We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kings Hotel

3.0 of 5 Oxford Road, Stokenchurch, High Wycombe HP14 3TA, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kings Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Kings Hotel
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    97
    45
    25
    41
See reviews for
41
125
3
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (273)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Radnage, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had the most fantastic meal here last night - fish & chips & steak were superb :-) ! Great atmosphere and service too considering it was a Monday night ... well done guys ! Didn't stay last night but did in June 2014.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really lovely hotel, clean and up to date. Our room was neatly presented with modern/designer touches, had the best sleep - the bed was superb Bathroom was clean - selection of toiletries was great, considering I’d forgotten my shampoo. The staff really make this place work, they couldn’t do enough for us, excellent service and attention to detail throughout our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Lovely hotel just off the M40 (don't trust your sat nav as it takes you to a country lane....take the second turning on the left instead). Nice food, nice atmosphere, staff very polite and helpful. The bar is very nice so take my advice and have a few there before you go to bed! The bedrooms are the size of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves in our personalised customer service and are happy you enjoyed being looked after by our team. I would like to investigate the noise you heard in your room, so please contact me privately on: craig@kingshoteluk.com in order to discuss the matter further? The hotel's... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

The rooms in the hotel are tiny, dark and claustrophobic. The hotel is described as a "boutique" hotel but it feels like nothing like that. The place is surrounded by poor quality of furnitures and fittings, tiny rooms with even smaller beds and provide cheap towels/bed linen. The corridor had a strong damp smell. Hotel feels to be too used... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Our team is extremely sad to hear that you were not happy after your recent visit with us. Unfortunately, we had an issue with flooding in one of the guest rooms due to an overflowing bath, we did however treat the affected carpets as quick as we could. Our team has worked hard to refurbish the hotel with a team... More 

Travelers are raving about these Stokenchurch hotels

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Just returned from a family get together where 3 overnight rooms were booked. Service was superb - many thanks to Patel for looking after us so well. The food was good from a nice and varied menu and my wife's desert was modified with a 'happy birthday' message to mark the occasion we were celebrating. The whole experience has been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted that we were able to make your special occasion a memorable one. We certainly are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager More 

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Stopped here for coffee and to hand over keys to the buyer on a probate sale. Warm welcome with a choice of the lounge or a snug, free WiFi and great coffee. With coffee at £2.20 in such comfortable surroundings with waiter service, free and ample parking, this is a great place to stop if your going up the M40.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

It is always great to welcome new guests to our hotel. We sincerely hope you will visit when you are next in the area. If required, we do have the facility of private meeting rooms, which you can arrange with our events team. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

thought I would review previous faults/reports very hot water, but very hot room at the start of winter, thus no sleep full car park with locals, sandwich at lunchtime quite good very good service in the bar in the evening, and reasonable prices but the breakfast is shocking, poor quality food and cold, I was paying 60 pounds per night,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

We were sad to hear you were not entirely satisfied with your recent stay. All comments raised were used constructively and communicated to the relevant departments, in order to provide the level of service we pride ourselves in. Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager More 

high wycombe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

On arriving at our room in the evening of 18th oct. the smell of drains was terrible we asked to move rooms and were given a different one which was pleasant and the bed comfortable. In the morning we got up and went to shower only to find there was NO water,we were told "the tanks had to fill up"unbelievable!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Our sincere apologies about the problems you recently encountered during your stay. Unfortunately, issues beyond our control arose, and despite our attempts at a quick resolve, took a bit longer to rectify than anticipated. Please contact me directly on craig@kingshoteluk.com to discuss the matter further. Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager More 

Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We decided to meet here last Friday night because it was a good halfway meeting place for us, and I'm glad that we did, because we were very impressed , the waiter was brilliant nothing was to much trouble for him, the menu choice was good and very reasonable , the only criticism that I have is , is that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you feedback about the Eating House. We appreciate the time you have taken. The points raised have been communicated to our chef, and will keep it in mind when we change our menus for the festive season. Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Let me start by stating that the event was magical!!! The Kings Hotel is located on the main road which is easily accessible from High Wycombe and the drive is beautiful via the Lane End (not West Wycombe or the motorway). THE BUILDING: Its a listed building and has large rooms for hosting the event. There is a wonderful entrance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

The team is thrilled by your great feedback. We take pride in making any occasion extra special and are glad that you were pleased. We trust you are enjoying married life and eagerly await your next visit. Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel

Address: Oxford Road, Stokenchurch, High Wycombe HP14 3TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe > Stokenchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Stokenchurch, England

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay