We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Alexandria hotels

De Vere Cameron House

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8QZ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added De Vere Cameron House to your Saves list
De Vere Cameron House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
74%
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011
caroline_johnston Dunbartonshire
  • Reviews (2,016)
  • Photos (536)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (495)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

2,016 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,059
    436
    284
    160
    77
See reviews for
292
1227
14
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for De Vere Cameron House
See the most recent reviews
Dunbartonshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

I can't congratulate Cameron House enough for laying on such a fantastic display. My son and husband got to hold a bird whilst learning all about its personality. Even though it was a very cold day I found incredibly entertaining, the chap that did most of the talking was very informative and I thought it was a fantastic start to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

We enjoyed a very relaxing 2 night stay at Cameron House and couldn't fault a single thing! The service was friendly and efficient, the food delicious, the views to die for and our room was an added bonus - I had booked a standard garden facing room but we got a free upgrade to not only a loch view but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
camer0nh0use, Public Relations Manager at De Vere Cameron House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for submitting your review of Cameron House. We are delighted you enjoyed you're stay so much. Please check under the 'Special Offers' section of our website for promotions that would suit, or join our mailing list to have these sent directly to you. More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

I went there back in April for 1 day for a corporate event and was impressed by the quality of the room which were tastefully furnished and spacious. The loch itself offered incredible sights and the hotel was beautiful too. The location is rather remote but the hotel do offer plenty of activities for you to keep busy and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
camer0nh0use, Public Relations Manager at De Vere Cameron House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Cameron House. We are delighted you enjoyed you're stay so much, and that you would like to return for a longer stay. Please look under the 'Special Offers' section of our website for packages that would suit you and your partner, or join our mailing list to have these... More

Andover
2 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

My mother chose to celebrate her 80th birthday at Cameron House with a lunch for 40 of her friends. It was extremely expensive and very poor customer service. There was no one to greet us on arrival. We had to go and find someone to take the coats. We had pre ordered champagne and wine, and all the guests were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
camer0nh0use, Public Relations Manager at De Vere Cameron House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are really disappointed that you are unhappy with the service received, and can only apologise for this. A private message has been sent to you with the contact details of our Meeting and Events Sales Manager, who will gladly discuss any issues you have. More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Cameron House for 1 night and what a lovely time we had. It was a gift from a very special friend and we cannot thank her enough, F*****, your a star. Fron the Location to the valet parking, swimming pool to the beautiful room, we can't fault it. The reception staff are very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
camer0nh0use, Public Relations Manager at De Vere Cameron House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Cameron House, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More

Bristol
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Came up to the Cameron House Hotel for a bit of early 2011 rest and relaxation. For us it really was a curates egg - so good in some ways and yet it failed to deliver in others. The location on the banks of Loch Lomond is stunning and the building itself, whilst a mix of architectural styles manages to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
camer0nh0use, Public Relations Manager at De Vere Cameron House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are extremely disappointed that you are dissatisfied with elements of your stay at Cameron House, and can only apologise for this. A private message has been sent to you with the contact details of our Food and Beverage manager, who will willingly discuss any issues with you. More

Aberdeen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

I am just back from spending the weekend at Cameron House. It was truly wonderful. The hotel staff just could not have been nicer and very helpful. Special thanks to the concierges. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are stunning. Went to the Spa on two occasions and was delighted, Total relaxation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
camer0nh0use, Public Relations Manager at De Vere Cameron House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we are delighted that you enjoyed your return visit to Cameron House and look forward to welcoming you back to the Bonnie Banks in the near future. More

Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

My husband and I were attending a small, intimate wedding at Cameron House and stayed two nights. We ate at the Marina Harbour restaurant (a 10 minute walk from the main Hotel). The standard of the food was excellent and fantastic value for money. The views are breathtaking and the staff could not do enough for us. We were greeted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dorset
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Stayed here for Hogmanay - really excellent. Food first class, staff wonderful, location unbeatable. Would like a little more light in bedroom, but apart from that outstanding - would definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
camer0nh0use, Public Relations Manager at De Vere Cameron House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we are delighted that you enjoyed the New Year celebrations at Cameron House and look forward to welcoming you back to the Bonnie Banks in the near future. More

Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

this was a long awaited , rare night away without kids...AND WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT. if id read these reviews before booking, id probably still have booked, just thinking that people were just being picky...BUT THEY ARE NOT...THERE ARE TOO MANY FAULTS TO MENTION, AND IF I DIDNT KNOW, ID HAVE THOUGHT I WAS IN A 3 STAR HOTEL(IN FACT IVE... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
camer0nh0use, Public Relations Manager at De Vere Cameron House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review on trip advisor we really appreciate your feedback and can only apologise for the service you received whilst staying at Cameron House. I have sent a private message as our Deputy General Manager would like to discuss the comments further. I am, however, pleased that you intend to return to Cameron House and... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage De Vere Cameron House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to De Vere Cameron House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cameron House

Address: Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8QZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De Vere Cameron House 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your De Vere Cameron House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
De Vere Cameron House Scotland/Alexandria, United Kingdom

536 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (522)
Viewed
Room/suite (133)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (128)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (25)
Viewed
View from room (46)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (140)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
128

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer