We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Avda Cataluna 20 | Playa de San Juan, 03540 Alicante, Spain
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    105
    77
    25
    26
See reviews for
70
116
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (277)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (87)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Varberg, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Reception, restaurant and pool area was nice and fresh. My room felt less new and fresh. Toilet did not flush properly and the room itself was in need of refurbishing. Otherwise clean towels were provided and cleaning every day. I encountered four members of staff, where only two spoke good enough english for a place that receives international guests. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very kind and helpful staff. And you get a lot for the price you pay. Easy access to shops and beaches around. Would come back again. Cons: This is not a facy hotel. It is quiet old. Still it is very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Very old room in need of a good remodeling. We got a room on the ground floor so very noisy from the parking next to our window, which had bars on it. While we there, a wedding took place on the saturday night and it turns out our room was a few meters away from the room where the wedding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Alicante hotels

Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015 via mobile

Was not informed by management that there would be a wedding going on until 3 am at the hotel. The hotel was really old, no wifi and the walls gave away a melancholic feeling. The staff could have been professional and told everyone there would be a wedding (this was booked a week before) or AT LEAST put us in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan, responded to this review

Dear ols91, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are always happy to provide a consistently clean, comfortable and courteous place for our guests. It is truly regrettable to hear that your stay was negatively affected because of the room allocation and staff services. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience these issues may have... More 

Singapore
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
59 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We stayed here for a family holiday, 4 kids and 6 adults. Breakfast was a large buffet and the rooms were also well proportioned. The staff on reception and in the bars were very good and friendly. Unfortunately the decor in the rooms was old and in some cases chipped/broken/cracked but still usable. The fold out bed was OK for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

Nothing special, but very adequate. Wished we knew we could have taken the C6 bus from the airport and gotten off on the first stop! Nice breakfast was included in our booking and it was nice. About 15 minutes from airport.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alicante - Playa de San Juan, responded to this review

Dear Goodtimehadbyall50, Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business. We always strive to provide great service to all of our guests, and it is nice to read that the location of our property is up to your par. Your patronage... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We went to Alicante airport to pick up friends so we decided to stay the night at the holiday inn and we was very glad we did it was very good value nice big rooms and friendly staff all so a nice bar where you can relax with a glass of wine or what ever you like and we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Arrived at the hotel at about 11pm to find friendly and cheerful receptionist. Rooms were a very good size with a range of pillows. Decor good and overall hotel looked well maintained. Breakfast is included with many booking sites so make sure you choose one of those! Breakfast was very good with a selection of traditional cold cuts, cheeses, fruit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Decent standard hotel in residential area of San juan, 5 minute walk to tram station to catch tram to Alicante. 10-15 minutes on the tram to Alicante which is a great city to visit. San Juan is a nice quiet Spanish town with some nice restaurants bars and shops. The beach is nice and quiet and runs for miles. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rosebud, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Although a little far off from Alicante CBD, its location is ideal as the beach is near and there are plenty of services nearby. Rooms are the right size for a business trip, clean and good service. I am from Alicante and when I visit family or business this hotel is ideal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

126 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities