We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Makayla Palms

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Kauare, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Special Price
Super Save 20%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Makayla Palms
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Makayla Palms
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
221
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (317)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (81)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (76)
All months
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife an I had toured Australia and New Zealand for two months and wanted to recover from a touring holiday by escaping to paradise for a week. Rarotonga met the bill and we were lucky that our search for accommodation led us to Makayla Palms. The three well designed, built and maintained bungalows provide modern accommodation with everything you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mangawhai, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is my 5th visit (or is it 6th?) to Makayla Palms and it is still perfect! Often when travelling you find somewhere great and then go back a few years later to find it no longer matches your original experience - this is never the case at Makayla Palms as each time I go back I find new improvements... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Once again we got the opportunity to visit Raro and once again we offer a huge Thank you to John and Rachel for an amazing stay in Raro. Beautiful beach location and lovely facilities The snorkelling was out of this world Recommend Makayla Palms to all. Will be back again very soon

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JDMR, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review and recommendation. We look forward to your next visit!! John, Rachel, Loving and Fred More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is without a doubt the best beach on Raro- it's also the quietest! My partner and I stayed here for a week and lived he snorkelling out the front of the resort. The beach is great and Malaya palms provides snorkelling gear and kayaks free of charge. Some things to note- wifi is NOT free and of a poor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDMR, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your comments about our lovely beach and its quietness. The snorkeling is amazing and we are so pleased that your husband enjoyed it. We obviously differ using the term “basic” as our villas are highly maintained, spacious and contain everything that you need in the kitchen with a hob and a BBQ on your... More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I suppose my husband and I picked a bad time to stay at Makayla this was our 3rd visit to Roratonga which we love, we booked for 3 weeks at Makayla, (first time ) we come to Raratonga to rest and be rejuvinated, being close to the ocean to hear the waves and lots of rest was our intention, on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JDMR, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we would like to respond to your comments raised as follows • The first villa you were in could not be expected to have a sea breeze as we are a short stroll from the beach. There was a large ceiling fan and a pedestal fan. You said you were angry about the charge... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

As newly weds we spent 9 days at Makayla Palms. And it was a pleasure! The service was great as too was the advice about the Island and what to do during our stay. Even the grounds staff and cleaners were super friendly. We highly recommend staying with Makayla Palms - you won't be let down...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JDMR, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this review

Loved that you spent your honeymoon with us and found it such a pleasure! We are sure that you left with lots of happy memories from spending your honeymoon on a lovely tropical island and perhaps we will see you again on an anniversary? John, Rachel, Loving and Fred More 

New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We stayed in the 2 bedroom villa (2 teenage daughters in twin room, us in a queen) -the villa couldn't have been better! Immaculately clean and has everything you need plus more (even found "anti-itch" in the bathroom cabinet which you will need on Raro!). Position is great if you are looking for a beach holiday -the best stretch of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JDMR, Owner at Makayla Palms, responded to this review

We do appreciate your kind review and that you had a lovely stay with us.The stretch of beach is fantastic and a bonus to often have it to yourselves which our guests enjoy.We do hope that you will visit us again in this little corner of paradise John,Rachel, Loving and Fred More 

Sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

We had a very pleasant stay at Makayla Palms, despite truly dreadful weather for the duration of our holiday. The 2 bed villa was a great location to rest and relax, very quiet, and free from the tourist bustle. Beds were comfortable, the villa was clean and had great amenities. The 2 bed villa was a really terrific layout. Two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southend
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

My husband and I visited Makayla Palms for Christmas - our second stay at this accommodation......and it was as just as fantastic as the first time !! The 3 villas are set in a private location amongst beautiful landscaped gardens and are just a few metres stroll from a breathtaking beach where you can paddle amongst the coral and watch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

We spent almost two weeks at Makayla Palms and everything exceeded our expectations. The villa was bright, spotless and private. Being so close to a wonderful white sand beach with warm lagoon in which to swim was perfect. We were welcomed by son Ben who gave us suggestions on where to find interesting places to visit and shop. Lovey and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

274 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (248)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (68)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Other (26)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question