We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Bembridge B&Bs / inns

The Crab & Lobster Inn

Save
You added The Crab & Lobster Inn to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   32 Foreland Fields Road, Bembridge, England
Hotel amenities
The Crab & Lobster Inn
Ranked #9 of 9 Bembridge B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bembridge
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    37
    26
    24
    18
See reviews for
37
64
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (156)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here expecting really nice food but was very disappointed. First of all we both had crab and prawn cocktail but we expected crab meat not legs of the crab.The prawns were frozen and full of water. Our main meal was steak which I asked for medium and when it came it was swimming in blood so my peas and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

We had a very enjoyable stay here on New Years Eve . We stayed in the Nab room, very well presented, full of character and superb views across the Channel/Solent. Staff very pleasant and helpful and had a delicious steak dinner. Comfortable Bar/Restaurant, ideal for families or couples. Breakfast was excellent. Perfect location for walks or exploring the island. Paul... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Qt61, Owner at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review its much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Cobham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

Look, I am 70 years old and have spent more lunches and dinners at "pubs" throughout the UK than my liver and stomach should have not been put through. I think I know what is a good pub and that does not mean it has to have more "local" beers than can be tasted in a lifetime. It is rated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Qt61, Owner at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

So sorry for the delay in replying to your extremely entertaining review, there are many times I wish that customers would remember that we are a public house and not a restaurant, but what we must remember is that for the few rather scathing reviews are hugely outweighed by the happy customers sadly not like yourself they don't feel the... More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014 via mobile

Ate here for lunch on a Sunday. The food quality was very good.. There were 6 of us and all our meals were lovely apart from my Dads fish pie. It was very bland - could of done with something! Service was good and a good location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
crabandlobster, General Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We glad you enjoyed your visit and welcome your comments on the fish pie, we are constantly trying to improve our customer experience and will look into improving our recipe. Many thanks More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Very poor service after ordering our starters and a child's meal we then decided to order our main meals which no one came to take our order or even clean our table from the starters which is not the blame of the waitress she was run off her feet but the guy helping her was hiding and on his mobile... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
crabandlobster, General Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am sorry to hear that on this occasion your experience was not a good one, however we are constantly trying to improve our service and respond to customer feedback . On this occasion we failed to meet our high standards and hope that in the future you have a more enjoyable experience Many thanks More 

Brockham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

We enjoyed our meal and was impressed with the children's menu and the activity sheet that was provided although there was a lack of pencils etc. The food was well presented and the service was quite good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
crabandlobster, General Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review .We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Unfortunately we did not provide crayons for your children on this occasion which we keep behind the bar apologies for that Many thanks More 

Norwich
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We stopped here on a whim one night whilst on holiday. We were lucky to get a table on the terrace as the restaurant was very busy. Great views out to see and my husband loved watching the ships. The food was nice - we chose the crab and prawn timbale and baked crab to start which were delicious. For... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
crabandlobster, General Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Yes the views are quite special Many thanks More 

Daventry, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Came here for my partners birthday as he loves this pub, the food was good and came rather speedily only slight disappointment was I really wanted a candle put in his dessert as a surprise but im assuming as this wasn't done they did not have one but as for the whole experience that was the only negative thing! Beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
crabandlobster, General Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am pleased that you enjoyed your birthday meal with us and apologise for not having any candles, however we have addressed this matter and hope that in the future we fulfil your requirements Many thanks More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

The seafood is nice here but not outstanding. The staff are disorganised and there are long queues which the service set up only helps to exacerbate. There is a lot of the menu and they seem to be trading on past glory. Plus it is very expensive for a pub in the middle of no where.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
crabandlobster, General Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am sorry to hear you were not totally satisfied with your visit ,however we continue to seek improvements to both food standards and service and welcome your comments . We are a very busy place and due to this it is inevitable that delays are going to happen and we advise customers of these... More 

Hythe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We stayed for a weekend and will never return again. From the time we booked in to the hotel we realised we had made a mistake staying here. The service from booking in until checking out was diabolical, This really is a case of taking your money and running. The restaurant was booked even though we were not informed of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
crabandlobster, General Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy you time with us and can only apologise .However when booking you should have noticed that we are a pub with B&B rooms not a hotel, with that in mind though you still expect a certain level of service . When booking you will of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Crab & Lobster Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crab & Lobster Inn

Address: 32 Foreland Fields Road, Bembridge, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Bembridge
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crab & Lobster Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Crab And Lobster Inn
The Crab & Lobster Hotel Bembridge
The Crab & Lobster Inn Bembridge, Isle Of Wight

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay