We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Dunmore East B&Bs / inns

The Strand Inn

3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Dunmore East County, Dunmore East, Ireland
Hotel amenities
The Strand Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
You added The Strand Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 9 Dunmore East B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012
Frippo Waterford, Ireland
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
  • Mar-May only
  • Jun-Aug only
  • Sep-Nov only
  • Dec-Feb only
All months
There are newer reviews for The Strand Inn
See the most recent reviews
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had our wedding in the Strand Inn in Dunmore East and we cannot recommend it highly enough. Clifden was brilliant to work with and nothing was a problem. He guided us in planning the event and his suggestion to cut the cake later in the night when everyone was in party mood was a huge success! We had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Had our evening meal here whilst staying over night at The Beach Guesthouse. Extensive choices on menu using locally caught and grown produce. Can recommend the beef stew with potatoes and the smoked mackeral and garlic / cheese potatoes. Friendly service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Dissapointed. During my previous stay, I was really impressed with the Strand Inn I had been given a room at the top of the Hotel which was large, comfortable, clean, with a large bathroom with a bath, and with the sound of the sea audible from the window. Unfortunately, my return trip was quite different.We were given a really small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
clifdenfoyle, Owner at The Strand Inn, responded to this review

I'm Very sorry you did not enjoy your stay, We have one very small room and you happened to be in it as the hotel was full i could'nt move you. if you'd like to return i can put you in one of sea view rooms and offer you a very good rate. As Regards the light & stains this... More

Vestavia Hills, Alabama
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

The restaurant, pub area, was dirty. The fish pie was overseasoned with thyme, oregano with dill -- very strange flavor combination. The brown bread was good, apple crumble, very good and service friendly. The food was over priced for the quality we received.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I am just back from a wonderful weekend away at the Strand Inn and what a gorgeous spot it is. The Strand is right on the beach and the rooms overlook the sea and you can literally pop from the beach to your room in a few minutes to grab a book or a drink and then potter back to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed in this hotel last weekend. What an amazing place. Firstly the weather was fantastic so that helped so much. I was away with a group of girls but I have 2 small children and cannot wait to go back with them. Rooms were perfect not luxury but very clean, modern and had everything in it that we needed.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

I fell in love with dunmore east when I first came here last summer. The strand has an amazing location and I promised to stay here when I returned. Unfortunately the hotel did not live up to my expectations. The room was a little tatty and had a musty smell. The food was certainly not worthy of the high prices.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We booked a family room for 2 nights as we have 2 boys, one is nearly 13 and I wanted the family room with the separate room for the boys. When we arrived we were given the key for room 18. We went to the room and found that there was someone already checked into the room. Went back to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
clifdenfoyle, Owner at The Strand Inn, responded to this review

I'm very sorry about the mix up with your room, And i'm very glad you were happy with the house we offered you. The mix up with the price was down to not knowing you had paid a booking deposit which has since been credited back to your account by the booking agent in question, this was out of our... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Stayed in the Strand for 2 nights in April and can't wait to visit again. We were greeted warmly by staff on arrival. The room was very clean and comfortable with beautiful views. We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday night and the fish was fantastic. The family who own the Strand are wonderful hosts, making us feel welcome... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We were passing through Dunmore East and stopped here for lunch curious to see it as we'd watched the 'At Your Service' progrmme. The bar was quite busy but we found a recently vacated table that we assumed would be cleared before we ate. It wasn't. We ended up moving the dirty glasses ourselves and trying to dab at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
clifdenfoyle, Owner at The Strand Inn, responded to this review

I'm Very sorry you had such a bad experience, But I'm very glad you wrote the review, As regards the toilets i have since repainted the radiator and have changed the blinds in the ladies toilets, As regards dirt on the floor, our proximity to the beach and the fact that everybody who uses the beach also uses our toilets... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Strand Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Inn

Address: Dunmore East County, Dunmore East, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dunmore East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Strand Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Hotel Dunmore East

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (46)
Room/suite (7)
View from room (5)
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotel & grounds (11)
Dining (2)
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (1)
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay