We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Bamburi hotels

Severin Sea Lodge

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Severin Sea Lodge to your Saves list
Severin Sea Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
79%
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Tiggy1500
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    119
    38
    26
    7
See reviews for
46
160
21
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (316)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (90)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (68)
All months
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely relaxing holiday at Severin last weekend. Their hotel is one of the prettiest I've seen at the coast, with beautiful thatched roof round houses, a mature garden full of flowers and palm trees, swing seats over-looking the sea, and twinkly lights at night. The room had everything you need to be comfortable: a stylish bathroom, plenty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Severin_Kenya, Geschäftsführer at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tiggy1500, It was really very nice to read your write up on Tripadvisor, and we would like to thank you for spending the time in doing this. We were so happy to also read that you would come back, in the next few months we have some great theme weeks planned from a culinary experience, to environmental week and... More

Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was there or two nights. Loved the place. Great for relaxation. Food was great but the team took too long to check us in when we arrived. The room was spacious with a great view. All in all, fantastic place to be.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Nkiro K, Thanks a lot for the write up on Tripadvisor. Although you were here for just a short time, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that during the holidays you will come back for a little bit longer. We're really much looking forward to it! Best Regards Andrew Muir General Manager More

Ljubljana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ok, maybe I am too spoiled and was expecting too much, but there were some issues that bothered me... I have stayed here with my business partner in July for 2 nights. Front desk service was ok; Room was large enough, some dirty spots and details bothered me... We had to wait a long time before being sitted during dinner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Enjoyer80, Thanks for the critic in Tripadvisor and comments of your room noted. It would have been nice if we knew specifically where there were issues in the room as it would help me better to address these. During the time you were here we did have quite a few guests in house and apologise if it was too... More

Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a lovely hotel which is located at the beach front. The location of the hotel is great at the Bamburi beach. The rooms were spacious and the service was great. I highly recommend this place for family vacation. They have two swimming pools and health club. You will see lots of monkey's therefore recommend to close your windows... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear BMB24, We would like to thank you for the write up on Tripadvisor and the positive comments about your stay. We agree with you that the monekys can be a problem and we do recommend to everyone that they close their windows before they go out as the monkeys know exactly where you hide your sweets and biscuits. Thanks... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family and I spent 5 days at the severin. It was the most awesome experience. From reception to dining, security staff and the bar - all awesome. We had an infant and were worried that we might not get 'infant friendly food',however, much to our surprise, the chef asked us what we wanted, and got exactly that - infant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Gilbert C, It was a great pleasure hosting yourself and your family with us and we thank you for the write up on Tripadvisor. I will pass onto Henry and Christine, our chefs, your comments about being looked after especially with the infant, small thanks like this go a long way. We're looking forward to welcoming you again soon!... More

London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I stayed at Severin for 8 days in May/June. I visit at least twice a year to work with Bombolulu, a cultural centre and disability workshop close by. Days are long and hot and it is such a pleasure to be able to return to the Severin for great hospitality, decent food and a relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Travelbeehappy, Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor. We are glad that even during these hard times for us that you still come to Mombasa and had a good holiday. The hotel always has 24 hour guard service as well as CCTV and alarm systems. We like to ensure that our guests are safe with us. The... More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Overall the experience was very relaxing as it is was very crowded. I didn't feel like I was on one of those package holidays with everyone and anyone. Their rooms are very very old and very basic but you get what you need. Upside- We walked to other nearby restaurants for lunch and dinner. It's on a strip of hotels.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Severin_Kenya, Geschäftsführer at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Savannah_Rain, Thank you for the write up on Tripadvisor and noted your comments. The rooms you were in are our standard rooms and although they are dated, we keep them clean and make sure they are looked after daily. We are planning to also renovate these rooms in the near future. Our animation is low key as we are... More

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I'm in love with the place the landscape the rooms and the atmosphere around. Makes you feel home away from home. My only issue is service and senior staff attitude. I would define it as "heaven being ruled by jungle men". It's so embarrassing that they cannot take care of a simple set menu of 24 people a thing that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Severin_Kenya, Geschäftsführer at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ken, On many occasions after the event, we tried to discuss this with you, but you did not wish to. Sorry to have you think we are ‘Jungle Men’, but it is not the case here and we are the first ones to admit a mistake when we have made this. We will never run away from these. However... More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Great resort with good food and facilities although the locals congregate around the steps to the beach and try to sell you everything from carved sculptures to safari trips Usually they will try and snag newly arrived travellers and priced will be hugely inflated for items you can buy vastly cheaper a few days later. Be aware that safari trips... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mike 24536, Thank you very much for the write-up here on Tripadvisor. You are correct that the beach sellers do try and get you to pay as much. We normally advise our guests that bargaining is a way of life here and whatever prices they say in your mind half it then half it again and start bargaining, you... More

gagadju
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We chose this hotel due to many positive reviews that was posted on this forum. I agree that staff are polite, accommodating and helpful, however there were too many issues that arose on a daily basis that made us feel that this hotel does not deserve the 4 stars or the 4Ts that Thomson has rated it. I have stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Aitenshi Whether reports or critiques are good or bad we would like to thank you for your feedback and I would like to reply to some issues that you may have had here at the hotel. We do have 2 categories of rooms according to the rate our guests pay. These are either the standard rooms or comfort... More

Do you own or manage Severin Sea Lodge?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Severin Sea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Severin Sea Lodge

Address: Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Severin Sea Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Severin Sea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Severin Sea Hotel Bamburi
Severin Sea Bamburi
Severin Sea Lodge Kenya/Bamburi

365 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (325)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (75)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (121)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (31)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay