We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kimi Ryokan

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
2-36-8 Ikebukuro, Toshima 171-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct for Best Rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kimi Ryokan
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kimi Ryokan
Kimi Ryokan
Kimi Ryokan
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    127
    105
    30
    8
    13
See reviews for
36
92
59
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (283)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (75)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
There are newer reviews for Kimi Ryokan
See the most recent reviews
Maenclochog
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

The owners were friendly and spoke good English. It felt authentic and a good price. The room was clean but basic. Although the bathrooms were shared, they were clean and we never had to wait to use them. The location was good and close to a shopping center. Only downfall was that there was a wait for the hairdryers! A... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
貴美旅館, マネージャー at Kimi Ryokan, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your stay in Kimi Ryokan with us, and hope you enjoyed your stay and your trip in Tokyo. We are so sorry to hear that you have waited fo the hair dryer! We have more dryers prepared with us in our reception, please let us know next time! We would definately keep on... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Kimi Ryokan is exactly what you want if you're looking for an authentic Japanese experience in Tokyo. We were very lucky as we arrived in Tokyo with nowhere to stay (TIP: make sure you don't do this, Tokyo can be a nightmare when it comes to last minute accommodation!), and found this little gem! Very friendly staff who are also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
貴美旅館, マネージャー at Kimi Ryokan, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your stay in Kimi Ryokan with us, and hope you enjoyed your stay and your trip in Tokyo. We are sorry that the smell of our vapourisers, we would try to change the smell. It was to let everyone feel good but maybe it did not work! T T We would definately keep... More 

Tijuana, Mexico
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We stayed at Kimi Ryokan for 6 days 5 nights, it was our last stop while in Japan as we have been traveling from Osaka all the way up to Chiba. It wasn't that hard to get to but depending on which exit you take from the subway or train, it will be a little confusing if you've never been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
貴美旅館, マネージャー at Kimi Ryokan, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your stay in Kimi Ryokan with us, and hope you enjoyed your stay and your trip in Tokyo. First of all, we are so sorry you had a hard time with your back. As we are trying to offer a traditional japaness style ryokan on a cheep price for the area, we also... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015 via mobile

Really close to the JR station you can walk there. Make sure you have a map though because it can be confusing. Heaps of restaurants and nightlife nearby. The rooms are small but of an average size for Tokyo. There are common bathrooms but they are clean and lots of hot water. A great place to stay for the budget... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
貴美旅館, マネージャー at Kimi Ryokan, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your stay in Kimi Ryokan with us, and hope you enjoyed your stay and your trip in Tokyo. We would definately keep on trying to improve our service and also to keep the price reasonable. Please let us know if any inconvenince have bothered your comfortable stay, we are always ready to work... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

We stayed there for 3 nights for a 2 mat room. The mats were surprisingly comfortable and the rooms were well heated for the winter making it such a nice and cozy sleep. The shared bathrooms were not a problem, we were given towels and traditional robes for us. Overall it was clean, I liked the atmosphere of the place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
貴美旅館, マネージャー at Kimi Ryokan, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your stay in Kimi Ryokan with us, and hope you enjoyed your stay and your trip in Tokyo. We would definately keep on trying to improve our service and also to keep the price reasonable. Please let us know if any inconvenince have bothered your comfortable stay, we are always ready to work... More 

Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Our stay at the Kimi Ryokan was very enjoyable. Our room was a 4,5 mat room for 2, which was very comfortable. The facilities were always clean, and the staff was always helpfull. There's also a nice (if somewhat small) kitchen and lounge area. Kimi is a 10 minute walk away from Ikebukuro station. The one drawback is that our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
貴美旅館, マネージャー at Kimi Ryokan, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your stay in Kimi Ryokan with us, and hope you enjoyed your stay and your trip in Tokyo. We are so sorry for the noise that have been bothering you, we are now on the process to change every single doors to a soundfroofed door. So sorry again and we promise it would... More 

Kwinana, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Kimi Ryokan has a very tranquil atmosphere. The staff are always polite and friendly, greeting you whenever they see you. The admin are very agreeable and are quick to help in any way. The futon are comfortable and tatami is soft. We stayed in winter, and the bedding was kept us very warm. The common area is a great place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
貴美旅館, マネージャー at Kimi Ryokan, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your stay in Kimi Ryokan with us, and hope you enjoyed your stay and your trip in Tokyo. We would definately keep on trying to improve our service and also to keep the price reasonable. Please let us know if any inconvenince have bothered your comfortable stay, we are always ready to work... More 

Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

From the photos & reviews, I expected something good. I thought I found a gem in Tokyo at this price but I was quite disappointed. Cleanliness I felt was lower than what I would expect for Japanese standard. The toilet, although shared, smells like pee. I've been to plenty restaurants in Japan with shared toilets , plenty people using and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
貴美旅館, マネージャー at Kimi Ryokan, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your stay in Kimi Ryokan with us, and hope you enjoyed your trip in Tokyo. We apologize making you feel uncomfortable during your stay. As you can notice from other comments, we are doing our best to maintain the best quality out of our cheap price in the middle of Tokyo, the best... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Great location, friendly staff, minimalist rooms and deliciously hot showers - perfect base for exploring Tokyo. Hard too believe the number of people staying, as the rooms were so quiet once the door closed. Only drawback were the slightly too thin futon - could have used another layer!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
貴美旅館, マネージャー at Kimi Ryokan, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your stay in Kimi Ryokan with us, and hope you enjoyed your stay and your trip in Tokyo. We are so sorry the futon was not thick enough! We usually provide another layer when requested, so please feel free to ask the staffs for anything you need during your stay. We will do... More 

Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Basic but good location, cheap some where to sleep. Clean , share bathroom, information regarding teaching in Japan. .....................................................................................

Was this review helpful? Yes
貴美旅館, マネージャー at Kimi Ryokan, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your stay in Kimi Ryokan with us, and hope you enjoyed your stay and your trip in Tokyo. Thank you for your wonderful comment and scores, and we would definately keep on trying to improve our service and also to keep the price reasonable. Please let us know if any inconvenince have bothered... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (90)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Ikebukuro

Neighborhood Profile
Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro is an area of massive development. Several thousand tenants occupy two giant department stores and shopping malls, where all sorts of shopping and gourmet foods can be enjoyed. The 60-story building at the east entrance of the station, Sunshine City, is a landmark within Ikebukuro and features an aquarium, planetarium, theme park as well as an observation platform. The popular name for the western side of this area is "Otome Road" (Maiden Road) and there are many shops selling products related to anime with a female theme. It has rapidly become the worldwide headquarters for ‘otaku’ or geek culture.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay