We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Severin Sea Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Severin Sea Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Severin Sea Lodge
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    129
    43
    27
    7
See reviews for
55
167
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (349)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (101)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were booked this hotel by our local friends as part of our honeymoon tour of Kenya and also stopped at the sister hotel for a Safari. The room was fantastic with extra decoration to celebrate our honeymoon. The staff we encountered were very friendly and the hotel was clean and well maintained. We had full board and were not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Severin is a wonderful detachment from the ever crowded first world. If you're looking for somewhere to completely relax and get away, this is the place to come. They have made leaps and bounds over the years on maintenance, and the place serves great food in all its restaurants. Not a long drive from the airport, if anyone needs some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Britton222, We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable holiday at Severin Sea Lodge and particularly happy with the positive sentimental reviews posted in Tripadvisor. Your heartfelt satisfaction with the serene atmosphere, translating into a heaven of relaxation during the vacation gives us an inspiration to even create more relaxing atmosphere for our esteemed guests. We feel... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

they didn't clean the rooms unless asked too. A/c didn't work and there are just too many unnecessary furnitures in the room or not big enough. The pool was great but the towel guy was real pain. Always MIA

Was this review helpful? Yes
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Oguge M, We are very sorry to learn of your unpleasant experience in service delivery during your stay with us, especially in the rooms and pool area. We promise you that we always try our best to meet the guests’ expectation and should there be any failure to provide the services required in time, then the guest has the... More 

Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

it is a great hotel! the only thing i can say. service is very friendly, it is clean and direct at the beach... I had a room nearby the pool, this is the best location in my opinion. During Lunch time I took a little nap in the room with AC to escape the heat. Monkeys are everywhere, watch out.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Severin_Kenya, Geschäftsführer at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JenJenniferMS, Thanks a lot for your great write-up and we are especially thankful for choosing to come and stay with us here at Bamburi Beach. It is an amazing country and you are correct that sometimes what you read and what the actual experience is is very different. We do hope that you will return to visit us again.... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

average place. tired facade. rooms half spacious, not clean. dirty curtains. didn't even replace used toiletries. dissapointing. food ok. uncontrollable monkeys. the band on our first night appeared unmotivated, lobster bisque was horrible. some of their competition are cheaper on all inclusive..... general manager appeared race biased in that he mainly focued on foreigners and not on locals. only saw... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Victory W, We sincerely apologise on the delay on feedback from your stay with us. You were here during the December period and we had at least over half of our hotel occupied with guests who come from Kenya - in fact many of them repeaters. We are sorry that you felt that the food was only okay and... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Went here for a school trip, and it was really amazing! The staff were super helpful and no question were unanswered. They helped with whatever we needed. The rooms were beautiful with big beds and tv for some cosy evenings, aircondition and nice bathroom! The food were amazing, both in the reastaurant and the buffes are so exciting. A lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kaja H, Thanks a lot for taking your time and writing such an amazing review here on Tripadvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be happy to welcome you here at Bamburi Beach again soon. Best regards Andrew Muir Hotel Director More 

Forde, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

at Severin Sea Lodge, Mombasa. Top Apartments, top property, top Food and finally top top top Staff, so friendly and helpful who did everthing to keep us happy. If I ever Return to Mombasa, i know where to stay!! Thanx for a wonderful Xmas and New Year eve!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear beikeset, Thanks a lot for your great review here on Tripadvisor! I remember your group and we would like to thank you for choosing to come and stay with us here in Kenya. We all had a great Christmas and New Year and hope that we will see you again soon. Best Regards Andrew Muir General Manager More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

The hotel carries a tired look. We were checked in (late in evening) an incorrect room. Followed by move to another supposedly new block where is AC did not work. Was offered an adjacent room with functional AC at just before midnight by then the family was tired and asleep. Service is restaurant is better. The new year party celebration... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear AAAA’s 2012, Thank you for the review and we also thank you for your critique, so that we know where we have to look at. The hotel was built in 1972, it has an African look which is by modern standards old but it is quaint and this is the image we are going for. Many hotels in the... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We were welcomed with a drink and that's where the hospitality ended. The porter assigned to show us the room did so as though he was irritated, we had to find our own way to the rooms because he left us behind. The restaurant staff was even more unfriendly, we tried to ask for where to sit but all the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Severin_Kenya, Geschäftsführer at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Nadine M, Thank you for the review on Tripadvisor and your comments are well noted. Our hotel has the policy that every guest that stays with us is equal. If there is any member of the hotel servicing any different they will be dealt with personally. During the Christmas period over 60% of our guests were from the local... More 

Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

Welcomed with a drink, we had a nice room with all usual facilities. The food was ok! The beach is in front and on the pool are various daytime activties. We felt safe at Bamburi beach. Its a beautiful place for a relaxing holiday!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Severin_Kenya, Geschäftsführer at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ari B, Thank you for your comment here on Tripadvisor! We're happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we will be able to welcome you and your family again soon! We wish you a prosperous and healthy New Year! Best Regards Andrew Muir General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

386 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (345)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (67)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (79)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (119)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question