We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Oystercatcher's Haven at Paternoster

Certificate of Excellence
Oystercatchers Haven | 48 Sonkwas Road, Paternoster 7381, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with The Oystercatcher's Haven at Paternoster to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Oystercatcher\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Renovated beach house with excellent service, amazing breakfasts and staff that anticipate your needs (like making dinner reservations in the sleepy Paternoster in advance) I would recommend this romantic hideaway to couples rather than families

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 569chantellee
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A fantastic find, right on the beach in a lovely village different to anything we experienced in SA. The whole place was full of character and care, both the public rooms and bedroom. Excellent bed and bathroom fittings and wonderful care by the hosts, including the breakfasts. They could not have been more caring for their guests. Get off the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Everard T
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We hadn't booked but got a really good room for one night ( unfortunately they didn't have any rooms the next night). Great spot, raised above sandy beach , friendly and very heplful staff. We loved having breakfast on the small terrace in front of our room. Sarah even sorted us out another guest house in Paternoster for a couple... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Claire R
MrsHamer, Owner at The Oystercatcher's Haven at Paternoster, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. With only four rooms, booking in advance is essential, but happy to know that we were able accommodate you on short notice. We pride ourselves on our fantastic personal service; and breathtaking views as our added bonus. Make that wish come true, visit us real soon and linger a wee bit longer. More 

Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The stay was great, we had a room on first floor and a phantastic view. This guesthouse has so many things to discover. The pool is small but that seems to be in other guesthouses the same. Breakfast was excellent. The bed was very comfortable. Sarah was very helpful. We would book it again. The only thing I woul change... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is our 5th time that we have visited Oystercatcher Haven and always had the best service. The staff is very friendly and helpful - nothing is to much for them. On arrival we met Sarah which was so helpful and so friendly. We felt at home immediately. Both Sarah and Abigail made us feel very comfortable and was always... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carla D
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Small guest house with very attentive but unobtrusive service. Its location right on the beach at the western end of town means peace and quiet with stunning views and a 10-15 minute walk to most restaurants. Very good breakfast, helpful staff. At current exchange rates, very good value for money for international visitors. Stayed in the upstairs suite (room 3),... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank svoloch
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had a spectacular time at the Oyster Catcher Paternoster from the time we walked in and were too early they took our bags and on our return later the bags were in the room. I must mention Abigail who made a lasting impression on us. She was kind from the time she offered us tea on the Patio (which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leroy S
Cape Town
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

we spent one night to celebrate my husbands birthday and stayed in one of the downstairs roomswhich has easy access to the beach . Staff relaxed and unobstrusive, room with a beautiful sea view, even from the bed. Delicious breakfast . An ideal getaway from the city rat race

Helpful?
Thank Liz I
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

We arrived late in the afternoon after eating lunch at die strandloper in laangebaan. We were greeted by a friendly lady who showed us to our room. It was room number 1 which is apparently the room Nelson Mandela stayed in. They book you a reservation at a restaurant here as a courtesy due to the fact that there seems... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

This small guest house could not have been more welcoming or comfortable, with views to die for! My mum,in her 80s, and I spent three delightful nights there, looked after with charm and warmth by Sarah, the Manageress. Breakfasts were beautifully presented and all the produce was fresh and tasty. The decor was very individual, almost eccentric, with artefacts from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sally A
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paternoster hotels
1.2 mi away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Paternoster Cottages
Paternoster Cottages
#8 of 13 in Paternoster
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
1.2 mi away
ah! Guest House
ah! Guest House
#1 of 17 in Paternoster
5.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abalone House & Spa
Abalone House & Spa
#8 of 17 in Paternoster
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House
0.2 mi away
Gilcrest Place BnB
Gilcrest Place BnB
#2 of 17 in Paternoster
5.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay