We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Kenmore accommodations

Mains of Taymouth Cottages

4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Mains of Taymouth, Kenmore PH15 2HN, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mains of Taymouth Cottages to your Saves list
Mains of Taymouth Cottages
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
94%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
  • Overview
  • Reviews (252)
  • Photos (116)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (62)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    24
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
121
67
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at 4 The Gallops for 7 nights, the photos do not do it justice, the rooms are nice and spacious. Everything you could possible need, very high standard fixtures and fittings. The beds are like the best I have ever slept in, our holiday at Mains was an absolute pleasure. Just book it and enjoy, you will not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review

We’re delighted you enjoyed your holiday at 4 The Gallops and thank you for a lovely review especially concerning our beds. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming your party again. More

Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 10 days in White House fantastic lodge, great hot tub brilliant games room. Lodge fully equipped with everything you could possibly need for a great holiday, all your comforts catered for. Ideal place to stay for walking, cycling, golfing or just for a chill out break. Site shop stocked very well, great friendly staff. if you're going to Scotland... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for a brilliant review! Delighted you enjoyed your stay in the White House and many thanks for the recommendation. We hope you will visit us on your next trip. More

Henderson, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 3 weeks at the Mains of Taymouth. We could have stayed longer. In fact, we booked 4 weeks for next year! We live in sunny Nevada dessert, and the amazing summers in this location on Loch Tay is especially inviting. We enjoy the Gallops units because they are on one level. No climbing stairs for us. Our patio... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Sara & Danny, thank you for a lovely in depth review following your recent stay in 7 The Gallops. Delightful guests, we very much look forward to welcoming you back next Summer. Enjoy the rest of your trip!! With best wishes from Robin, Irena and the team. More

Miami, Florida
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in Weem for a wedding. We had been in Scotland five days prior, and thanks to United Airlines, had no luggage. We arrived at the Mains, and if it weren't for Nikki and Julie, we would likely have not obtained our luggage for the remaining four days of our trip, but thanks to their persistence, finally received our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Derek, thank you for your kind comments, the case of the missing luggage proved quite challenging and we were almost as pleased as you when it arrived!! That aside we’re glad you enjoyed your stay at Mains of Taymouth as well as the rest of your trip to Scotland and look forward to seeing you on your next visit! More

Falkirk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quality cottages with quality fittings and furnishings .Quirky wee golf course on site and fishing and water sports nearby. Lovely shop and courtyard and lounge bar on site to cater for all your needs.Most of all really friendly and welcoming reception staff which makes all the difference to your holiday. OH! And for the Wifi reception just sit outside on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review

We’re pleased you enjoyed your stay and thanks for taking the time to post a lovely review. We would like to assure all our guests that we are still working to improve the wi-fi situation and are meeting with BT in the near future to see how this can be achieved in our beautiful but rural location. Thanks again for... More

Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for first week of family holiday and were impressed by the quality of the accommodation (Maxwells 8) and beautful setting. Staff always pleasant and helpful, and the onsite deli stocked delicious and varied food - not overpriced for the standard and quality products (see previous reviews). Our son really enjoyed his first pony ride (thanks to the stable manager... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, we’re glad you enjoyed your stay at 8 Maxwells despite niggles with the wi-fi and a rather wide Fiona Bruce! We’re working on both in an effort to find a long term solution (the Courtyard wi-fi has been repaired) and hope this will not deter you from returning along with your budding jockey. Best wishes. More

Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a weekend as a family gathering (15 across 3 properties). Our accommodation was great, comfortable and stylish (although I did spot high cobwebs same as previous reviewer). Staff were all friendly and welcoming. Nice to have the dog along as well but wondered why mine was on a lead when staff dog wandered freely. Was advised on arrival... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your comprehensive review following your recent family gathering, we’re pleased you enjoyed the accommodation. Having recently upgraded our on site wi-fi to a satellite based system (hard wiring is extremely limited in this area) we were disappointed to find that it did not cope as well as expected with the volume of users requiring access at peak... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a Maxwell and while it is comfortable there are too many niggles for us to believe it is worth the huge price tag. A luxury accommodation should have towels which are fluffy - not look flat, the wifi is non-existent, tv reception poor, no washing up rack, no washing up brush (only a cloth - who can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your stay in the 5 Star Maxwells Villas. We’re sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay but if we may respond to the points raised:- Towels - We apologise that you did not receive the normal standard of towel on this occasion, this matter has been raised with our supplier. Wi-fi - the... More

Houston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful accommodation, great 9 hole golf course at £10 for unlimited day ticket, staff fantastic, beautiful scenery, superb on site facilities including deli, bar and great food. Have booked for next year already and may switch our Easter holiday to the same venue. Iain Aitken and family

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagerTaymouth, General Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review

What a wonderful review – thank you Aitken family! We’re pleased to offer our residents special rates on our golf course and glad you enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you back next summer, if not before. Thanks again. More

St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful holiday resort. Villas are beautiful with first class fittings and fixtures. Loved the balcony and terrace although bad weather prevented us utilising them fully . Lovely views of the golf course and hills. Good food in restaurant although the service was slow and chaotic. Enjoyed the tablet!....nice touch. Can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerTaymouth, General Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review, we’re delighted you enjoyed the Villa as well as our restaurant. As for the restaurant service, we’re working on it and thank you for being so understanding. We look forward to your next visit. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mains of Taymouth Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mains of Taymouth Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mains of Taymouth Cottages

Address: Mains of Taymouth, Kenmore PH15 2HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mains of Taymouth Cottages 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Mains of Taymouth Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Hotel Kenmore
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Kenmore, Scotland

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
5:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a 120 acre private country estate set in magnificent Highland Perthshire with stunning self catering properties sleeping from 2 to 12, many with hot tubs, saunas and games rooms, all at either a high 4* or 5* STB standard. Our excellent onsite facilities include our own golf course, riding stables, delicatessen & gift shop and cafe bar & restaurant all within walking distance from each property. Stunning views, tourist attractions & much more! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
6

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mains of Taymouth Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer