We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Severin Sea Lodge

4.0 of 5 Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Severin Sea Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Severin Sea Lodge
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    126
    41
    27
    7
See reviews for
52
165
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (341)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (101)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
Innsbruck, Austria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars NEW

it is a great hotel! the only thing i can say. service is very friendly, it is clean and direct at the beach... I had a room nearby the pool, this is the best location in my opinion. During Lunch time I took a little nap in the room with AC to escape the heat. Monkeys are everywhere, watch out.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

average place. tired facade. rooms half spacious, not clean. dirty curtains. didn't even replace used toiletries. dissapointing. food ok. uncontrollable monkeys. the band on our first night appeared unmotivated, lobster bisque was horrible. some of their competition are cheaper on all inclusive..... general manager appeared race biased in that he mainly focued on foreigners and not on locals. only saw... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went here for a school trip, and it was really amazing! The staff were super helpful and no question were unanswered. They helped with whatever we needed. The rooms were beautiful with big beds and tv for some cosy evenings, aircondition and nice bathroom! The food were amazing, both in the reastaurant and the buffes are so exciting. A lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kaja H, Thanks a lot for taking your time and writing such an amazing review here on Tripadvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be happy to welcome you here at Bamburi Beach again soon. Best regards Andrew Muir Hotel Director More 

Forde, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

at Severin Sea Lodge, Mombasa. Top Apartments, top property, top Food and finally top top top Staff, so friendly and helpful who did everthing to keep us happy. If I ever Return to Mombasa, i know where to stay!! Thanx for a wonderful Xmas and New Year eve!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear beikeset, Thanks a lot for your great review here on Tripadvisor! I remember your group and we would like to thank you for choosing to come and stay with us here in Kenya. We all had a great Christmas and New Year and hope that we will see you again soon. Best Regards Andrew Muir General Manager More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

The hotel carries a tired look. We were checked in (late in evening) an incorrect room. Followed by move to another supposedly new block where is AC did not work. Was offered an adjacent room with functional AC at just before midnight by then the family was tired and asleep. Service is restaurant is better. The new year party celebration... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear AAAA’s 2012, Thank you for the review and we also thank you for your critique, so that we know where we have to look at. The hotel was built in 1972, it has an African look which is by modern standards old but it is quaint and this is the image we are going for. Many hotels in the... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We were welcomed with a drink and that's where the hospitality ended. The porter assigned to show us the room did so as though he was irritated, we had to find our own way to the rooms because he left us behind. The restaurant staff was even more unfriendly, we tried to ask for where to sit but all the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Severin_Kenya, Geschäftsführer at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Nadine M, Thank you for the review on Tripadvisor and your comments are well noted. Our hotel has the policy that every guest that stays with us is equal. If there is any member of the hotel servicing any different they will be dealt with personally. During the Christmas period over 60% of our guests were from the local... More 

Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

Welcomed with a drink, we had a nice room with all usual facilities. The food was ok! The beach is in front and on the pool are various daytime activties. We felt safe at Bamburi beach. Its a beautiful place for a relaxing holiday!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Severin_Kenya, Geschäftsführer at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ari B, Thank you for your comment here on Tripadvisor! We're happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we will be able to welcome you and your family again soon! We wish you a prosperous and healthy New Year! Best Regards Andrew Muir General Manager More 

Kalimpong, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

• Welcome drink upon arrival. • Efficiently checked in with the porter taking our luggage. • Deluxe room with all usual facilities including comfortable beds, A/C and fan, flat screen TV with lots of channels. • Excellent buffet meals for breakfast and dinner with plenty of tasty varieties. • A small intimate restaurant which serves excellent dinners in a romantic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Severin_Kenya, Geschäftsführer at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sudhirjpatel, Thank you very much for the fantastic review on Tripadvisor and we know that when our guests keep on coming back that we are doing something right. We also always welcome any critique so that if there is somewhere we need improve on we can. Thanks to you and your family. We wish you a Merry Christmas and... More 

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Arrived early and welcomed with a drink, got checked in promptly. Given a standard room which was cool with A/C and fan. All usual facilities one would expect in a modern well equipped room including a flat screen TV with lots of channels (I watched various football matches late at night in bed). The food was plentiful, tasty & staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Severin_Kenya, Geschäftsführer at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Careca, We would like to thank you very much for your review and write up in Tripadvisor. Kenya is a beautiful country and we're happy that you felt safe and comfortable at all times. This is what all our guests tell us. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Best Regards Andrew Muir General Manager More 

Nairobi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

It is amazing how this hotel maintains its standards. I have stayed in this hotel three times before and even this hotel is always tops when it comes to quality and service. My family stayed here two nights over the weekend and the atmosphere was just wonderful. The hotel is very clean, well maintained, the rooms are spacious, and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Severin_Kenya, Geschäftsführer at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Edmond O, Thanks a lot for your write-up here on Tripadvisor. It was our pleasure to be able to host you and your family again with us. When we have our guests coming back again we feel that we have achieved in our goals and more so when you come back for more times. We look forward to welcoming... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Severin Sea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Severin Sea Lodge

Address: Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Severin Sea Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Severin Sea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Severin Sea Hotel Bamburi
Severin Sea Bamburi
Severin Sea Lodge Kenya/Bamburi
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bamburi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bamburi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi

386 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (345)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (79)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (67)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (119)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay