We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Prince of Wales

Dunkerton Hill, Peasedown St John BA2 8PF, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Prince of Wales
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a very friendly and well run property. The room was clean and all of the staff were very friendly and attentive. I enjoyed the traditional food in the restaurant. The owners made you feel at home.On first arriving i Bath, I was worried that the hotel was a long way away, but there are regular bus services from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colin57
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, and we are all glad that you enjoyed your stay with us whilst visiting your daughter. We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the UK Happy New Year More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015 via mobile

Have visited for Sunday roast, on quite a occasions since the Prince has reopened, and never had a bad meal. Thoroughly enjoyed the food and friendly staff. So glad to have a decent pub in the village.

Helpful?
1 Thank Redheadpsj
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments which shall be passed on to all my team. We look forward to seeing you soon More 

Bath
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015 via mobile

Murdered soggy vegetables. Microwaved beef. Soggy Yorkshire puddings. Gristle. Just truly terrible. Almost inedible. In fact if was so bad we were in hysterics. A shame though as it's a great location for us, sadly we won't be back.

Helpful?
Thank Steedie
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your lunch with us, its just a shame that you did not ask to see me on the day as it was myself in the kitchen, the waiter did however inform me of your comment regarding the microwaved beef, which I can assure you it wasn't. We have many good comments about... More 

Travelers are raving about these Peasedown St John hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015 via mobile

My sister and I stumbled across this hotel of a road trip heading to Bath. We were very pleasantly surprised, not only by the interior decor- recently refurbished, but also by the convenience of access to Bath without the hefty price tag. The hospitality of the new management was incredibly impressive. We asked in passing if they had decaf tea,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaBag
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night, very well greeted on entry. Showed us to our room and how to get back into the building. Very nice newly refurbed room with excellent shower facility's, and an awesome breakfast in the morning. Free juice and cereal along with a full English, think it was locally sourced produce.

Helpful?
3 Thank carnevale91
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and we all wish you a happy new year More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015 via mobile

Stayed for two nights to attend a family funeral in bath. Found rooms to be comfortable and clean. Excellent restaurant serving very good pub food. The pub is run by Gary and Terry who were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again. Bob Dovey

Helpful?
3 Thank Robert D
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

thank you for your kind review More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

My wife Marina & I enjoyed a Fabulous evening meal at the new Prince of Wales establishment! The hospitality and food was amazing, the steak cooked to perfection....... A great place to meet and enjoy good food and good ales! Very Impressed! Good luck to both Gary & Terry! Regards! Michael & Marina Felicetti

Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelFelicetti
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review Although Terry is no longer at the pub I am still here and still cooking ( what you call) amazing food regards Gary More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015

We couldn't book so arrived and waited ages to be served, The main meals were poor, lasagne was dry, accompanying salad had the end piece of a tomato. Meat for the steak and ale pie was not that tender, jacket potato tasted like it had been reheated and not fresh. Vegetables were tasteless. St clemets pudding had half a tin... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Angela L
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015 via mobile

A visit last night with my brother in law and wife. It's early days yet, but it looks like this place is finally getting it's act together. Regular opening hours are now being kept, there are two casque ales with a third one coming and it now features an unusual affectation, a Gin Bar. Twelve different brands of gin currently... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andress3
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Dreadful. Paid £50 extra just to leave the next morning as soon as I woke up cancelling any further nights in this place. Arrived in England & took train to Bath. Accommodation is not in Bath but in middle of nowhere & Agoda said this place had wifi - our room had no wifi we had to go down to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank traviiau
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peasedown St John
2.4 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
2.5 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#26 of 31 in Bath
3.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Centurion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Wheelwrights Arms
Wheelwrights Arms
#1 of 2 in Monkton Combe
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
1.2 mi away
King William Inn
King William Inn
#1 of 1 in Tunley
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay