We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Beer B&Bs / inns

Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast

6 Gordon Terrace | Dolphin Road, Beer, Seaton EX12 3EN, England (Formerly Holmesdale B&B)
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (17)
  • Photos (6)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (2)
  • Location
  • More
Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 9 Beer B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beer
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Ernie and Liz made us feel very welcome. They went that extra mile by helping us to plan the rest of our holiday. Liz even took us to the shop to help us find a gift for a friend. You can't buy caring. Anna and Wendy

Was this review helpful? Yes
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

thanks for a great review and what a pleasure it was to meet you again wendy and this time to meet your daughter anna, cant believe its been 2 years how time flies, but im glad you enjoyed yourselfs and it was great just chatting and sharing things with you and hopefully the plans you made to visit places have... More

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed recently in the family room with our two children. The room was very small and barely enough room to walk around the bed. I agree with some of the other reviews the carpet was grubby and musty smelling, the towels and bedding are very old and our bathroom mat was dirty. An update is needed on the furniture... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of returning to Ashdale bed and breakfast for a 4 night break and have to say what a pleasant stay myself and my partner had. It was nice to see the owner Liz again and we found the accommodation, breakfast and service to be very good, just as we had found on our previous visit.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

thankyou for the great comments it was lovely to see you both again and to have a good old catchup on life , family etc, i trust your mother is improving and lifes a little easier , im glad you enjoyed your stay and i try to make everyone feel at home as you know , lets hope other people... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This B&B is the worst place I have ever stayed, how it is a business I will never know. Unfortunately we made the mistake of booking this for one night. The room was VERY small and It had a musty old smell to it. The carpet was dirty like it hadnt been hoovered for a while, the bed sheets were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

try checking these people out your find that they are great at staying in 2 places at once a marvelous thing to be able to do i wish i could do this as well as them also they are small minded and following there friends advice to have a go because the police have warned there other friends about communications... More

essex
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

smashing little bed and breakfast in a wonderful village ,what a pleasent stay i had as travelling on my own i was made to feel welcome and more a member of the family than a guest, clean tidy nice rooms, breakfast excellent set me up for the day ahead , ernie and liz couldnt have made my stay any better... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Apologies for the long review but it's a MUST READ!! I would definitely NOT recommend going to this B&B as the owners are extremely rude, aggressive and do not have the slightest bit of good customer service. (You can see this for yourself if you read other reviews and the reply from the owner). The rooms are disgusting, unclean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

nasty people and allround problems from threatening behaviour also getting there friends to do another bad review, the police are not happy as its a communications offence and we have constant comments and communication with honiton police and crime ref, now if we were in the wrong would we have called the police and they have had to deal with... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here as recommended by friends and im glad I did , the owners couldn't do enough to help me from collecting me from station and taking my luggage to room and offering me a welcome cup of tea, room was clean and well decorated breakfast was just what I wanted . They even took me to local shops to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

thankyou for the lovely comments and look forward to seeing you again liz More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

thankyou for a great stay comments from other members are so untrue glad i did not listen to them as i really had a great time and enjoyed the area which is beautiful liz did everything to assist us and breakfast was lovely full english my wife had poached eggs lovely fresh and cooked just right please try this bnb... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

thankyou for the great comments and it was a pleasure to meet you , look forward to seeing you once again. liz More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The owner, Liz, is lovely and very chatty. But the B&B was poor, with unclean sheets, frayed used-to-be-white grey towels and horrible carpet in the bathroom. The room was incredibly cramped and claustrophobic and the furniture really needs updating. Breakfast was okay but it was obviously the cheapest products off the shelf. If visiting the area in future I will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

once again after so many years doing b and b , the worst thing i could have done was tripadvisor as you have people come along and want to stay in a palace for a paupers payment, if the room is for b and b then you sleep in the room, have breakfast and what you chose is your choice... More

Spaxton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I`m not going to make my review sound like I am slagging the owners off from Ashdale B+B, I`m hoping that it is taken as a positive, and they try and sort it out. Its in such a fantastic location, but our experience wasn't good, my first impression was I could smell dogs and our room no 3 was so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

didnt stay here so another made up review More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 6 Gordon Terrace | Dolphin Road, Beer, Seaton EX12 3EN, England (Formerly Holmesdale B&B)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton > Beer
Also Known As:
Ashdale House Bed And Breakfast Beer, Devon

6 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)

Amenities

Free Parking Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
ashdale house bed and breakfast in Beer, East Devon is a family friendly guest house with 4 en-suite bedrooms catering for couples or families large and small, all rooms en-suite and with 14 years in the hospitality trade we aim to make yours a memorable and enjoyable stay and hope you return as many others do; ... more   less 
Number of rooms
3

See which rooms travelers prefer

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list