We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Rendez-Vous Hostal Guesthouse

Certificate of Excellence
Diego Vaca de Vega 06-43, Vilcabamba, Ecuador
Hotel amenities
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vilcabamba
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Le Rendez-Vous Hostal Guesthouse
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
  • Mar-May only
  • Jun-Aug only
  • Sep-Nov only
  • Dec-Feb only
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everyone was friendly and helpful. Room was clean with king sized bed and shared bath. Receptionist treated us like family. Very good value and within walking distance of downtown. Would stay there again if visiting Vilcabamba. It feels so private and the gorgeous gardens enhance the ambience. Breakfast included and good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great value for a comfy room with a shared bath. Although I'm not a fan of the lack of a private bath, we were not crowded and the shower is in a separate room from the "necessary." No waiting for the "facilities." :) My only quibble is the miniscule included breakfast. We hungry gringos like a bit more grub without... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

What was not to like. Friendly check in, good wi-fi, tranquil garden setting, comfortable bed, reasonable shower & basic breakfast offered free. We got there just before 8pm and if we were any later, I don't think we would have got in. The hostel is quite secure and all on ground floor inside walled compound.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

We enjoyed our week here very much. The room was attractive and had a high ceiling. While not large, it was big enough and there was sufficient furniture on which to put things out. The bed was fairly comfortable for sleeping but not so good for sitting and leaning against the headboard; another pillow would have helped. Each room had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Loved this place....pretty much everything you could want for the price. Nice, big and clean rooms....friendly host and great location. Nice grounds and good wifi. We would stay here again for sure if we came back into town.... Breakfast was nice as well if you pay the extra $.50 for eggs

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mancora, Peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

I have been staying at Le Rendezvous for over a month, from the end of February to April 5th. In this time, I have heard no mention nor have I seen any evidence of bedbugs. My feeling is that, for whatever reason, the previous review complaining of bedbugs was motivated by malice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

A very charming place at a very reasonable price. However none of this matters in any way. Bedbugs. This hostel left me in agony for the next week and at the end of the day, this is all I will take away from it. If you stay there, remember my warning. You will suffer the same fate as I did.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hostal l, Owner at Le Rendez-Vous Hostal Guesthouse, responded to this review

When did you stay? How long ? Which room/bed? Hi, Thank you for the review. Please tell me why you didn't say anything while you were here? This would help to remedies the problem at the Present Moment, so nobody will suffer. Which part of you body was bittten? Where you bitten by insects before you arrived at RDV? Did... More 

Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Upon walking into Le Rendez-Vous, you are instantly transported into a world of beautiful gardens, tranquility, and wonderful views. The park-like interior is exquisite, with meticulously cared for plants of many tropical varieties. Our room was good size, with a comfortable bed. The location on the edge of Vilcabamba is excellent. A short 5 minute walk to the town square... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
139 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014 via mobile

we Stayed for 3 nights and Loved this Place ! Very clean, quite and a Lush tropical Garden in The middle. The host was very Friendly and Helpful. The Room was spacious and spotless clean. Breakfast was very good and filling. Great value for money. Would Return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
92 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

This is truly a lovely place to stay for an affordable price. Pros:- Close to the centre (indeed Vilcabamba is quite small) Owner (French) is very friendly and speaks good English Breakfast is good The garden inside the hostel is a REALLY transquilo place where you can spend the whole afternoon there easily Price is affordable, the private room with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (66)
Hotel & grounds (26)
Room/suite (4)
View from room (12)
Pool/beach area (1)
Dining (3)
Family/play areas (2)
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (5)
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilcabamba
1.1 mi away
Madre Tierra Resort & Spa
Madre Tierra Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Vilcabamba
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
18.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Loja
18.4 mi away
Grand Victoria Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Hotel Podocarpus
Hotel Podocarpus
#4 of 11 in Loja
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
18.1 mi away
Zamorano Real Hotel
Zamorano Real Hotel
#6 of 11 in Loja
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hosteria El Paraiso
Hosteria El Paraiso
#3 of 8 in Vilcabamba
4.5 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question