We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crab & Lobster Inn

32 Foreland Fields Road, Bembridge, England
The Crab & Lobster Inn
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    39
    27
    24
    18
See reviews for
40
65
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (160)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Crystal Cove, Barbados
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is the second time we have eaten at this restaurant, it has great views and a warm and welcoming atmosphere, the staff are very friendly and the service is good, we live on the mainland but when we come over like to treat my parents (who retired to the island over 20 years ago) to a meal out .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The food was nice but not amazing and for the price we expected 'Wow'. The kids liked their pizza squares though again they were expensive for what they were. The honeycomb toffee banana Eton mess sounded so wonderful but was a bit disappointing as it was more salted caramel, banana and chocolate sauce which was a strange combination and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am so sorry to hear you feel that our pub is expensive but I would like to reassure you that we are priced competitively within our market sector. Thank you for your comments, and I do hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the pub in... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good food little expensive don't go for asparagus ravioli as only 5 parcels at over £2 per parcel!!! The chips were the best! General portion sizes were excellent location would be great on a sunny day sitting outside in the garden overlooking the sea.walks along the sea edge after dinner/lunch nice

Was this review helpful? Yes
Qt61, Owner at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments i shall personally look into the ravioli portion size as it clearly needs to be reviewed, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

This is our second stay at this lovely pub and as ever the staff were friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble.our room was warm and comfy and clean. We ate here all three nights and every meal was a delight. Breakfast was delicious and we can't wait to come back. We shall return soon to stay in Ledge again.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Qt61, Owner at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015 via mobile

Came here expecting really nice food but was very disappointed. First of all we both had crab and prawn cocktail but we expected crab meat not legs of the crab.The prawns were frozen and full of water. Our main meal was steak which I asked for medium and when it came it was swimming in blood so my peas and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

We had a very enjoyable stay here on New Years Eve . We stayed in the Nab room, very well presented, full of character and superb views across the Channel/Solent. Staff very pleasant and helpful and had a delicious steak dinner. Comfortable Bar/Restaurant, ideal for families or couples. Breakfast was excellent. Perfect location for walks or exploring the island. Paul... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Qt61, Owner at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review its much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Cobham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

Look, I am 70 years old and have spent more lunches and dinners at "pubs" throughout the UK than my liver and stomach should have not been put through. I think I know what is a good pub and that does not mean it has to have more "local" beers than can be tasted in a lifetime. It is rated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Qt61, Owner at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

So sorry for the delay in replying to your extremely entertaining review, there are many times I wish that customers would remember that we are a public house and not a restaurant, but what we must remember is that for the few rather scathing reviews are hugely outweighed by the happy customers sadly not like yourself they don't feel the... More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014 via mobile

Ate here for lunch on a Sunday. The food quality was very good.. There were 6 of us and all our meals were lovely apart from my Dads fish pie. It was very bland - could of done with something! Service was good and a good location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
crabandlobster, General Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We glad you enjoyed your visit and welcome your comments on the fish pie, we are constantly trying to improve our customer experience and will look into improving our recipe. Many thanks More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Very poor service after ordering our starters and a child's meal we then decided to order our main meals which no one came to take our order or even clean our table from the starters which is not the blame of the waitress she was run off her feet but the guy helping her was hiding and on his mobile... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
crabandlobster, General Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am sorry to hear that on this occasion your experience was not a good one, however we are constantly trying to improve our service and respond to customer feedback . On this occasion we failed to meet our high standards and hope that in the future you have a more enjoyable experience Many thanks More 

Brockham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

We enjoyed our meal and was impressed with the children's menu and the activity sheet that was provided although there was a lack of pencils etc. The food was well presented and the service was quite good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
crabandlobster, General Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review .We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Unfortunately we did not provide crayons for your children on this occasion which we keep behind the bar apologies for that Many thanks More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question