We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Stokenchurch hotels

The Kings Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oxford Road, Stokenchurch, High Wycombe HP14 3TA, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Kings Hotel to your Saves list
The Kings Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
58%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Stokenchurch
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Pat A Oxford, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (252)
  • Photos (47)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (63)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    91
    42
    24
    39
See reviews for
31
122
3
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There are many good things about this hotel. It has had a lot of refurbishment and our room was very stylish. However as the rooms on the second floor are situated in the roof space it was very warm ( there was a fan provided). The rabbit warren of passageways to the rooms are quite gloomy as there are no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

The team are thankful for the review about your recent stay. We pride ourselves in offering the best service possible and work really hard to create new menus on a seasonal basis, so it is great to know our hard work has gained a positive response. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Craig P,... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for a night here last week. There was some initial confusion with the booking, but this was resolved quickly. The hotel is in a nice location, it's very well decorated, and the staff are friendly. The (restaurant?) manager Craig was especially helpful. The food was great, and we had a lovely relaxing stay. Would thoroughly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted by your kind review. I certainly hope that you will visit us again in the future. Please contact the reservations team, us we regularly offer exclusive deals for returning guests. Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Paid 89 for one adult and one child to have dinner bed and breakfast. With that in mind, the hotel was fantastic. Highlights included free wifi throughout, free sky TV, clean (albeit rather small) rooms with quality bed linen and friendly staff. The only negative is the noise - ear plugs are a must. This is an old creaky building... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you have taken in your review. The hotel is steeped in history, with some of the original structures still in place, which adds a certain character to our hotel. Our team work extremely hard to satisfy our guests, and we are happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Kind Regards Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager More

Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

arrived on 21 June for a 2 night stay. doorway full of spokers and no ashtrays. Rooms on 2nd floor - compact but clean. no reading light by bed and easy to get concussion if not careful. noiise from party down below. excellent breakfast and great staff in restaurant. night 2 was a disaster. room vibrating to a disco till... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

I am sad that you were still upset after we compensated you due to you not having a pleasant night. I feel the compromise we came to was fair and I totally agree that you are entitled to your opinion, good or bad and can voice it in reviews as you have. We do not feel it is fair to... More

Travelers are raving about these Stokenchurch hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights recently. First night and 4 course meal great. Second night, Bar was shut due to function. Small sports bar open but only one barman who had to go back and for to the main bar for drinks. Disco, horrendous noise. Complained, to be offered drinks or a change of room.......... at MIDNIGHT. Breakfast lovely and staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to offer us your feedback. We are sad that you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us. We will pass on your positive comments to the relevant departments, who will be happy that you have extended your thanks. We have actioned all the points you have raised and taken measures to prevent... More

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here whilst on a trip around the area. On arrival we thought we would get a drink and sit outside in the sunshine , but after queuing for ages (as there was only one person serving) and after eventually getting a drink found that the only outdoor seating area was on a raised wooden decking at the front of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your comments and have taken action in rectifying the points you have made. Should you return to the hotel, we will make sure to allocate you a room in a quiet area of the hotel. Thanking You Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Visited here from Cardiff for my birthday. Big mistake! My daughters were in the tiniest room I have ever seen. The bathroom stunk as it had been used but not flushed. They couldn't move in the room.Our room was also very disappointing, carpet had not been vacuumed, tissue & bits on carpet & surrounds of desk & skirting boards were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We were disappointed to hear you were not satisfied during your recent stay, but have raised all the issues highlighted within the respective departments and have put new procedures in place to ensure our usual high standards are not compromised in the future. If you do... More

London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel offers nice, clean boutique-style rooms at a good price. Food at the restaurant is tasty and abundant... they even make their own ice cream!! Breakfast is a buffet with quality ingredients, only misses the freshly squeezed orange juice. But the best part of our stay was the staff, they can't do enough to please you. We called reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for your kind review and we are happy that we made your stay enjoyable. Please visit us again soon , as our summer menu has just been launched. Regards Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My wife and I decided to spend the night before our anniversary in the Kings Hotel, this is a hotel we know well because we were actually married there. We stayed in room 113 the kings room and very nice it was too, the only down side to this room is the view from the window isn't the best as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

It was delightful to welcome you back to the hotel. I could not believe it has been a year since the wedding, as it feels like just yesterday. I appreciate you taking the time and will definitely pass on your positive feedback to our chef. Please do not wait for the next anniversary to visit, but feel free to drop... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel to find that a wedding was going on and the restaurant we were due to be eating our dinner in was rammed to the brim with merry wedding guests- as you'd expect at a wedding after party, however we were not told this was going to be happening during our weekend break and would definitely not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback. It is always disappointing to hear you have not enjoyed your experience at the hotel. The hotel is very busy throughout the week with events and particularly a busy restaurant. I would please like you to contact me on craig@kingshoteluk.com, as I would like to discuss the matter further... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Kings Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel

Address: Oxford Road, Stokenchurch, High Wycombe HP14 3TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe > Stokenchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Stokenchurch, England

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
43

See which rooms travelers prefer