We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Swan Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Burford Street, Lechlade GL7 3AP, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Old Swan Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015

Terrific ... we had a brilliant experience here. Cosy bar with excellent choice of beers and ales, Then we had the Friday steak meal in the restaurant - delicious - perfectly cooked with a very pleasant bottle of red wine. Quality was outstanding and value exceptional. The service was impeccable and the staff were friendly and went out of their... More 

Helpful?
Thank angelaM9919BK
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

I had a smaller room but was very comfortable and the bathroom was large with a tub and shower. Most comfortable bed and spotlessly clean. It's highly recommended and the full English breakfast is wonderful.

Helpful?
1 Thank slinky09
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

We went in March for a two night break. First night we were in a room to the rear, unfortunately there was a small issue with the lock to the room. We were offered a free upgrade to the four poster suite. We felt it was amazing, such an atmospheric room, yet with all mod cons. Bathrooms in both rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank rob b
CrownLechlade, Manager at The Old Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you had such lovely weekend. Please come and visit us again in the future. More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015 via mobile

On arrival staff were friendly enough, we were shown to our basic room. Our room was next to the laundry and was extremely noise. During our stay no fresh towels were given to us, several times we had to go down to the bar to request these,considering we stayed there three nights this is terrible. The general cleanliness of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte G
CrownLechlade, Manager at The Old Swan Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your stay was not up to the standards that you or I would expect. My wife and I have just taken over the management of The Swan with the aim of improving standards and allowing the pub to fulfil it's potential. Please consider us as an option next time you visit Lechlade, we would like... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015

This is a difficult place to rate. I would agree with much of what is put below. Service was very inconsistent, room not cleaned one day, the server at breakfast just disappeared for 30mins. But the place has a relaxed almost country feel to it. Pub below is decent for real ale. Noise through the night from trucks on main... More 

Helpful?
Thank ICC32
CrownLechlade, Manager at The Old Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you found some aspects of you visit disappointing. My wife and I have recently taken over the management of The Swan with the intention of making the small improvements that you mention. We hope you will take the opportunity to visit again and find we have been successful. More 

London, England
Level Contributor
141 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015

Nice spot for a Cotswold stay. Front facing rooms can be a little noisy due to trucks on the road. Cracked window panes in the 4-potter room not a problem in (late) Summer but could be an issue on cold nights. Hotel has pretty unimaginative standard food menus but probably need to eat out for something a little more adventurous.... More 

Helpful?
Thank yanhLondon_England
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015

Found this gem on late rooms, shouldn't really tell you all as once you find it we won't be able to book again, the staff are first class very friendly and helpful, Steve is a font of knowledge, the food is of excellent quality cooked to perfection and locally sourced. The sausages are fantastic and the ground beef burgers the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve C
CrownLechlade, Manager at The Old Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the lovely review, we are glad you had such a great time. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Swan in the future. More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

We have just spent 2 nights at The Swan Inn in the Marlborough Room. From the roadside The Swan Inn is an attractive pub set in a lovely part of the Cotswolds but inside its tired! Our room was above the pub, up a rather akward staircase (worse coming down). The Marlborough Room is a good size but really, really... More 

Helpful?
Thank daisyangell
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015 via mobile

We visited this beautifully quaint inn on the night of our wedding and I have to say it was an excellent experience. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff and we were made to feel more than welcome on our big day. We stayed in the Marlborough room which was beautifully rustic with it's four poster bed, log... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Clairebear5505
Lechlade, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2015

The waitress agreed that to wait an hour between first and main course was unacceptable, but because they were "busy". There were only 10 people in the restaurant, and we could see 3 eating in the bar, now, is that "busy" ? After all, we had waited at least 45 minutes to be served our starters, and also had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Georgeski
CrownLechlade, Manager at The Old Swan Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy you visit. My Wife and I have just taken over the management of The Swan with the intention of making improvements and allowing the pub to fulfil it's potential. We hope to welcome you again in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lechlade
5.4 mi away
Sudbury House
Sudbury House
#1 of 4 in Faringdon
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
9.7 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
4.5 of 5 stars 1,338 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fairford
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#5 of 10 in Lechlade
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riverside Lechlade
The Riverside Lechlade
#9 of 10 in Lechlade
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Five Alls
The Five Alls
#3 of 10 in Lechlade
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay