We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Severin Sea Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Severin Sea Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Severin Sea Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

357 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    148
    132
    43
    27
    7
See reviews for
57
168
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (357)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (101)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were absolutely rigorous in our research as to the ideal place to stay while at the Coast. We chose this hotel based on the high ratings/reviews. We'll recommend this place to anyone and definitely stay here again. The staff were welcoming, very warm and professional, the location excellent, not too far from the main road. The rooms are very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was in this hotel last december 2014. It was a great place to stay. Situated at the beach. The staff really wants to make your stay as comfortable as possible. A great veriety of food, we had an evening african food, an evening where the food was served around the pool with a live band playing. There was working... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear jojo4u, We are delighted for the positive comments that you have posted on Tripadvisor. It is good to note that during your stay last year December 2014, the Severin team made all the efforts to make your stay comfortable. With the nice location of the hotel right on the beach, good selection of food and services, your holiday was... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Severin is conveniently located along the beautiful white sandy beaches of Bamburi and within close proximity to major shopping malls, picnic sites while just a few yards away from the Malindi highway making it ideal for the adventurous types who want to experience the beauty of North Coast. The staff are courteous and friendly and the food is great, fresh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lucas M., We are very happy to read your great review here on Tripadvisor and about your great experience during your stay in our hotel. The location, outstanding facilities and service provided as you mentioned by yourself has been our mainstay in attracting many holiday makers, some of which have stayed with us again and again for over many... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I did not know about this hotel so I was pleasantly surprised. I was there in low season, there were not many guests. I had a "Comfort Class Bungalow" which I understand is better than the standard rooms. The room was relatively spacious, clean and everything worked. The bathroom was recent with a shower and looked better compared to some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JackSparr, We are happy to note that even though you had not known the hotel before, you were surprisingly overwhelmed with the facilities and services offered, coupled with the nice view of the garden and the chicky monkeys that made a real difference in your holidays and that of your children. We promise that we shall always do our... More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

We were booked this hotel by our local friends as part of our honeymoon tour of Kenya and also stopped at the sister hotel for a Safari. The room was fantastic with extra decoration to celebrate our honeymoon. The staff we encountered were very friendly and the hotel was clean and well maintained. We had full board and were not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kathrin W, We are happy to note that you had a wonderful and memorable stay in Severin Sea Lodge during you honeymoon in Kenya. Your satisfaction with our facilities and services gives us even more encouragement in ensuring that we meet our guest expectation in service delivery. It is our hope that you will return to stay with us... More 

Norwich
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Severin is a wonderful detachment from the ever crowded first world. If you're looking for somewhere to completely relax and get away, this is the place to come. They have made leaps and bounds over the years on maintenance, and the place serves great food in all its restaurants. Not a long drive from the airport, if anyone needs some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Britton222, We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable holiday at Severin Sea Lodge and particularly happy with the positive sentimental reviews posted in Tripadvisor. Your heartfelt satisfaction with the serene atmosphere, translating into a heaven of relaxation during the vacation gives us an inspiration to even create more relaxing atmosphere for our esteemed guests. We feel... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

they didn't clean the rooms unless asked too. A/c didn't work and there are just too many unnecessary furnitures in the room or not big enough. The pool was great but the towel guy was real pain. Always MIA

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Oguge M, We are very sorry to learn of your unpleasant experience in service delivery during your stay with us, especially in the rooms and pool area. We promise you that we always try our best to meet the guests’ expectation and should there be any failure to provide the services required in time, then the guest has the... More 

Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

it is a great hotel! the only thing i can say. service is very friendly, it is clean and direct at the beach... I had a room nearby the pool, this is the best location in my opinion. During Lunch time I took a little nap in the room with AC to escape the heat. Monkeys are everywhere, watch out.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Severin_Kenya, Geschäftsführer at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JenJenniferMS, Thanks a lot for your great write-up and we are especially thankful for choosing to come and stay with us here at Bamburi Beach. It is an amazing country and you are correct that sometimes what you read and what the actual experience is is very different. We do hope that you will return to visit us again.... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

average place. tired facade. rooms half spacious, not clean. dirty curtains. didn't even replace used toiletries. dissapointing. food ok. uncontrollable monkeys. the band on our first night appeared unmotivated, lobster bisque was horrible. some of their competition are cheaper on all inclusive..... general manager appeared race biased in that he mainly focued on foreigners and not on locals. only saw... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Victory W, We sincerely apologise on the delay on feedback from your stay with us. You were here during the December period and we had at least over half of our hotel occupied with guests who come from Kenya - in fact many of them repeaters. We are sorry that you felt that the food was only okay and... More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Went here for a school trip, and it was really amazing! The staff were super helpful and no question were unanswered. They helped with whatever we needed. The rooms were beautiful with big beds and tv for some cosy evenings, aircondition and nice bathroom! The food were amazing, both in the reastaurant and the buffes are so exciting. A lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kaja H, Thanks a lot for taking your time and writing such an amazing review here on Tripadvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be happy to welcome you here at Bamburi Beach again soon. Best regards Andrew Muir Hotel Director More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

394 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (353)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (69)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (80)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (119)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay