We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Severin Sea Lodge

4.0 of 5 Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Severin Sea Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Severin Sea Lodge
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    123
    38
    26
    7
See reviews for
47
163
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (324)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (98)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (68)
All months
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent two nights there on a weekend. The place is beautiful with a lovely view of the sea and the beach. The staff are polite, friendly.helpful. The hotel staff are flexible and allow for late check out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Severin_Kenya, Geschäftsführer at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Beatrice V, Thanks a lot for your review here on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I will definitely pass on your compliments to our staff. We would be happy to welcome you again here at Bamburi Beach soon, perhaps you might stay for a couple of days longer then?! Best regards Andrew... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been taking groups to SSL for 7 years now and have never been disappointed. Year after year the staff are friendly and welcoming, food delicious and accommodation first rate. Nothing is too much trouble for anyone to make your stay as special as they can. Beautifully situated on the edge of the Indian Ocean this is perfect, peaceful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Severin_Kenya, Geschäftsführer at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Debbie, Thanks very much for the write-up! Yes, you have been coming now many times and it shows that we are consistent but if we are wrong anywhere we will listen and correct. Thank you for the group you brought through and I hope they enjoyed the culinary week we had at the same time. Hopefully they will come... More

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This really is a beautiful resort. It has grounds keep wonderfully clean by friendly staff who always say 'jambo' when you pass. We chose half board (breakfast and dinner) and were very impressed with the choices at both. The food was great quality, the service was excellent and the dress code wasn't a problem. We had booked a 'Mombasa city'... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Severin_Kenya, Geschäftsführer at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear dkg11, Thank you for the write up on Tripadvisor and we are happy that you enjoyed your holidays. Sorry ,but I do not know what mode of transport you had ordered to get to the hotel. Normally we have our own cars at the hotel which are all air conditioned and also our own bus again air conditioned with... More

London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

I spent another week at the Severin in October 2014. Myself and my business partner stay here each time we visit Mombasa which is twice a year. It is now our Mombasa Home from Home. The staff as ever were friendly and helpful - from Management to the guys who look after the magnificent gardens. The Askari's are brilliant and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Travelbeehappy, It is us that would like to say thank you to you for the amount of times you have been with us and the nice write up. Our challenge with every guest is always the following: What do we need to do to make sure you return. I know that our staff play a big part in this... More

Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

I had the opportunity to stay here several times due to business. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the garden is wonderful and the beach as well. In the room there is everything you need: safe box, hairdryer, amenity kit, towels, complementary water, balcony, air conditioner, fridge, fan, wifi.... Exiting from the Hotel there are a tennis court and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Severin_Kenya, Geschäftsführer at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear DaDe747, Thanks a lot for sharing your impressions with us here on Tripadvisor, and we're very happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay with us. We're looking forward to welcoming you again soon here at Bamburi Beach! Best regards Andrew Muir, General Manager More

Wallisellen, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We spent a great week in this nice hotel at the beach close to Mombasa. The property is broadly built, very clean and well secured. The rooms are all in individual buildings build as little African huts. The rooms are clean and contain all one can expect from a hotel. The personnel is very friendly and helpful. The bar, pool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Severin_Kenya, Geschäftsführer at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Michael K, We thank you very much for your write up and we are all happy to note that you will come back to visit us again soon. This week we started a theme week based on culinary experience, whereby we show our guests in house how to cook some dishes. It has been a great success. In the... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

We had a lovely relaxing holiday at Severin last weekend. Their hotel is one of the prettiest I've seen at the coast, with beautiful thatched roof round houses, a mature garden full of flowers and palm trees, swing seats over-looking the sea, and twinkly lights at night. The room had everything you need to be comfortable: a stylish bathroom, plenty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Severin_Kenya, Geschäftsführer at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tiggy1500, It was really very nice to read your write up on Tripadvisor, and we would like to thank you for spending the time in doing this. We were so happy to also read that you would come back, in the next few months we have some great theme weeks planned from a culinary experience, to environmental week and... More

Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Was there or two nights. Loved the place. Great for relaxation. Food was great but the team took too long to check us in when we arrived. The room was spacious with a great view. All in all, fantastic place to be.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Nkiro K, Thanks a lot for the write up on Tripadvisor. Although you were here for just a short time, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that during the holidays you will come back for a little bit longer. We're really much looking forward to it! Best Regards Andrew Muir General Manager More

Ljubljana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Ok, maybe I am too spoiled and was expecting too much, but there were some issues that bothered me... I have stayed here with my business partner in July for 2 nights. Front desk service was ok; Room was large enough, some dirty spots and details bothered me... We had to wait a long time before being sitted during dinner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Enjoyer80, Thanks for the critic in Tripadvisor and comments of your room noted. It would have been nice if we knew specifically where there were issues in the room as it would help me better to address these. During the time you were here we did have quite a few guests in house and apologise if it was too... More

Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

This was a lovely hotel which is located at the beach front. The location of the hotel is great at the Bamburi beach. The rooms were spacious and the service was great. I highly recommend this place for family vacation. They have two swimming pools and health club. You will see lots of monkey's therefore recommend to close your windows... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear BMB24, We would like to thank you for the write up on Tripadvisor and the positive comments about your stay. We agree with you that the monekys can be a problem and we do recommend to everyone that they close their windows before they go out as the monkeys know exactly where you hide your sweets and biscuits. Thanks... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Severin Sea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Severin Sea Lodge

Address: Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Severin Sea Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Severin Sea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Severin Sea Hotel Bamburi
Severin Sea Bamburi
Severin Sea Lodge Kenya/Bamburi

367 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (327)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (58)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (75)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (123)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (31)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay