We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast

6 Gordon Terrace | Dolphin Road, Beer, Seaton EX12 3EN, England (Formerly Holmesdale B&B)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    1
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (21)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
There are newer reviews for Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as recommended by friends and im glad I did , the owners couldn't do enough to help me from collecting me from station and taking my luggage to room and offering me a welcome cup of tea, room was clean and well decorated breakfast was just what I wanted . They even took me to local shops to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

thankyou for the lovely comments and look forward to seeing you again liz More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

thankyou for a great stay comments from other members are so untrue glad i did not listen to them as i really had a great time and enjoyed the area which is beautiful liz did everything to assist us and breakfast was lovely full english my wife had poached eggs lovely fresh and cooked just right please try this bnb... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

thankyou for the great comments and it was a pleasure to meet you , look forward to seeing you once again. liz More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The owner, Liz, is lovely and very chatty. But the B&B was poor, with unclean sheets, frayed used-to-be-white grey towels and horrible carpet in the bathroom. The room was incredibly cramped and claustrophobic and the furniture really needs updating. Breakfast was okay but it was obviously the cheapest products off the shelf. If visiting the area in future I will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

once again after so many years doing b and b , the worst thing i could have done was tripadvisor as you have people come along and want to stay in a palace for a paupers payment, if the room is for b and b then you sleep in the room, have breakfast and what you chose is your choice... More 

Spaxton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I`m not going to make my review sound like I am slagging the owners off from Ashdale B+B, I`m hoping that it is taken as a positive, and they try and sort it out. Its in such a fantastic location, but our experience wasn't good, my first impression was I could smell dogs and our room no 3 was so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

didnt stay here so another made up review More 

Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

well what can i say a wonderful little bnb in beer. i have stayed here a few times over the years and shall be comming back next year!!!!! rooms are a great size with all the extras you need.very quiet and peaceful with wonderful owners who can not do enough to help.i think the other negative comments are from other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

nice to see you again thanks for the positive comments and see you soon More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We have just had a 4 night visit to Ashdale which was very pleasant, Liz couldn't do enough to help us. A lovely trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

hi again neil thanks again for your input its a shame that there are so many idiots out there who write stupid comments but as you have been coming to stay with us for years we value your review and once again it was great to see you all , and also you have been to us again last week... More 

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Having stayed at your establishment in August 2011 was extremely surprised to see you are still there and trading under a new title namely Ashdale House B & B. Why the change, do you hope dissatisfied customers think you have left and new owners have taken over. Wish I had read the gentlemans from London's comments before we stayed, totally... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This has got to have been one of the worst B & B's that I have ever stayed in! A room with a tv that did not work because of the rain! A tolet door with no lock, not enough towels, no toiletries, sour milk, mould in the kettle and a very abusive landlady. Frankly we could not wait to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

firstly how you can commment on my establishment when you cant even write and spell properley is very clever, as i have been in this business for over 15 yrs and have never had someone like you stay is another bonus, how many towels does one need are you that desperate that 2 large bath towels plus hand towels are... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

The bed and breakfast was very clean and the owner was very friendly. The bedroom was clean but needed a very good make over and new beding,i would stay again if the was upgraded.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

thankyou for the comments, as the longest standing b&b owners in beer we believe in keeping our accomodation clean tidy affordable and no frills just a good honest bed and breakfast, as you have to accomodate many guests through the season items can get damaged and so its impractical to upgrade fixtures and fittings to every guest taste but our... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

A lovely experience. Great to have a parking permit for the large car park opposite. The B&B is eight next to the main street with outstanding pubs and restaurants. It is about a 500m walk to the beach which has good amenities. The rooms are functional and tidy if a little cramped. We had a compfy nights sleep every night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

thankyou for your comments and trust you will come an see us again in the future regards liz More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question