We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Stokenchurch hotels

The Kings Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oxford Road, Stokenchurch, High Wycombe HP14 3TA, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Kings Hotel to your Saves list
The Kings Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
58%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Stokenchurch
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
roger h Stokenchurch, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (256)
  • Photos (47)
  • Location
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (63)
  • More
true
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    94
    42
    24
    40
See reviews for
34
123
3
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stokenchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I took my family to Sunday Lunch at the Kings in Stokenchurch last Sunday. The food was excellent as was the service, I would certainly recommend the Kings for a very relaxing Sunday lunch. Very easy to get too, just off Junction 5 of the M40.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

It is always good to hear from returning guests and we thank you for your kind words. Our Sunday lunch menus change weekly and we are eagerly awaiting your next visit. Looking forward to seeing you again soon Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night on route to another destination. £89 for tea & cake on arrival, double room, set menu dinner and breakfast for 2! Food was generally excellent, slight issue with sausages at breakfast (a few were a little pink in the middle), these were removed, Chef told and fresh ones cooked. lovely "quaint" building; yes a little creaky... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

It is great to hear you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. We regularly offer special packages for weekend getaways, and would certainly love to have you visit us again in the future. Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager More

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for one night whilst attending a wedding function. We could not fault the room, clean and perfectly OK to crash after the wedding celebrations. What we weren't impressed by was the unmanned reception desk when we arrived and that you have to use a phone to call staff. We arrived at about 12:30 and we knew that check-in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to offer us your feedback. We are always thrilled to be involved with creating a memorable wedding day and work hard to ensure all our guests leave happy. We have noted the points you have raised and will do our best to ensure staff are able to offer the highest level of service possible.... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here last August and I don't like to give such a low rating as overall, the room and hotel generally was really nice. However, I accidently left my hair straighteners in the room and phoned the next day. They said they were not in the room but would check, We planned to go and collect them as we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Good day, We are very sad to hear this review, as all our staff have worked at the hotel for years, and over that time this has been the first instance of being accused of theft. We have returned valuables left behind including laptops, iPads, cash, credit cards and wedding rings, that our long term housekeeping staff have found left... More

Travelers are raving about these Stokenchurch hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

There are many good things about this hotel. It has had a lot of refurbishment and our room was very stylish. However as the rooms on the second floor are situated in the roof space it was very warm ( there was a fan provided). The rabbit warren of passageways to the rooms are quite gloomy as there are no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

The team are thankful for the review about your recent stay. We pride ourselves in offering the best service possible and work really hard to create new menus on a seasonal basis, so it is great to know our hard work has gained a positive response. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Craig P,... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a night here last week. There was some initial confusion with the booking, but this was resolved quickly. The hotel is in a nice location, it's very well decorated, and the staff are friendly. The (restaurant?) manager Craig was especially helpful. The food was great, and we had a lovely relaxing stay. Would thoroughly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted by your kind review. I certainly hope that you will visit us again in the future. Please contact the reservations team, us we regularly offer exclusive deals for returning guests. Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Paid 89 for one adult and one child to have dinner bed and breakfast. With that in mind, the hotel was fantastic. Highlights included free wifi throughout, free sky TV, clean (albeit rather small) rooms with quality bed linen and friendly staff. The only negative is the noise - ear plugs are a must. This is an old creaky building... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you have taken in your review. The hotel is steeped in history, with some of the original structures still in place, which adds a certain character to our hotel. Our team work extremely hard to satisfy our guests, and we are happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Kind Regards Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager More

Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

arrived on 21 June for a 2 night stay. doorway full of spokers and no ashtrays. Rooms on 2nd floor - compact but clean. no reading light by bed and easy to get concussion if not careful. noiise from party down below. excellent breakfast and great staff in restaurant. night 2 was a disaster. room vibrating to a disco till... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

I am sad that you were still upset after we compensated you due to you not having a pleasant night. I feel the compromise we came to was fair and I totally agree that you are entitled to your opinion, good or bad and can voice it in reviews as you have. We do not feel it is fair to... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights recently. First night and 4 course meal great. Second night, Bar was shut due to function. Small sports bar open but only one barman who had to go back and for to the main bar for drinks. Disco, horrendous noise. Complained, to be offered drinks or a change of room.......... at MIDNIGHT. Breakfast lovely and staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to offer us your feedback. We are sad that you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us. We will pass on your positive comments to the relevant departments, who will be happy that you have extended your thanks. We have actioned all the points you have raised and taken measures to prevent... More

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here whilst on a trip around the area. On arrival we thought we would get a drink and sit outside in the sunshine , but after queuing for ages (as there was only one person serving) and after eventually getting a drink found that the only outdoor seating area was on a raised wooden decking at the front of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your comments and have taken action in rectifying the points you have made. Should you return to the hotel, we will make sure to allocate you a room in a quiet area of the hotel. Thanking You Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Kings Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel

Address: Oxford Road, Stokenchurch, High Wycombe HP14 3TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe > Stokenchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Stokenchurch, England

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
43

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer