We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ye Olde Fighting Cocks

The Promenade, Arnside LA5 0HD, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ye Olde Fighting Cocks
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ye Olde Fighting Cocks
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    62
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
151
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (254)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (70)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We visited in January 2015 for our second stay and it was a delight. The owners, Tony and Jeanette, could not have been more friendly or accommodating. Our room was lovely; clean, beautifully furnished and the most gorgeous view of the Estuary. The food was lovely; homely, reasonably-priced, yummy (especially the Morecambe Bay Shrimps!). Very convenient for Leighton Moss and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here overnight when taking our daughter to University - ideal just about 10 miles from Lancaster and the RSPB Leighton Moss is only a few miles away. It was warm and welcoming - very modern and clean. Pleasant staff. The Accommodation was separate to the main building en suite which was airy, with tv and drinks and biscuits... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rishton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Loved my stay here ,nice friendly staff and excellent food.The room was lovely ,nice and clean and the robes just made it that bit more cosy .See you again in February we missed booking the four poster room this time but I'm sure the room will be just as nice

Was this review helpful? Yes
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review

Hi A huge thanks for your lovely review and we to look forward to seeing you again next month Tony More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I didn't enjoy my stay at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks. To begin with my room smelled of stale cigarette smoke, there was weird stains on the mattress and bed sheets?? The toilet leaked at the bottom of the base and the shower barely had any water pressure, which made showering very difficult. The room was not comfortable or nice, looked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review

Dear Sirs Would you please provided details of your booking as we have no record of you ever staying, and your review was posted on the day the TV show 4 in a Bed went out on Channel 4 which we won, we know that even after being filmed nearly 2 years ago some people find it funny to leave... More 

Thaxted, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 3 nights over New Year and stayed in one of the new luxury barn rooms. Great rooms - spotless and comfortable. Tony and Jeanette and all their staff could not do more to make you feel at home. Bar has a great friendly atmosphere and lively on New Years Eve. Good food, good beers and wines at resonable prices.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review

Hi Many thanks for your great review, I think everyone had a great New Years break, Jeanette and I are happy you enjoyed your selves and look forward to seeing you again soon Tony More 

Billericay
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked 5 nights in one of the new barn rooms. On arrival we sat in the bar and had a drink before booking in with a very busy Tony. I particularly wanted to observe the atmosphere, Based on some of the comments we saw on here (after we had booked). Needless to say we were well impressed and were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review

Hi I cant say anything as your review says it all. I do hope to see you again soon Many thanks again Tony More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Clean friendly establishment. Hands on owner manager keen to offer excellent service. Helpful and attentive staff. Locally sourced steaks 40 days hung - delicious! Good choice of real ales and reasonably priced good wines. Beautiful views over the water. Easy parking. Altogether a great place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review

Hi Many thanks for your kind review, our 40 day steaks are loved by the locals and visitors, My team work very hard to ensure our customers have a great time. Many thanks again Tony More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely room with good view of the estuary, situated in a nice location however food was not as expected. Food on the first night was good but I don't know what happened after that. Both the fish pie and apple pie had been microwaved which I don't think is acceptable. Breakfast was disappointing and the coffee machine stopped working. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Fighting Cocks, The Coffee machine did go wrong and of course over xmas it was impossible to get an engineer out, we are sorry about this and am pleased to say it is working now. We do not use Microwaves to cooking fish pie, they are cooked in a merrichef system,... More 

Huntingdon and Peterborough, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we would like to say how lovely our stay over Xmas was at the ye old fighting cocks, tony and Janette are great. we had a great Xmas eve with a quiz and a lovely meal they managed to cater for 9 of us at short notice even after them already being very busy . nothing was to much trouble... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review

Hi Team Thanks for your great review, I am so pleased you all enjoyed it, even little one !!! she will get to go for a drive on my car next time !!! We do hope to see you all again soon Tony & Jeanette More 

Macclesfield
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Evening meal excellent and wine as good as places where they have charged much, much more. The waitresses must be carefully selected for their friendliness, efficiency and in some cases mild eccentricity which added to the charm. And the waiter was good too! Breakfasts adequate but the breakfast room was cold our first day, sorted on second day. Room OK... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your great review, I am so pleased you all enjoyed it, We do select our staff very carefully and they receive on going training to ensure we meet your expectations. We do hope to see you all again soon Tony & Jeanette More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ye Olde Fighting Cocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Fighting Cocks

Address: The Promenade, Arnside LA5 0HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Arnside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ye Olde Fighting Cocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Fighting Cocks Hotel Arnside

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (81)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay