We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mount Lofty House - MGallery Collection

5.0 of 5
74 Mount Lofty Summit Rd, Crafers, South Australia 5152, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Mount Lofty House)
Hotel amenities
Mount Lofty House - MGallery Collection
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crafers
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Sabrinaschmid Brisbane, australia
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    28
    23
    14
    5
See reviews for
17
79
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (141)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Brisbane, australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a great hotel! It is a really big house with everything you need to relax, have fun and dine. We got there and the checkin people were friendly and helpful and gave us a history lesson about the place. Using the elevator to get to the third floor we went to room 20 and it was really spacious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony B, General Manager at Mount Lofty House - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Hi Sabrina I do appreciate you writing such a wonderful review following your recent stay with us - thank you! Mount Lofty House is a wonderful country house as you said, dating back to 1852! Lovingly restored to its old grandeur with all the services and features of a modern 5 star hotel, we are very proud of its heritage... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Mt Lofty House has probably the best view in Adelaide and is a beautiful old homestead. My wife and I celebrated our wedding day and 2 nights stay there. We stayed in the Piccadilly suite and it was a very large suite with plenty of space for everything you could think of. In the end the entire bridal party was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony B, General Manager at Mount Lofty House - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Hi Andrew Absolutely delighted you and your wife celebrated your Wedding Day and Night with us at Mount Lofty House - its is such a beautiful property isn't it, in the stunning Adelaide Hills just 15 minutes from the central business district! The Piccadilly Suite you stayed in is superb. It is our finest grand suite with the most amazing... More 

Hawera
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved the old world charm and history of this hotel. We had room 14 with a private balcony overlooking the Piccadilly Valley. A great spot to have a wine and enjoy the beautiful panorama. The room and bathroom was spacious and very comfortable and clean. A billiard room and library are public rooms available if you choose to use them.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony B, General Manager at Mount Lofty House - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Hi RocheMaree Thank you so much for you kind review of Mount Lofty House, especially from one who has experienced much in Australia, New Zealand and Europe. Delighted you enjoyed our property, in particular the old world charm and history which dates back to 1852. Many do enjoy Mount Lofty House as a quiet retreat, tucked away atop the Adelaide... More 

sanctuary cove
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a shame. We booked the suite for the views you can see on the website and that, other than a good restaurant, is about all there is to say. The hotel is very tired, understaffed (the ones they have work flat out constantly) and has seen better days. Children rampage around the corridors (and the dining room) - it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony B, General Manager at Mount Lofty House - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Hi jane s Many thanks for your review following your recent stay at Mount Lofty House - I do appreciate you taking the time to write. Ours is an older property having originally been built in 1852 and as such retains much if not all of its character. Whilst that may of course not be to everyone's taste we remain... More 

Victor Harbor, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we shared a bottle of wine in the beautiful garden setting, with the autumnal vista of the valleys below. Wandered through the gardens before enjoying a meal in the restaurant. Staff very accommodating and friendly. This is our second visit to Mt Lofty House, and probably not our last.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony B, General Manager at Mount Lofty House - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Hi Cindy K I am delighted you enjoyed so much what is very special about Mount Lofty House - the magnificent gardens, the beautiful vista across the Piccadilly valley, our own boutique wine, fabulous food and terrific staff. Like yourselves as return guests, many enjoy Mount Lofty House for its peaceful solitude. I'm not surprised you slept in and no... More 

Vaucluse, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
80 hotel reviews
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arrived at the hotel rather early (on a Monday) and knew my room wouldn't be ready, but at least I could do the check-in and leave my luggage to be looked after. Reception then called a taxi (which took about half an hour to arrive) to take me to Cleland Conservation Park. After I had spent a few hours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony B, General Manager at Mount Lofty House - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Hi lutzy What a delightful review of Mount Lofty house - thank you so much! Your experience with us is so like many other guests who stay with us, those looking for genuine rest in what is arguably one of the most beautiful locations in Australia, perched atop the Adelaide Hills overlooking the Piccadilly Valley. As you have experienced, our... More 

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
22 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Mount Lofty House is great for special occasions but it isn't cheap. There were two weddings on the day we arrived but the area is quite large and we didn't hear any disruptive noise. There's an old and a newer part to Mount Lofty House but it all blends beautifully. The room we had was large with a kingsize bed,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony B, General Manager at Mount Lofty House - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Hi gfsc5 I am delighted you enjoyed yourself at Mount Lofty House recently! Especially with your extensive travel around the world your kind comments only reinforce to us all here that we do have a magnificent property and afford our guests wonderful experiences. The blend of the original 1852 Heritage Wing with the newer Piccadilly Wing is truly superb, our... More 

Port Douglas, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our first trip to Adelaide and the Adelaide hills, we could not have been happier for deciding to book and indulge at the last minute. Our stay was touched with the finer things you would expect, the restaurant had a great atmosphere, very good food and the service was spot on. Our waiter recommend some great wines from the local... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Craig D, General Manager at Mount Lofty House - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear Time4RnR2day, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Mount Lofty House. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Our glorious location and property is certainly the perfect setting for a pleasant getaway. We are fortunate to be blessed with beautiful views of the Piccadilly Valley, offering guests the full breathtaking experience all throughout the... More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked with the Hotel for a Friday and Saturday night stay in mid March. We had been there before and been very happy but this time was just the opposite. No parking available on arrival as it seems there was a wedding on that weekend. Discovered that we had been put in the 'heritage wing' - turns old that name... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Craig D, General Manager at Mount Lofty House - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear Geoff G, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Mount Lofty House. We appreciate all feedback and endeavour to continually improve our product and the services we offer. Proudly situated in the picturesque Adelaide Hills, Mount Lofty House is a beautiful historic 163 year old building offering our guests a quality experience in every way. It... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a three day strategic planning retreat at Mt Lofty House. Upon arrival, we were meet by the staff who took care of our luggage so we could head straight into our scheduled sessions. Throughout the stay the staff were extremely attentive, the food exceptional and the views inspirational. Thank you to Craig and your team

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Craig D, General Manager at Mount Lofty House - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear Graham V, Thank you, we appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent Strategic Planning Retreat at Mount Lofty House. It is always a delight to receive such positive feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. Our dedicated team do work hard to ensure all our guests have a memorable and enjoyable... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question