We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Yetholm hotels

The Plough Hotel

Main Street, Yetholm TD5 8RF, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Plough Hotel to your Saves list
The Plough Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Yetholm
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed today
LargelyMonk Banstead, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (56)
  • Photos (8)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
472 reviews 472 reviews
80 hotel reviews
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

We finished the Pennine Way in Kirk Yetholm and walked here to stay (5 minutes along the road). Our room(2) was not ensuite but we seemed to have unshared access to the bathroom. Everything was superb. The furnishings and facilities , the staff, the beers, especially the food. If you're not staying here, book a table for dinner anyway, you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our sleep was perfectly fine (mid week), the accommodation is basic, but again it seems – a work in progress – the towels could be a bit fluffier, there could be more of them on offer, the bed could have done with a bedside table at each side and a few more little things to make the rooms really memorable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fife, Scotland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on day three of the St Cuthbert's Way. Couldn't fault it at all - great location on the Main Street, trendy, distressed rooms, cosy restaurant that cleverly combined bar food options with things a bit more subtle and a nice bar to retire to after eating. What more could you want? And the price was reasonable too. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed there in July 2014 after a long day on St Cuthbert's Way. Nice welcome, food, real ale, comfortable room with bath. Slept for 9 hours and had a great breakfast the next morning. Couldn't ask for more really.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brigg, United Kingdom
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

went up Wednesday night ready to on to the heilan show , a proper village pub , and nice community , they keep a good pint ,and all staff helpful and pleasant , had a couple beers and bar snack which was good , clean tidy room ,and most of all a comfortable bed , only complaint I would have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Inverurie, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Food and helpfulness of Chef was superb and would recommend straight away. Room was big and clean. Unfortunately we had room over the pub which had a loud party going on until 1 am and noise continuing on the street in front of pub until 2.30 am. As being a dog friendly place I would have thought of not giving... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoe K, Owner at The Plough Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not feel that your sleep quality was up to your expectations but I would like to remind you were made fully aware in advance that there was an event taking place that evening due to it being the Yetholm Festival week. You did request an alternative room for your second night's stay but due to... More

Coventry, United Kingdom
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We visited The Plough on two consecutive evenings, once for dinner and once for a "quick drink". The staff were very welcoming and friendly and the food was very good. The menu was varied and tempting, the service attentive and prompt. We were staying at a B&B down the road for a short break and had a lovely stay in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
71 hotel reviews
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed one night whilst walking in the area. Well situated in the middle of the village. The staff were welcoming and helpful. This is basically a small village pub with rooms. Our bedroom was large and well furnished, the bathroom was OK with lots of hot water. The bar was busy, however the food order came quickly, the menu was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I have visited the Plough Hotel for drinks on several occasions, but tonight was the first time I had eaten there. The menu was varied and all from local produce. The prices were reasonable, the staff very friendly and even the other guests were good for some banter. I had a battered haggis starter which was divine, followed by belly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Given that this Hotel has been under new ownership for just a month....the family run business is doing extremely well in making sure that your stay in a pleasure.Nothing was a bother to any of the friendly and welcoming staff. I know that they have plans to refurb the accommodation side of the business in this lovely listed building.The bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Plough Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Plough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Hotel

Address: Main Street, Yetholm TD5 8RF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Yetholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Plough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Yetholm, Scotland

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (7)
Hotel & grounds (4)
Room/suite (1)
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (2)
Hotel & grounds (1)
Other (1)


Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Number of rooms

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Plough Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer