Owner at Arkleside Country Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Dougie D Thank you for your recent great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, walks and seeing what the area has to offer. Its lovely when guests recognise the little touches that we offer. We look forward to seeing you again one day. Kind regards Hannah & Terry Hill Proprietors More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Hannah and Terry were lovely, breakfast was brilliant. The rooms were fantastic. What more could you ask for? They even managed to set up the table for mums 60th, a lovely suprise for her. Will def stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hanhanhill24, Owner at Arkleside Country Guest House, responded to this review

Dear t19spc Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we enjoyed being part of your mums 60th Birthday celebrations. It would be lovely to welcome you back one day. Kind regards Hannah & Terry Hill Proprietors More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

This is a lovely guest house. The young couple who run it are very friendly and helpful. The rooms were cosy and comfortable. Unfortunately there was no shower in my room, only a bath though a shower was available across the corridor. The breakfast was excellent and the packed lunch very good. An evening meal was not available though there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hanhanhill24, Owner at Arkleside Country Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Stephen C Thank you for taking the time to post a great review. We are glad you had a comfortable stay. We try to have a range of rooms to suit all tastes although we realise a Bath is not everyones taste, but glad you were happy with the added shower room that came with your room. its good... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Just returned from a weekend break and we had a fab time. We were made very welcome by Terry and Hannah, our room had spectacular views of the countryside and was very spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic and there was plenty of choice and we were even offered a timeslot of our choice. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hanhanhill24, Owner at Arkleside Country Guest House, responded to this review

Dear samandpaul2007 Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and everything the Arkleside and Swaledale has to offer. We enjoy sharing the view with guests as its a shame to keep it a secret!! We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Hannah... More 

Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Lovely owners nothing too much trouble and fantastic cooked breakfast.This B&B is in the perfect place for touring and lovely walks.There is so much to see and just not enough time too see it all in,will come again soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hanhanhill24, Owner at Arkleside Country Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Maggie4446 Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review of our guest house. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfasts and our hospitality. We do hope to see you again soon Kind regards Hannah & Terry Proprietors More 

kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the newly extended family room this Easter weekend. What can I say large airy room with multi views and an en-suite. I would recommend the Arckelside to everyone the service was warm friendly and breakfast was superb. This hotel is in a perfect location with pubs and tea rooms on your door stop. Looking forward to my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hanhanhill24, Owner at Arkleside Country Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Tiffsaqua Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay in our new family room. (which is proving to be very popular) We look forward to welcoming you back one day. Kind regards Hannah & Terry Proprietors More 

Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

A group of seven of us booked in at Arkleside as the last stop on a four day 52 mile walk of the Herriot Way. On arrival we were put at ease by Terry and Hannah. Our rooms were very nice and well furnished. Terry and Hannah also suggested the best place to eat in Reeth. Breakfast was excellent. Definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reeth
0.0 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
5.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
0.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ivy Cottage B & B Tea Room
0.0 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 10 in Reeth
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.0 mi away
The CB Inn (Charles Bathurst Inn)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay