We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ruslamere Hotel, Spa & Conference Centre

Hotel website
14 Langeberg Rd, Durbanville 7551, South Africa
Offers & Announcements
German Evening Special
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ruslamere Hotel, Spa & Conference Centre
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ruslamere Hotel, Spa & Conference Centre
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    10
    12
    3
    9
See reviews for
7
14
4
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (79)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We attended a conference and as conferences go I wasn't looking forward much to our visit. I was pleasantly surprised! Unlike our last conference in Johannesburg, this time round we got booked into some really nice and comfy rooms. Everything was working, the rooms were clean and it was quiet. No Sandton traffic keeping us awake until dawn! I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a perfect place to entertain in luxurious yet informal surroundings. The committee and staff of the local golf club enjoyed Ruslamere's wonderful hospitality at their Captain’s Dinner recently. The venue was superb, the food excellent and the service outstanding. Thank you so very much.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RussRathbone, Owner at Ruslamere Hotel, Spa & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi John. Thank you for your delightful review of our offering and am really pleased that we were able to make your stay with us enjoyable. Your words of encouragement is really appreciated by the management and staff. We would be honoured and delighted to welcome you back soon. Thank you. On behalf of the owners and staff. More 

Phalaborwa, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Thank you for a wonderful stay. Stay here next time you visit Cape Town. We had a lovely loft room with its own kitchen and lounge. We slept like babies and ordered breakfast in bed! There are great wineries within 5 minutes drive from the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RussRathbone, Owner at Ruslamere Hotel, Spa & Conference Centre, responded to this review

How delighted and rewarding is it to get such a resounding review. Your review makes all our hard work and efforts worth it. Thank you so much and our staff and management look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed at Ruslamere a third time recently for our national conference. The owners have done a really great job to grow their guesthouse from a guesthouse to a big hotel without losing their identity. The new bistro and its covered area outside was wonderful with winter approaching and we enjoyed our lunches under the big old oak tree. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RussRathbone, Owner at Ruslamere Hotel, Spa & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi Andre. As a hard working and committed owners my wife Gizzy and I are delighted and thankful for your acknowledgment and encouragement of our hard work and offering. Your time and effort to review our offerings from your busy schedule is greatly appreciated. From the bottom of our hearts our staff and I thank you. We look forward to... More 

East London, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our stay at Ruslamere Guest House was great while we were in Durbanville for a wedding anniversary. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The restaurant was great and the staff was lovely and accommodating.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RussRathbone, Owner at Ruslamere Hotel, Spa & Conference Centre, responded to this review

How delightful it is to receive such good feedback, from the Owners, management and staff we thank you and look forward to welcoming you back to Ruslamere Hotel Spa Conference and Bistro. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I recently celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary and decided to stay at Ruslamere. It was the first time we stayed over within a 15km radius from home, but we were pleasantly surprised and got back feeling refreshed and totally relaxed. The new menu at their bistro is reason enough to stay the weekend! The check-in process was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
RussRathbone, Owner at Ruslamere Hotel, Spa & Conference Centre, responded to this review

On behalf of the Owners, Management and staff we would like to thank you for your great review and positive feed back on our offering at Ruslamere, Spa and Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

East London, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a great venue. Comfortable accommodation. Friendly service and good food. Close to the wine farms. Overall a really great experience. Hope to visit the new spa on my next visit. Definately staying here on my next trip to Durbanville.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RussRathbone, Owner at Ruslamere Hotel, Spa & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your encouragement and great feed back. Comments like these motivate us to strive to please everyone who supports us at Ruslamere. We value your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to Ruslamere Hotel Spa Conferencing and Restaurant. On behalf of the Owners, Management and Staff, thank you. More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

The initial booking of the venue with the event organiser Ilanza was easy, the fact that she doesn't work there anymore is a big loss to the restaurant. When I got to the restaurant a 18 seated table was ready for me when I specifically requested the couch area, I had to wait for other guest to finish up before... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RussRathbone, Owner at Ruslamere Hotel, Spa & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi Robyn, Thank you for your time and input into writing this TripAdvisor review. This ultimately assists us to improve our offering on the ground. Bearing in mind that this is a unique private Owner operated unique offering in Cape Town Durbanville. We value your input, apologies for the delay in reply but due to the intense investigation this delay... More 

Cape Town
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

We had no complaints with our accommodation, except that the bathroom was bigger than the bedroom - bad planning somewhere! The restaurant was hopeless. On the afternoon of our arrival we went to the Restaurant and ordered some Ceylon tea. This took ages to arrive and they brought Rooibos! We sent this back and eventually got our Ceylon tea, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RussRathbone, Owner at Ruslamere Hotel, Spa & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi Sue Thanks for your feed back which we have addressed with refining of new staff and systems. This is a unique offering and not a stamped replica which makes the roll out more difficult. With your support and positive constructive criticism we can really develop this into a great venue offering something spectacular in the Northern Suburbs of Cape... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

On a previous visit to Ruslamere I complaint about the poor quality of the room. They gave me letter of apology and moved me to a different room. On Monday the 16/03/2015 when I booked in, the room was in a poor condition and I booked out and found other accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RussRathbone, Owner at Ruslamere Hotel, Spa & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi Pierre Thanks for your feed back which we have addressed with the refining of new staff and systems. This is a unique offering and not a stamped replica which makes the roll out much more difficult. With your support and positive constructive criticism we can really develop this into a great venue offering something spectacular in the Northern Suburbs... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay