We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard by Marriott Basel

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Hardstrasse 55, Pratteln 4133, Switzerland
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Courtyard by Marriott Basel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pratteln
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Swissmama2014 Zurich, Switzerland
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    90
    31
    15
    11
See reviews for
43
55
16
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (215)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had stayed here before when we had just one kid. This time my husband reserved online. The only way to get a room was to say we had one kid, if we added our 1 yo there were no rooms available. We have had this happen in the past with other hotels and have always called to confirm and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

My review was blocked from Trip Advisor as i was being too harsh on my assessment of the people working in this hotel. The Swiss have the best hotel schools in the world they say but you won't find any hospitality here at Marriott Basel. The front desk greed you with a head down and no hospitality at all. Heating... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Basel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you very much for choosing again our property. Our General manager contact you personally by email. Please, stay in contact with him for talking about your experience in our property. As a valued guest we hope to welcome you again in our hotel. Best regards, More 

Leca da Palmeira, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Extremely good place to stay, extremely friendly staff. Wifi on the lobby ultra fast and easy, free. Wifi on the rooms a little bit expensive, but has a slower and free option. Excellent bar and excellent restaurant. Totally approved and recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheshire England
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
57 hotel reviews
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

We stayed in this hotel for three nights. On our previous visit to Pratteln we stayed at the only other hotel in Pratteln which not an option for three nights. The reception was very friendly and helpful. The room was fine as was the bathroom. The bed was comfortable but the room temperature was very difficult to control and had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Basel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience about your stay. We’re very glad that our staff meets your expectations. Thanks for this compliment. Unfortunately, we cannot reach your expectations during your stay with our breakfast buffet. But we have to say thank you for your valuable notes. Your other advices for a comfortable room... More 

Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Chose this hotel due to convenient location close to Highway and trusting in the Marriott brand, albeit the high price (170€ / night with breakfast). The queue at check in took 10 minutes, once I got there the lady was really courteous. The room is very large but not clean as it should be (an empty bottle of water under... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Basel, responded to this review

Dear sir or madam, first we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is great to hear that our well-known guest service has been to your satisfaction. Your valued feedback will be shared and discussed internally and adjustments will be made where appropriate. Please note that... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Stayed here for 1 night on business to Basel, I was dubious as it seems to be connected to a waterpark of sorts. The staff are fantastic, shame about the few kids running around the night I was there, but it's the parents fault not the kids really. Took forever to get served in the bar but the burger was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

This hotel is to be avoided!!! Totally overpriced for parking, Internet, breakfast. Rooms are very standard. We have arrived at 23:45 Dec 31.... Any receptionist would have said: 'welcome, happy new year...' Nothing of nothing!!! As a gold member of Marriott membership reward program I would have expected a glass of sparkling wine as it was midnight of such a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Basel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your previous stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Basel. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet or exceed your expectations. Our branded Standard category, which you have booked, offers a great size of 28sqm, Marriott Kingsize bed, a comfortable working desk and amenities such a coffee... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

Been here for only one night but I could fully profit from all the services available. Free entry to the aquabasilea spa, fitness and awesome breackfast. A little bit noisy due to two big main routes passing by but otherwise I had a goo stay. Will come back

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Stayed at this Hotel twice now, both times business trips, and I have no real complaints. Staff are some of the best I have ever encountered, for efficiency and friendliness, really top-notch. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and absolutely clean. I am not a good Hotel sleeper, but here I have no problems getting a good nights' sleep. All-in-all, very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for one night, to visit the Christmas Market in Basel, the hotel is 9km outside Basel. We arrived by car and parked in the Multi-storey carpark net to the hotel, 29 CHF for 24 hours. Friendly helpful staff at check in with clean a comfortable room. The Hotel is situated next to Aquapark, great for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question