We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 Hanga Roa B&Bs / inns

Atavai Pension

3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Avenida Pont, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 139, Chile
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Atavai Pension to your Saves list
Atavai Pension
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
78%
Ranked #11 of 24 Hanga Roa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Esekaia Sydney, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (121)
  • Photos (24)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    44
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
20
46
36
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When I booked, I was advised that there would be limited service during my stay. Considering what I paid, I was not too fussed. Compared to what you would pay at other places in the Island. Easter Island is an expensive place as you would expect for a place in the middle of the ocean far from everywhere else. But... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After booking, we got a message saying it was "low-service" because it was low season. This means: no breakfast, a closed restaurant and no room cleaning during your stay. So we were prepared for that. However, we got there and apparently "low-service" also means no towels. It also means being treated rudely when you have a question, and no toilet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelAtavai, Propietario at Atavai Pension, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado pasajero, Lamentamos su comentario y apreciación. Le escribo en español porque usted habla perfectamente este idioma. Al momento de... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel based on the reviews on here. I assume that the hotel runs better when the owners are here. The stand in kid who was running the place while I was there offered no services and was quite rude when asked. There were no towels, toilet paper on arrival and when asked says he didnt have any.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
atavai, Propietario at Atavai Pension, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado pasajero, Lamentamos su comentario y apreciación. Al momento de hacer su reserva, el sitio donde usted efectuó su reserva... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I was recommended this place by a friend from Tahiti and to be honest I wasn't impressed by the hospitality of the owners. It was service minimum, which is a shame because the reason why I went there is that I was expecting a more personalised experience than in a random hotel. The breakfast is not included and when you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
atavai, Propietario at Atavai Pension, responded to this review
Google Translation

Tres chere cliente, C est avec plaisir que nous avons accepte de vous recevoir sans aucun frais, lorsque vous aviez... More

Paris, France
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
106 hotel reviews
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Pros - Lolita and Antoine are friendly hosts and they can speak english, spanish and french - Wifi is not so bad compare to other places in easter island - Hot shower, hair dryer... - Very clean and confortable room. The cleaning is done every day. - Good deal with a car rental company Co ns - Far from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guayaquil
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Nice place. Friendly owner with some English, good French. Rooms clean, modern and comfortable. Breakfast was a roll and black coffee or tea so a bit of a disappointment there. Extras expensive but so is everything in Rapa Nui. Very helpful in organizing tours and a car rental. 20-30 minute walk outside town so at night flashlight a good idea.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tokyo
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

If you have a car or bike, the place is ok. But if not, it is too far away from everything. So if you plan to walk around in the town, pleases find your place there. Or I recommend you to stay there in the twon or very close to the town, if you have no any reason to stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

It started fairly well with the owner providing a lot of useful information and kindly ordered a car for us which was delivered to us at the hotel in the morning. Unfortunately and once we had paid for our 3-night stay it stopped there. Despite the fact that our flight was at midnight the check out was strictly at 10 am.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelAtavai, Propietario at Atavai Pension, responded to this review

Dear guest, I apologized to you about the toilets. You backed to our reception 10 hours after your check out, to recuperate your luggages and go to airport. At airport, there is public toilets, and we are very closer to this place. About our rooms, you thought that we had vacant, but it s not true, we were waiting for... More

Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The French owner is nice and helpful and offered transfer to and from the airport which we appreciated. The bungalows are very basic (very much like the cheap Southeast Asian style) and in no way justify the price - BUT on Easter Island everything is more expensive and thus I think Hotel Atavai is not a bad choice after all;... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is simple but confortable, it is located around 15 minutes by foot from the Hanga Roa center, but this is not a problem. The owners are fantastic and gave all brightness for the place: they are kind, generous, give you all hints do you need to get the best of the island. Breakfast is customized and its delivered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Atavai Pension, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Atavai Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atavai Pension

Address: Avenida Pont, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 139, Chile
Location: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atavai Pension 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Atavai Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atavai Pension Easter Island/Hanga Roa

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Atavai hotel is situated in the only village of Easter Island, Hanga Roa. It has 7 comfortable rooms with private bathroom with shower and toilet. Mobil internet access via pendrive. The hotel also has car parking for its guests. The hotel inform you about all the activities in the island. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer