We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Catherine Hotel

708 Crescent Avenue, Catalina Island, CA
Catherine Hotel
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    2
    2
    15
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (25)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel is now closed, purchased by the Catalina Conservancy for a tourist center. I stayed at the hotel several years ago and I am not sad that it is closed. The rooms were small and the trash trucks started here at 5:30 AM every morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Pedro, Ca
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Bed sheets on the windows. Place is falling apart. Spent half an hour making it sleepable. This place is for locals and is worth about $35.00 a night but they charged $150. Please do not stay here for any reason.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13

Travelers are raving about these Catalina Island hotels

Culver City, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

I recently paid a visit to the Catherine Hotel Bar with my mum and we had a great time! The Barman John made us really welcome and although we can't comment on the hotel, I would recommend this bar if you are looking for a pub type low-key setting for a drink in a fun atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Sacramento, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

It was taco and margarita tuesday. The place smelled. We waited for one half hour for 2 tacos. The shrimp smelled rotten so I couldn't eat it. The margaritas were disgusting. The service was horrible. I would hate to stay at the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Orange, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had 5 rooms at the Catherine Hotel for a Bachelor Party. We had an amazing time and the Catherine Hotel is exactly what we wanted. It was cheap, perfect location, staff was cool, bar & restaurant downstairs with the cheapest coldest beer in Catalina. If you're looking for a cheaper place to crash and not be hassled by security,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Los Angeles, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

the hotel is falling apart. its dirty,bed full of stains,mini blinds broken,bathroom shower has a lot of mildew, bed has no support,no table,no dresser,no chairs,the light fan made a hell of a lot of noise. very small and hot,no TV no radio and no alarm clock.overall nasty dirty. when problems brought to managements attention she said theirs only so much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Denise K, Manager at Catherine Hotel, responded to this review

I apologize if you did not find our hotel up to your standards. Upon making the reservations every caller is informed its a basic room and a bath with limited amenities. I take pride in our rooms. Yes its an older hotel and rooms are small but the price is right. When you arrived at the hotel you asked to... More 

los angeles, California, USA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

My friends and I came to Catalina Island wanting to only stay one night. Most hotels out there require a minimum of 2 nights---thus this instantly narrowed our choices. The Catherine, The Catalina Beach House and the Mac Rae were basically our only 3 choices.. given that the Beach House and Mac Rae were completely booked-- we decided to just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

This has been the only place I have stayed in Catalina but I love it. The hotel is run down and "ghetto" but I would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Los Angeles
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

We originally found The Catherine in 2003...it was not in great shape but the price was good and we had a great view of the harbor. We stayed there again when we got married in Catalina in 2005 and a few other times between '03 and '05. In '05 we noticed things were not as good as the previous trips... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
new jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

This place has to be a joke. Upon arrival at noon, the hotel was locked. We found a woman who asked us 3 times if we did, in fact, have a reservation. I now know why she was so surprised. Our hotel room had no lock on the door, multiple holes in the walls, mold in the shower, stains on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question