We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alumbung Tropical Living

Certificate of Excellence
Daorong Danao, 6340, Philippines
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alumbung Tropical Living
Professional photos View all
Alumbung Tropical Living
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    34
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
55
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (129)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sylvie and Roberto were great and I had high hopes for our stay. I was warned that the beach was 600 meters away, resort is off the beaten path and that there was no restaurant on premises. Their beautiful, rustic, "Grass hut" secluded establishment would have been great for myself and my wife, in-which we are both 50ish and fit.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
alumbungbohol, Owner at Alumbung Tropical Living, responded to this review

Dear Robert, It was a shame that you did not stay for the 3 nights. As you said I had told you about the walk to the beach etc....but your father in law seemed so happy with the garden, native cottages etc.... and I enjoyed talking to him, maybe your decision to move was also partly due to the 2... More 

Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A big thumbs up to Sylvie, Roberto and the girls for looking after me. After a minor hiccup at Cebu airport I arrived a day late after prebooking for 7 nights in their little hut. On arrival, they had upgraded me to the two-storey villa which was great. The pre-ordered breakfasts were superb and were served just outside your room/villa.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in Alumbung for 2 nights and would have loved to have stayed longer. The staff were so friendly and the accommodation is very clean and comfortable. Lots of info supplied on what to do and where to go if you don't know the area which was extremely helpfully. Will be returning for a longer stay next time. Enjoy

Was this review helpful? Yes
Panglao Island, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For me this is the perfect escape from a busy working life at sea. It happens to be that the owners, Sylvie and Roberto both worked at sea on a cruise liner as well and they have created that oasis of peace that people like us need after a busy season. I've been at Alumbung twice before and for sure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
alumbungbohol, Owner at Alumbung Tropical Living, responded to this review

Dear Kirsten, it is always nice to see you and glad you enjoyed your stay at Alumbung again. Looking forward to having here on your next leave from work. Sylvie and Roberto More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our last stop on our Philippines trip and we were really disappointed that we ended it here. The compound itself was pretty but the atmosphere was cold and unfriendly, we felt like unwanted house guests! The general staff went through the usual pleasantries to a point but with a lot less sincerity than anywhere else we had stayed,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
alumbungbohol, Owner at Alumbung Tropical Living, responded to this review

Dear Allwhowander125, I just read your review of our place and we really feel saddened that this is the feeling you had during your stay and wanted to apologize about the fact you did not feel welcome here, the insects and all the rest. Our long time staff, Julie, checked you in and welcomed you and has never upset anyone... More 

Surrey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

All the accommodation was in individual cottages catering for all types of traveller, ranging from backpackers to families and older couples. Breakfast was served on the veranda and there are many excellent restaurants within easy access. Sylvia & Roberto made our stay very memorable, offering helpful advice for local activities and tours.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chorwon, Kangwon-do, North Korea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

The room was gorgeous; the atmosphere was lovely; the staff were so helpful, friendly and accomodating; the information, activities and tours provided was extensive; and the breakfasts were delicious. Plus, the location, only slightly away from the busy Alona Beach, was perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Alumbung is an excellent little find. In a country where decent service is a rare thing, Sylvie and Roberto's personal touch excelled at making our stay as comfortable and seamless as possible. We had booked a package stay for 4 nights. It was so nice to have breakfasts delivered outside our Bali hut in the mornings. The tours were good,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
alumbungbohol, Owner at Alumbung Tropical Living, responded to this review

Hello Nick, Thanks a lot for the kind words, glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry for the Mag-Aso fall trip but it was only closed because of the heavy rain this area had experienced the day before. Hope to see you again one day in Alumbung, Sylvie and Roberto More 

Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Alumbung was the first place we stayed on the Philippines and I am very glad we did. We booked one of the cottages and it was cute and what we expected for the price. Roberto was always there and very helpful. You can order breakfast the night before and they serve it to the cottage the next morning, something we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
alumbungbohol, Owner at Alumbung Tropical Living, responded to this review

Hello Regina and thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Alumbung and we hope you will choose to stay with us again if you ever come back to Bohol. Salamat Sylvie and Roberto More 

Wexford, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

We spent 3 nights from Christmas Eve with in charming Alumbung. Sylvie and her family looked after us well, arranging an airport pick up and booking a Christmas Eve buffet in a local hotel. They introduced us to Habal Habal, the best way to get around and gave great recommendations on where to go, what to do etc. They were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (111)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question