We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Abalone House & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
3 Kriedoring Street, Paternoster 7381, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abalone House & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Abalone House & Spa
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    147
    28
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
125
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (194)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

Stayed one night and upon arrival they upgraded us to a better room which was great. The room was lovely, beautiful decor and a good view of the beach. The fabrics and decor in the rooms were so lovely... cheerful, cozy, chic and luxurious. My girlfriend and I both remarked that we have never slept in a more comfortable bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

We're thrilled to read your lovely review Rudi. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Abalone House & Spa in Paternoster. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our Reuben's restaurant, as well as all the luxuries and amenities we offer in our bedrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

We staid at the Abalone house in combination with a SecretEats dinner (elsewhere in Paternoster). Golden combination! Very friendly, great breakfast, beautiful views, plenty of good food around the corner + a classic beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We value your feedback and are delighted to read that you had a wonderful time with us and that your stay at Abalone House & Spa was the perfect match for your Secret Eats outing. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Blissful weekend away in Paternoster at this wonderful hotel. Everything from the decor, art, food, service, rooms and bed was perfect. We had dinner and breakfast at Reuben's which was delightful and our wonderful waitron Seka made meal/tea times even more of a pleasure. Thank you Abalone House and the phenomenal Leigh for seeing to our every need and making... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. You are most welcome. We live to serve and hearing that you had a memorable stay is exactly what we wish for all our guests. We hope to welcome you back soon. More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

On arrival, we were warmly greeted by Leigh and immediately enjoyed champagne on the deck watching the stunning sunset! Our courtyard room was nicely appointed but when I return I will book a room with a view. Dinner on both nights was excellent and breakfasts were superb. We loved the laid back ambience and staff were friendly and knowledgeable -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're honoured by your compliments. We appreciate your feedback regarding service during breakfast and will address this accordingly. We look forward to welcoming you back to Paternoster soon. More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Paternoster is absolutely idyllic. The hotel is 2 minutes walk from a beautiful beach. The hotel was beautiful. The breakfasts and dinners excellent and the staff very helpful and friendly. It was lovely having the Spa attached to the hotel. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and wished we had booked for longer!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We pride our self on our location and are thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Unfortunately we've never been able to visit the spa because the hotel phone is hardly ever answered and when it is no one can get hold of the people who work at the spa. The attitude of the staff over the phone is very "take it or leave it" and unfriendly. Ended up going to The Dunes Spa down the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Karen. Our sincerest apologies that you had difficulty to get in touch with us telephonically. We have investigated your feedback and discovered that due to recent load shedding, our phone lines were unfortunately affected. This also affected our call quality and equipment as well as the various lines connected to our switchboard. We apologize for... More 

Johannesburg
Level Contributor
123 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

Having stayed at other hotels in Paternoster I was disappointed by Abalone house. The furnishings and feeling of the hotel and room were dated and a bit crowded. The service in the restaurant was slow at breakfast and you felt it was an effort for staff to serve you. The one outstanding area was the front desk, always helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback about our eclectic décor and understand that it is not to everybody's taste. We take note of your service comments and apologize that this area lacked. We pride ourselves on delivering the best guest experiences and will address the points raised. We are however thrilled that you enjoyed the service of... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

I spent 2 nights at Abalone House and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff are well trained, friendly and accommodating. A special thanks to Ryno at the Front Desk for going beyond the call of duty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your experience at Abalone House in Paternoster. We're thrilled to read that Ryno went beyond the call of duty to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We strive for perfection, and it's our highest priority to ensure that our guests' experiences are world class. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

An oasis on an oasis. Delightfully furnished with a wonderfully comfortable, cosy ambience and a most attentive General Manager.

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We'll be sure to pass your compliments to the team and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More 

Pontefract England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

We were visiting South Africa for the first time and on a recomendation decided to visit Paternoster and Aberlone house for our first three nights to wind down and relax before a hectic schedule round the cape. We were not disapointed whilst Paternoster is very quiet the beaches are beautiful the restaurtants wine and service superb. We loved our stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are delighted to read your wonderful review of your recent stay at Abalone House & Spa in Paternoster. Paternoster is indeed a quaint little fishing village on the West Coast and a hidden gem, hence our offering of a luxurious getaway destination with an in house Healing Earth Spa and Reuben's Restaurant. We're thrilled that you enjoyed... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay