We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ye Olde Fighting Cocks

Certificate of Excellence
The Promenade, Arnside LA5 0HD, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ye Olde Fighting Cocks
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ye Olde Fighting Cocks
Add Photo Write a Review

298 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    198
    76
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
39
179
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (298)
  • Mar-May only
    (81)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (70)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (71)
All months
Muff, Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed in Ye Olde Fighting Cocks during a sales trip around the UK in June. I arrived on a Wednesday night and was immediately struck by the warm welcome and the homely atmosphere of the reception area in the bar. I met the proprietor, Tony, and as he was a bit quiet he upgraded me to a better room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hospitality at it's finest. Feeling welcome and comfortable with an authentic ambience. That's the best way to describe my stay at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks. I met the locals and wandered around the village making friends so easily. The restaurant served up fine English Food and my accommodation was just perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brownhills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Preparations for the Morecambe Bay Walk with the Queen's Guide last February, we decided to book a pre night locally, sadly as we are not local we hadn't bargained on how popular the area was and thought we would might be able to book an extra night when we arrived (we only thought about it on our journey up which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brownhills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in Arnside because we were doing the walk across Morecambe bay, so decided to make a weekend of it. On our arrival we were politely greeted and shown to our room, and were asked at the same time if we wanted to dine with them that evening which we did.. Our room was very clean and had one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Thanks to the staff at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, I think we were your first customers on Saturday morning, you opened the doors and served us a much needed cup of coffee. Beautiful old fashioned inn with wonderful old fashioned service. 10/10

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bensheim, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently spent a couple of nights in this very pleasant Pub and had a splendid room on the first floor overlooking the estuary. The room was large and very well furnished and it had a good radiator, necessary even in June! The staff (especially the room staff) were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The only niggle was that the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the minute we arrived the staff made us feel really welcome a special thanks to tasha and Michael they was fantastic. The room was spotless and very modern we stayed in the Lansdale I would highly recommend this room we stayed the day of the vintage weekend which made our stay even more special we ate in the restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights and loved Arnside and the local area but were disappointed with the hotel. The rooms are clean but the decor is fussy and dated and the bathrooms in need of an upgrade. Breakfast on the first day was such a farce, with the self-service coffee machine, toaster and etc tripping twice and needing to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review, I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations, We are a 400 year old building, and I do not wish to make it cheap budget chain uniform hotel, each room has its own character, The bathroom have all had new baths, LED lighting, mirrors, bath panels and power showers and tiling, The bedrooms... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night in June and were put in the Grizedale room. The room was lovely and very clean, they provide fresh towels for you and tea/coffee making facilities. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant in particular Tash and Alister from behind the bar. Tony the owner was also very helpful and made us feel very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved the location and the wonderful views but had a very disappointing stay. The young girl on reception was very curt. No hello. Her first words were how much we owed for payment. No friendly banter as she showed us to our room at the very top of the building and no offer to assist with bags. Wifi didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review, I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations, we do offer a bag carrying service and I am unsure why this did not happen, WIFI reaches the older part of the hotel, and we do not advertise WIFI in the rooms. We stop taking food orders during the week at 7.45 as we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (89)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay