We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coffee Shack Backpackers

Certificate of Excellence
on the beach | Bomvu River Mouth, Coffee Bay 5082, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Coffee Shack Backpackers
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
simon b London, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    135
    38
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
50
42
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (192)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly staff, social and lively bar, great food. Im sure as everyone has put, the surfing lessons are so cheap its worth going a few times. Would have happily stayed much longer and will go back again if Im nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very interesting place!!!! We stayed in the King's House..self catering.Beautiful scenery..Meals at the Coffee Shack very good. Met lots of interesting people from all over the world.I highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although we did not stay at the Coffee Shack we went on the beach day for surfing lessons. What great fun we had. Really professional, helpful and friendly instructors. And the toasties made on the fire was very nice. Thanks guys....we are already planning more lessons when at a beach again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

Coffee Shack is such an amazing place. Accommodation is just great, very clean, spacious and comfortable. Dinners are excellent and activities are very good fun, and the whole thing for pretty cheap! It's a great place to party and mingle with the locals, or just relax. Such a special place! No wonder why people come back or just stay there!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Coffee Shack was beautiful. I was intrigued by the river we had to cross on our way there ...Yey adventure on arrival ... I just loved it:) The reception was willing to assist all the time and I just fell in love with the laid back vibe there and everyone (including guests) just seemed to adapt to it immediately when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Howzit Yotando Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and great to hear that you had a fabulous time with us. Yes, winter is our best time of the year, certainly my favourite, perfect blue skies day after day, little wind, no rain (4mm per month), great waves and nice pleasant temperature, around 24C, so... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Coffee Shack is an awesome stop over in Coffee Bay, which boasts a cool village-like feel with many interesting places to visit just a short walk from each other. The staff at Coffee Shack are organised and friendly, and really make you feel at home. I thoroughly enjoyed chatting to Khotso at the bar until the wee hours of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Howzit Neil & Amapondo crew Thank you very much for taking your time to review Coffee Shack, and glad to hear that you had a great time. Hopefully next time you can stay a little longer. Safe travels and hope to see you again soon. Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

I recently returned from a roadtrip with my best friend and Coffee Shack was one of our stops. We were only going to stay for two nights as we were already in the middle of our trip and pushed for time but we decided that we absolutely HAD to stay one more night. Belinda and her team were great, friendly,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Howzit Nadia Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, but more importantly it makes us all extremely happy to hear that you had a fabulous experience at Coffee Shack. We do think that Coffee Shack offers a good value for money experience, even for us lucky people who live in South Africa, and as you... More 

Vienna
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Coffe bay itself and the coffee shack as well are unfortunately both overrated. Not really good value for money, nor very friendly, nor amazing landscapes (with the clear exception of the walk to the hole in the wall which was spectacular). We had a private hut and those are further away from the main building - on the one hand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Thank you very much for taking your time to review Coffee Shack, but I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We would really appreciate it if you took the time to please email me personally, regarding the unfriendly staff members and any other comments you would like to add. You can email... More 

Wilderness, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

We were a group of 4 doing an annual Marketing trip, camping our way up the East coast of South Africa. The Coffee Shack is by far the most well run and very well organised establishment that we visited and an absolute must for anyone travelling through this beautiful country. From the exquisite campsite on the river mouth/beach to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Ahoy Team Cocomo Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, thanks you also for the great review. Send our regards to Cobus and Rudolf, safe travels and we hope to see you again soon. Remember when it gets a little chilly down south, it is the best time of year weather wise at Coffee Shack.... More 

Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015 via mobile

Decided to stop in Coffee Bay on a roadtrip from Durban to Cape Town and this was the most recommended hostel. As soon as we arrived, I understood why; we had the warmest welcome ever. We were shown around the hostel and its premises, offered a free drink and free dinner. The bar/lounge area looked like we were in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and great to hear that you enjoyed the Coffee Shack welcome and experience. Sunday nights is most guests’ favourite dinner, because it is FREE for guests. Safe travels and hope to see you again soon. Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Near Coffee Shack Backpackers

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay