We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anchor Inn Beer

Certificate of Excellence
Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3ET, England
Hotel amenities
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 8 Beer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Lynda553 Southampton, United Kingdom
Share an Experience

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    45
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
92
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (140)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We had a great time. The room was small but perfectly adequate and a bit quirky as the bathroom was across the landing, not a problem, just felt a bit odd. The meal was lovely with a very pleasant wine. The breakfast made a very good start to the day!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review

Dear Guests, The Anchor team and I thank you for the kind words and we look forward to next anniversary visit. More 

Liphook
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An excellent small hotel for a break with our two adult children, an ideal location for exploring the Devon/Dorset Jurassic coast. The booking was easy with the help of friendly and helpful Pippa. The hotel is very pleasant, the décor is contemporary yet in keeping with the traditional Inn. The rooms are comfortable, all with a good sea view. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review, the team and I are so happy you enjoyed everything with your stay, and we will look forward to seeing the four of you again. Kind Regards Hannah, Jim and the team More 

Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

This is a charming hotel. Just 6 rooms all with a sea view. The staff were helpful and friendly. The food was excellent. Breakfasts just the ticket. Can definitely recommend this to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review the team and I are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to your next. Kind Regards Hannah Turberville DGM More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We have just returned from staying at The Anchor in Beer and had to write a review to say what a lovely time we had. We had a nice big room and though there was a slight problem with the room all the staff worked really hard to resolve this which we very grateful for, thank you. We ate in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, the team and I are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Anchor Inn and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards HTurberville DGM More 

Seaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

The Anchor has always been a favourite place for visitors and locals alike. Beer does'nt have an off time of year to visit the Anchor makes good use of this year round trade. In summer the Beer garden is wonderful, food has never disappointed and like estate agents say Location, Location, Location ensures the happiest of atmospheres greets everyone from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fantastic review, the team and I are so pleased you enjoy your visits with us and we will look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Hannah Turberville DGM More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

We had stayed at this harbourside inn for four consecutive years in January and it was cosy, comfortable and offered good food. Prices were realistic. This January we were very disappointed. Old English Inns have totally refurbished the place (obviously at some great expense), the prices have virtually doubled, the food was not good (obviously a nationally chosen menu when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay this time. I apologize that you did not see our fresh fish specials board, but I assure you our prices have not increased since last January and our new menu has proved extremely popular with locals and tourists alike. Thank you again and we... More 

Bodmin
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015 via mobile

We stayed with my brother and his wife on a b&b basis.Friendly and helpful staff. Room recently refurbished and although small was extremely comfortable and very clean. Nice view over coast from our room (4). Evening meal was very good and breakfast more than adequate. If you're looking for a comfortable and friendly stay in a nice location definitely one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review the team and I are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Hannah Turberville DGM More 

Axminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

My family & I had a lovely meal, we could not fault it. Our Steaks were cooked to perfection & quality was good. The majority of staff were good. We would recommend that you book as it is very popular.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review

Thank you for you review we are so glad you recommend us and we will look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Hannah Turberville DGM More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Had a great time here and cost peanuts. The only problem was me and my girlfriend both had some sort of allergic reaction from the room as we both had very itchy eyes and sneezing so I assume a cat or someone who owns a cat had been in the room. Apart from that it was perfect with great views... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am so sorry to hear about your allergic reaction, we don't allow pets in the hotel only the bar so we have been investigating the rooms to find out the source of the allergy. I am very glad you felt welcome and enjoyed the rest of your stay. Sorry again Kind Regards Hannah Turberville... More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
32 hotel reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Even on a wet cold January afternoon, the village of Beer holds a special charm. Calling into Tha Anchor for a late lunch completed the visit. A warm and comfortable recently refurbished lounge, with the best fish finger ( real home made fish fingers- not out of the freezer ) sandwich, served speedily with tasty accompaniments, wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, the team and I are so glad you enjoyed your fish finger sandwiches and we will look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Hannah Turberville DGM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question