We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cape Schanck Light Station

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
420 Cape Schanck Rd, Cape Schanck, Victoria 3939, Australia
Cape Schanck Light Station
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #2 of 2 Cape Schanck B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015
ChefCliveM Braughing, Ware United Kingdom
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    4
    3
    9
See reviews for
11
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (37)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Red Cottage for one night on the 1st of May. Aside from the very dated property and the want for a thorough cleaning (which we were prepared for from the other commets on this website) there was NO WATER! We arrived and were welcomed by Kirstie (who was lovely and welcoming, the only good thing about our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mornington Peninsula, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Museum Cottage DESCRIPTION: on their site Romantic Cottage Lovely Single bedroom cottage with queen bed and two single beds. Fully self contained with kitchen and lounge room and private bathroom facilities. Views Top location on the Lighthouse station grounds. Out the back door you're just 15 steps away from magnificent views of Bass Strait. Perfect sitting at sunset with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cape Schanck L, General Manager at Cape Schanck Light Station, responded to this review

We are sorry you felt the museum cottage was not as you had anticipated. Other reviewers have had a different experience. More 

Travelers are raving about these Cape Schanck hotels

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

We headed off this morning to stay at the Cape Schanck lighthouse museum cottage for a beautiful time away. What a sad disappointment the place was dirty, smelly, sad and over all horrid. We arrived in the morning spent 10 min in the cottage took photos, we didn't even take bags out of the car, l went straight back to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Cape Schanck L, General Manager at Cape Schanck Light Station, responded to this review

We had a very large sand storm and was not able to clean all rooms before the guest arrived More 

Braughing, Ware United Kingdom
Top Contributor
492 reviews 492 reviews
60 hotel reviews
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015 via mobile

This is a fantastic place to visit with its basalt rocks and multi coloured beach and brilliant blue sea. Take a walk from the lighthouse down to the point and you can feel the earths history as well as see it. Spectacular.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cape Schanck L, General Manager at Cape Schanck Light Station, responded to this review

Certainly we never miss working here with these bills each day More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

We stayed at the Red Cottage as a last minute impulse booking for our early wedding anniversary retreat. As Christmas & New year period is the peak season, most accommodation would require a minimum booking of two nights. This is the only place that allows for one night booking which suited our schedule perfectly. We chose to stay here for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Schanck L, General Manager at Cape Schanck Light Station, responded to this review

I totally agree great location at night More 

Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

I stayed at the Red cottage in November with three friends. We had no issues with booking the cottage or getting checked in. The gate was a bit hard but we managed ok. The cottage was lovely. It was clean and had all the amenities we needed for the night. The beds were very comfortable and everyone got a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cape Schanck L, General Manager at Cape Schanck Light Station, responded to this review

The red cottage is my favourite especially with sun room looking over the large green open space with views to the sand hills More 

Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Despite reading the poor reviews, we booked a night at the Red Cottage in October. I will agree that the logistics are a little confusing - we weren't sure where to go when we arrived. After a few circles in the parking lot we decided to ask at the kiosk, and it turns out this is where you check in.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cape Schanck L, General Manager at Cape Schanck Light Station, responded to this review

We certainly agree a great place to holiday and work More 

Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

A group of 5 of us, all older women tried to book the White Cottage for a weekend as a surprise gift for one of us who was turning 60. We made the booking by phone and paid $600 for 5 people for 2 nights. Our email confirmation said that we may get the White Cottage but it was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cape Schanck L, Owner at Cape Schanck Light Station, responded to this review

Unfortunately you did not stay at the lighthouse and enjoy the experience. Our cottages have a quiet tranquil experience. As there are four different groups who can stay on the Lightstation we are very keen to maximise this experience. As such we do not encourage guests who are going to have a party in our accommodation. You cancelled your booking... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We arrived at the Light Station Kiosk early July after booking our accommodation back in April.Upon introducing myself I was told we were in the White cottage??? Mmmm sure we booked into the Red Cottage and informed Tony of such.... not to be, after reminding him that we changed from White to Red via phone conversation in April then confirmed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Schanck L, Owner at Cape Schanck Light Station, responded to this review

The reason for the move was that we were given a finishing date and opened the bookings two weeks after this date. Asbestos was found in the roof which then delayed the project and bookings had to be cancelled or moved to another cottage. I pleased you enjoyed the red cottage More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

-We never received any maps or confirmation from hotel. - It is difficult to locate with very complex entry instructions with keys, codes, telephone calls and locked gates. Yet no advance instructions sent. -We arrived at night and so had to phone to get all the instructions in dark with metal gate and chain and key lock to go through... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Cape Schanck L, General Manager at Cape Schanck Light Station, responded to this review

We recently had a fire in the cottage and did not cancel your booking as we did not know about it. Normally the internet booking system sends details in this case the link failed and you nor us received any information about your arrival. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities