We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort

3.0 of 5 Crown Point, Tobago
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    167
    93
    62
    115
See reviews for
130
193
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (525)
  • Mar-May only
    (115)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (148)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (153)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (109)
All months
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our holiday to Tobago was lovely and the hotel we picked (Tropikist) gave us what we needed, clean rooms, close to basically everything, ok breakfast, great view and lovely staff. Especially Linda who were our own personal guide, if we were looking for help, advice, she always had answers and happily helped us, so thank you. If your going, make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your positive comments and we are delighted that you had a two weeks with us at Tropikist. The Superior and Deluxe rooms are indeed bigger and offer full sea views - we do highly recommend this upgrade. Waking in the morning too see the sea and sun shining is a daily pleasure for our guests.... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Worst hotel stay ever! Checked in & was told we had no tv so to compensate we were given complimentary lunch & dinner which we thought was ok until we ate dinner that night. Food options were not great when we finally made a choice we were both quote disappointed when the food arrived. The next day was worse breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Chelly We are sorry to hear you feel Tropikist to be the worst ever hotel. We apologise unreservedly for the lack of a TV and the broken toilet handle. Eggs should always be cooked properly. If you had mentioned the undercooked omelette, the chef could have prepared a new one for you. If anything is not to guests satisfaction... More 

Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for the week before Carnival because it was more affordable than other local hotels at this time of year. We were pleased with the hotel all round, quiet and relaxing atmosphere. The pool, grounds and room were all kept very clean. The breakfast offers coffee, toast, fruit and a selection of warm/cooked meats, beans, eggs etc so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive thoughts following your recent stay with us. We are ideally located with access to a selection of local restaurants and bars so getting out and about is indeed easy. Sunsets are fab especially with a cold something in the hand! We are hoping to boast the WiFi to reach into the bedrooms but... More 

North West England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Trpoikist Beach Hotel on the 13th January 2015 for one week and I must say that this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The hotel building is very tired and in need of some building work to bring it up to a good standard. This is not an all inclusive hotel, it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Joe We are very disappointed that you feel Tropikist to be the "worst hotel in Tobago". When you view other reviews posted by guests who stayed at a similar time to you, we are not sure convinced your assessment stands up to scrutiny. The hotel is a 3 star beachfront hotel offering exceptional value whether on B&B or the... More 

Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Tropikist for one week in mid-Jan 2015. The room was adequate and housekeeping services quite good. The resort is clean and gardening is well done. The bar area is open-air under thatched roof - good tropical atmosphere. That's the good stuff. The room and the buildings in general need that extra touch of care - plumbing under... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jack - many thanks for posting your recent review. We are sorry the food during your stay did not meet your expectations and has resulted in your low score for the hotel. Our food scores are usually quite high - your comments about pricing and poor quality have been passed onto the Food & Beverage team. There is constant... More 

Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

My boyfriend (originally from Trinidad) and I stayed here for 2 days at the beginning of our week + trip to T&T. We were really looking forward to some sunshine & relaxation away from NYC. Upon check-in at 8pm, we were told that our deluxe, ocean-front room was still occupied by some flight-delayed guests. After a long day of travel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive comments following your stay at Tropikist. It sounds like you guys had a really fun time. The island of Tobago has much to offer and we are delighted you made Tropikist your home during your time on island. Please come back again - we are waiting to serve you again! More 

Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

I visited the hotel in November didn't know what to expect but my friends recommended that i stay at this hotel .so i book my stay now i'm in a place away from my home and family all alone not knowing who and what i will meet. i arrived at the hotel in the evening hours little before dinner. the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Hi Tisha - so pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable stay in November and we would love to see you again in February. The jacuzzi is waiting for you......and Chef Mohammed will be preparing his dishes with love and spices! More 

Port of Spain, Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Hotel was under renovations when we stayed. However, noise was limited & we weren't affected by it at all. Employees were very pleasant & helpful. Ours was a breakfast inclusive package.....breakfast was lovely & there was a decent variety to choose from. We enjoyed our stay. Would love to go back when renovations are complete.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Shivani for your positive comments following your stay at Tropikist. We are delighted that you found the staff to be helpful and pleasant - we expect nothing less! Whilst you visited the hotel was in the process of building a wooden dining deck on the beach, connected to the breakfast restaurant via wooden steps. This is pretty much... More 

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

My husband and I had just one day to visit Tobago after our Christmas vacation in Trinidad. Tropikist is conveniently located within 5 minutes walking distance from the airport. It would be a crime to pay a taxi - it's that close. The hotel staff were quite friendly. We were about 3 hours early to check in and they were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments following your brief stay on Tobago and at Tropikist Beach Hotel. Sounds as though you guys had a great stay. Our beach has step access down to the sand but swimming is not advised due to the coral which reaches the shoreline. As you found, the lovely Store Bay beach is around the corner (5... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

I came to this your because what I saw on the Internet looks attractive...when we I got there it's a different story, the first problem we have is that the room that they gave us the wifi was too weak. The romote for the ac wasn't working...went to buy lunch the lunch was great what the portions you getting for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am not sure how your claim that what one sees on the Internet is upon arrival a "different story". Batteries on the remote controls do expire and when guests bring this to our attention they are charged. The WiFi signal like any large building can be temperamental from time to time and we cannot... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort

Address: Crown Point, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Crown Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropikist Beach Hotel Crown Point
Tropikist Beach Hotel And Resort
Hotel Tropikist Beach
Tropikist Hotel Tobago
Tropikist Beach Hotel Tobago
Tropikist Tobago
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort Tobago/Crown Point

361 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (344)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (71)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (81)
Viewed
View from room (29)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay