We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coach House Hotel

Flint Cross | Newmarket Road, Royston SG8 7PN, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Coach House Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Meal was awful; all the vegetables were all cold. When I complained that all the vegetables was cold the woman went away to check, came back with a digital thermometer to make some temperature measurements at the Calvary but did not tell us the results, I can only assume that she found the vegetables to be under temperature but did... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
36michelleg36, Owner at Coach House Hotel, responded to this review

I'm very sorry you didn't enjoy your meal with us. I did check the temperature of the vegetables as promised and found they were up to the correct temperature of 55 degrees. I had other customers after you had left have a meal and I asked them if everything was hot enough and they said it was fine. As for... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

On arrival at the Coach House Hotel we could not find the reception,once we found the so called manager who was also the barman,chef,waiter we were given a key for a 1st floor room(Note: Hotels.com guaranteed me a ground floor room due to being disabled and the manager told us he was not informed that we required a room on... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley P

Travelers are raving about these Royston hotels

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

Grim looking B&B with glooomy looking bar area (truck stop looking). Not worth the expensive £79 at all. This place needs the 'Hotel Inspector' and someone who cares about the place. So much potential lost with the place Bar was not really a proper working bar, only warm bottles, no ice, products on the menu they didnt have. Rooms tatty... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Shirley D
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

Interesting historical site and pretty courtyard. The 'stables' were converted into rooms. So much potential but sadly the staff when we arrived seemed too busy playing slot machines and the breakfast was rather greasy with no choice. Wifi didn't work. OK if you are desperate.

Helpful?
1 Thank GlennMiles
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

Generally looked grim, tatty, tired dated rooms in need of maintenance! Toilet was loose and coming away from the wall, dirty bed linen. Wifi in rooms was non existent No ice at the bar! But got told I didn't need ice as the bottle had been in the fridge!! No ham limited bar menu! Bar decor looked drab and dreary!... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank sharoncookson
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 via mobile

This Hotel has a lot to offer? With a bit more care and maintenance it would be reach its full potential! Excellent value for money! However the following things need rectifying. The room curtains could do with being thicker? Or fitting blinds to keep out the lights from outside. The bathroom was ver very small and could do with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank SMARTAlex10
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

On arrival this seemed a nice place, judging by the manicured and colourful garden beds that greeted you as you arrived in the courtyard, with the pretty water feature taking pride of place in the centre of the courtyard. Unfortunately this for me was the only good side. Whilst the rooms were 'adequate' (the website photos are most certainly out... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 348nanno
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here with my mum whilst attending a family wedding nearby. We Arrived and received a very warm welcome from the home staff. We enjoyed a lovely lunch and drink in the sunny courtyard. Our room was small but had everything we needed...hairdryer, coffee machine and trouser press were all included! The room was clean and cosy. Overall I... More 

Helpful?
Thank kirsty S
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

I stayed here for my friend's wedding. Very nice and cosy hotel runned by a family. Beds were a little too short, but I'm about 190cm. Very quiet, so very good to catch up some sleep. Close to Melbourn and Royston.

Helpful?
Thank Taco L
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

We booked this hotel via late rooms at £79 for a double room which is the same price as the hotel charges for a double room. We had two double rooms for my husband and myself and our son and his girlfriend. When my husband checked in he was informed that they would have music outside on the Saturday night... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank philippa h
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Royston
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
2.1 mi away
The Sheene Mill Hotel
The Sheene Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Melbourn
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
4.7 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
3.3 mi away
Orchard House
Orchard House
#3 of 11 in Royston
5.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
3.5 mi away
Old Bull Inn
Old Bull Inn
#6 of 11 in Royston
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay