We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bunaken Island Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Liang Beach, Bunaken Island 95000, Indonesia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bunaken Island Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bunaken Island Resort
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    24
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
32
65
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (132)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
There are newer reviews for Bunaken Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed 5 days in Bunaken Island Resort. I would love to say, that we had most beautiful time here. We booked beach front bungalows and i would recommend it to everyone who enjoys time on balcony in hammock , observing the great nature (sea, birds, sunset...). I loved open air shower - great!!! The bedroom is nicely decorated, great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We just got back from Bunaken Island Dive Resort after a wonderful stay at the end of August/beginning of September 2012. The food, service, people, diving, the whole experience was just as good (or should we say excellent) as it was the first time we visited. It is fantastic to have such a home away from home located on top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I've spent a week on the island, together with my 15 yr old son, diving. The stay was a truly fantastic experience. The villas are fantastic, staff is superfriendly, the view is one of the best ever (see photo), sven running the diving school, is a true pro in every sense, food was really nice every time. The only thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Me and my wife stayed in Bunaken Island Resort for a week from mid August this year. We wanted our stay to be the highlight of our trip in Indonesia and we were absolutely right. The place is extremely beautiful and is located on the nicest part of the island. The view on the sea and on the volcano next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Londen
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The most terrible resort we've ever visit. A total mess. Overbooked. Impolite management. Everbody was complaining. A very unwelcome and stressed atmosphere. Also diving is very disappointing in this area because of the polution (more plastic bags than fish) NEVER again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Frank F, Owner at Bunaken Island Resort, responded to this review

This negative review is part of three negative reviews we received in August 2012 and are in fact the first bad reviews our resort has ever received. This has compelled us to investigate the matter and post our findings on TripAdvisor. What we found is that all three negative reviews (Peter R., ILse H. and Emmy D.) were posted by... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had a great time at Bunaken Island Dive Resort. Why? - The staff is fantastic! - The villas are comfortable (good beds, warm water, airconditioning) - The food is great - The diving is beyond words! (use Sven's dive school - his entire staff consist of locals who have an idea for the small stuff and know the dive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Great place (remote & simple), best dives, clean, great service and attitude. I have been around and nothing beats this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
indonesia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Im Indonesian and during school trip we went to Bunaken island resort with my big family. 3 kids and 7 adults. As a local I know what to expect from my country. and I can say that overall we are very satisfied with the resort. Here is why: Love the location. The sunset from the resort is nice. Beach in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I would agree with all of the positive reviews below and also underline that people who moan that this place doesn't have a pool, zen palace etc. only have themselves to blame for not doing their research. You can do 3 things here: 1) Dive/snorkel 2) Sit in your hammock and nap/read/stare out to sea 3) Eat/drink And let me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Turnhout, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic vacation at Bunaken Island Resort. The accommodation has a local and nice interior, the view astonishing and clean. The staff is very friendly and accurate. Food always fresh and well prepared. Can't find anything to be less enthusiastic about. The diving crew is very professional and they spoil you. You don't have anything to do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

167 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (166)
Viewed
View from room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (20)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question