We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Haweswater Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Lakeside Road | nr Penrith, Bampton, Penrith CA10 2RP, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haweswater Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Haweswater Hotel
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    160
    45
    22
    27
See reviews for
17
319
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (432)
  • Mar-May only
    (137)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (110)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (110)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
Wakefield UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Haweswater Hotel couldn't be in a better location on the edge of the lake. It's also in an ideal location for a base to do some of the best walks in the Lakes. The atmosphere at the hotel is relaxed and the staff are friendly and helpful. Yes the hotel is a little tired but it is very clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Liverpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I visited the Hotel to celebrate our 46th wedding anniversary. I have mobility problems so we have to remain in the UK. It is 'going back in time'. The Hotel decor is 1930s. Due to my age I can recognise both the furniture and the decoration. It is wonderful to see this and despite the age it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

me & my other half like to come here for a light lunch & coffee. its always warm & welcoming & the staff are helpful & always polite. we could sit & watch the wildlife out the windows all day. beautiful place in a beautiful location. highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leeds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had three nights at this lovely, unique and individual hotel. Small and friendly with all the amenities we could want. The location is outstanding - overlooking the lake and mountains. The staff were very friendly, helpful and professional and could not do enough for us. We found it to be very clean and have no complaints at all. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here on Sunday 10 May for one night.. Got to the hotel and it was nothing like the pictures the bedroom had no TV or no jacuzzi in the bath so went and complained the guy to be fair was friendly and helped he said we would have to come back another night if we wanted this room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
HaweswaterHotel, Owner at Haweswater Hotel, responded to this review

Kathryn, many thanks for your review - especially for pointing out that 'everyone else there said they loved there (sic) experience'. We are of course sorry that you did not feel the same way. The original room you booked was one of our 'Standard' rooms which we acknowledge are quite basic (and therefore cheap) - and we clearly state as... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were looking for a quiet countryside break in the Lake District and this hotel really fits that bill. The hotel is situated alongside a reservoir with a single road that runs along one side of the water. At one end is the dam and the other end a small car park accessing great walks, The hotel is the only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for one night and were really pleased with all aspects of the stay. Every member of staff we spoke to was friendly and very helpful. Our room had a gorgeous view of the water and I woke up to a cheeky red squirrel sitting on our windowsill. We had dinner in the restaurant and were pleasantly surprised at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I along with our dog stayed at the hotel for one night on Saturday 25th April following a walk around the Haweswater Resevoir. From the moment we arrived until the time we left we were treat royally by all the staff we had the pleasure to meet. The food on the evening and at breakfast were first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our second visit to the hotel through a two -night Amazon deal. Our room (Mardale) had stunning views of the lake made all the better by the sunny weather. Staff were excellent-welcoming, efficient and always pleasant. Food was also very good and quite reasonably priced overall. Our room had a Jacuzzi bath with a second TV but was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Haweswater hotel from 21/4 till 23/4 2015. Great hotel, really helpful and friendly staff. Food was beautiful and scenery was just stunning. Would definatly recommend this hotel and will definatly be coming back. The only downfall was building work going on at the hotel which started at 8.15am most mornings right outside our window which did wake... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

241 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (213)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (82)
Viewed
View from room (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities