We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Certificate of Excellence
, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Hotel amenities
3 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

2,684 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1,435
    595
    365
    196
    93
See reviews for
390
1,650
15
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2684)
  • Mar-May only
    (708)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (726)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (592)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (658)
All months
There are newer reviews for Cameron House on Loch Lomond
See the most recent reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed one weeknight in January on a DB&B package. Having previously stayed at the Carrick lodges, which are fantastic, we are a little disappointed with our stay at Cameron House. That's not to say there aren't some great things about this hotel, such as its truly unbeatable setting, its just that it lacked that certain something that makes a hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you thought so highly or our world renowned location, baronial themed public areas and the friendly nature of our team at the resort. I am really disappointed however, that you feel you did not experience the level of five star service that we pride ourselves on delivering. Please note that your... More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have stayed here along with my husband and son on 3 occasions recently and each time has been a delight from start to finish. The check-in at reception was always very quick and the porters were very friendly and efficient. The rooms we were allocated were very nice and decorated in line with the other areas of the Hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

From making the reservation to checking out was just perfect. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The room was exceptional in every way. To top it off it was the best sleep I have had in years. Certainly will be back great experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review

A huge thank you for your review! I am delighted that you enjoyed such a seamless experience at every stage of your stay and that you found this to be a really relaxing break! I look forward to you return visit and welcoming you back to the banks of Loch Lomond! Kind regards, Nader Ibrahim More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed at Cameron House a couple of times and had a wonderful relaxing time. You receive a lovely warming welcome on arrival from valet and the staff overall are very friendly. The hotel has a very good swimming pool with sauna and steam room and is both suitable for children and adults. The spa was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I am delighted that you have returned to stay at Cameron House and that you found our hotel to be a fabulous resort! It is great that you have been able to experience so many different aspects of the resort, such as Michelin Star Martin Wisharts and our award winning Carrick Spa. Please note that... More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Can't rave about this place enough. I booked 3 nights here for me and my wife's 1st wedding anniversary and it was luxury from start to finish. The setting is right on the banks of Loch Lomond and the scenery is breath taking. The hotel and service provided is the best I have experienced, not suprising given that it's past... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review

Congratulations! I am really pleased that you chose Cameron House to celebrate such a special wedding anniversary. I am delighted that we were able to deliver such a luxurious experience for you both. I am also really glad that you have recommended our guests to experiecne a seaplane flight, as this is a truly breath taking way to absorb the... More 

Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I can not complain at all about the stay at Cameron House. The service from the very beginning, arriving at the hotel, until the minute we left was excellent. The room was of excellent quality and had a lovely view out onto Loch Lommond. Dinner in the Boat House was of equally good standard. During our stay we also had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review

A huge thank you for your review. I am delighted that you were treated to a Christmas break with us at Cameron House. I am also incredibly pleased that you enjoyed terrific service throughout your stay and your praise of our bedrooms, Boat House restaurant and the afternoon tea you enjoyed in our Great Scots Bar is really encouraging. I... More 

Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Arrived for the second night of my birthday weekend away, the first night having stayed at Mar Hall. Fast check in, no problems, super friendly staff. We were shown to our room which was a loch view family room, I considered sleeping in the bunk room it was so sweet and cosy looking. Room was spacious, clean and very comfortable,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am delighted that you chose to celebrate your birthday weekend at Cameron House. Your kind words regarding so many aspects of our resort are very encouraging to all our team. I do hope to welcome you back and that you are able to stay for a longer time on your next visit.... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Cameron house was a lovely place to stay. It is situated on the banks of Loch Lomond. From first entrance to the estate the place reeks of class, history & decadence. Rooms are beautiful, place is beautiful, bars are beautiful. Had dinner at the Carrick - sadly it was distinctly average. The breakfast the next morning more than made up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am delighted that you found Cameron House to be a beautiful resort, steeped in history and elegance. I am sorry to hear that you felt the meal you experienced in our Claret jug was only of average quality, although I am glad that other aspects of the resort vastly surpassed this. I... More 

New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

First please note I emailed these comments to the assistant to the General Manager and never received a reply so know that the hotel does not care about the feedback they receive from any guests. I wanted the email for the General Manager but I was told he does not handle customer feedback. My previous experiences at I prefer properties... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your feedback of Cameron House on tripadvisor. I am incredibly disappointed that you did not feel the level of service was of the consistent 5-star standard that we strive to deliver. Please be assured that all the issues identified are being reviewed by our senior Management team. Please also note that my contact details have been... More 

Mohill, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Was visiting Scotland to see a friend who lives there. Was looking forward to an afternoon visit to Cameron House to have some lunch & relax.Have heard so much of this hotel & was excited to be visiting. We walked the grounds which are spectacular & then decided to have some lunch there. this is when the problems started. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am pleased that you chose to visit Camreon House to enjoy lunch with your friend, however I apologise profusely that we did not meet your expectations. There is no excuse for rudeness from any member of the team and I also apologise that the attention to detail that you experienced was not... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very good(25)
  • Star hotel(22)
  • Carrick spa(15)
  • Room service(7)
  • Claret jug(6)
  • Swimming pool(4)
  • Great Scots bar(3)
  • Martin wishart restaurant(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

713 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (698)
Viewed
Room/suite (170)
Viewed
View from room (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (196)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (28)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (166)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 stars 1,846 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#9 of 92 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay