We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Crafers hotels

Mount Lofty House

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   74 Mount Lofty Summit Rd, Crafers, South Australia 5152, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Mount Lofty House)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mount Lofty House to your Saves list
Mount Lofty House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
64%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Crafers
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
martyandbobbie
  • Overview
  • Reviews (70)
  • Photos (23)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (16)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    18
    8
    9
    5
See reviews for
10
39
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I took advantage of a travelzoo offer of one nights accommodation 3 course dinner and breakfast. It coincided with the winter reds which was a lovely surprise the dinning room and function room was buzzing with wine makers selling their product and offering tastings! There was a jazz band playing in the corner and plenty of good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our wedding on the tiered lawn was beautiful and the service and location superb. We booked all the rooms on the terrace ($299 each) + 3 downstairs and our bridal suite was free. Our family enjoyed their stay as a gift from us and I can't fault the rooms, location with a great breakfast. The Arthur Waterhouse Lounge and balcony... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed overnight for our wedding anniversary and it was perfect. Our room was spacious, beautifully decorated, clean and oh so quiet. We didn't hear anything from adjoining rooms. We had a balcony with spectacular views over the Adelaide hills. Our dinner in the restaurant was delicious as was breakfast. It was the perfect place for a romantic getaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig D, General Manager at Mount Lofty House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Mount Lofty House. We always love to receive positive feedback. We are very proud of our exceptional, historic property set in the tranquil surrounds of the beautiful Adelaide Hills. It is most certainly the perfect getaway for a relaxing and romantic time. Congratulations on your anniversary and we... More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Complimentary drink x 2 Prompt with luggage and drinks to room Dripping tap Lock on French doors difficult One used bathrobe in closet instead of two fresh ones No shampoo Shower floor tiles lifting Safe was locked in open position

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Craig D, General Manager at Mount Lofty House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Mount Lofty House. It is disappointing however to hear that your experience did not fully meet your expectations. We do have a monitoring system in place for the cleanliness and maintenance of our rooms and regularly receive positive feedback based on the room facilities and cleanliness; however our Housekeeping department... More

Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I took my husband away for overnight stay for his birthday, our room was upstairs, it was large and lovely with small balcony overlooking a beautiful valley. All common rooms in the hotel are open to guests, eg the library, billiard room etc, complete with crackling log fires and furnished beautifully with chesterfield lounges. The grounds are available to walk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig D, General Manager at Mount Lofty House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us at Mount Lofty House. We are always pleased to receive positive feedback. Mount Lofty House is certainly a beautiful property offering the very best in Adelaide hills luxury. We are very proud of our friendly and professional staff and the service we offer all our guests. It is... More

Adelaide
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Although the accommodation was oozing with old world charm and quite comfortable the bathrooms need updating. Our bath and toilet had a number of enamel chips and the brass tap ware was old and tired and dripped from the base when turned on. Although we enjoyed our overnight stay we did not feel that it is worth the prices charged... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Craig D, General Manager at Mount Lofty House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience at Mount Lofty House. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations and please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. It is always a disappointment when we become aware of a guest who has a less than satisfactory experience for any reason. Acknowledging... More

Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My wife & I dined at the restaurant on the upper level of the hotel (think it was called Hardy's Restaurant) for our wedding anniversary. The quality of the food was absolutely sensational. The service was friendly and efficient. No complaints at all. It can be a little pricey, but you definitely get what you pay for. We will go... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig D, General Manager at Mount Lofty House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent Wedding Anniversary dinner at Mount Lofty House. We love to receive such positive feedback. We are very proud of the incredible skills of our team of Chefs and our wonderful food and beverage personnel. The high standard we offer in our restaurants is in keeping with the... More

Ballarat, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

From the moment we walked through the door we were treated to the most amazing get away. The rooms are beautiful and true to heritage, all of the food was exquisite, the staffs were wonderful and so accommodating. The grounds that Mount Lofty House is on are so well maintained and serene. The buildings themselves are just superb and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig D, General Manager at Mount Lofty House, responded to this review

Thank you so much, we appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at Mount Lofty House. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We do pride ourselves on the experience of our guests being in ‘Our’ special and unique house and encourage guests to feel as if they were in their own home. Our glorious location and property... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mount Lofty House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mount Lofty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Lofty House

Address: 74 Mount Lofty Summit Rd, Crafers, South Australia 5152, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Mount Lofty House)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Crafers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mount Lofty House 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mount Lofty House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Mount Lofty House Hotel Crafers
Grand Mercure Mount Lofty Hotel
Mount Lofty House Adelaide Hills/Crafers, Australia

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grand Mercure Mt Lofty House is a country style boutique hotel in the Adelaide hills, on the fringe of South Australia's wine making region. Only 20 minutes drive from the centre of Adelaide, the hotel features 26 rooms, a restaurant specialising in local produce, a games lounge, swimming pool, tennis court and conference facilities for up to 70 delegates. The hotel is adjacent to Clealand Wildlife Park and Mt Lofty Botanic Gardens are also nearby. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
38

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer