We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blanket Bay

5.0 of 5 Glenorchy Road | PO Box 35, Glenorchy 9350, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blanket Bay
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Blanket Bay
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    11
    2
    6
    0
See reviews for
11
83
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (122)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Norwalk, Connecticut
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
46 hotel reviews
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Blanket Bay in Glenorchy, Otago, New Zealand with its incredible setting overlooking Lake Wakatipu and the snow-capped mountain ranges, lives up to all expectations. The professional staff is over the top with service. Brent, the general manager, and Anna, the food operations manager, will make certain you have a great time. First the lodge itself with high ceilings, structural timbers,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Dear Cosmo144 Thank you for the lovely feedback and comments, they are much appreciated and have been shared with the team. We are truly lucky to be in such an amazing location and the building and surrounds blend so well together. We are delighted you were able to explore the many options available in our area and hope you return... More 

Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Incredible setting overlooking Lake Wakiputu . The hotel is beautifully furnished in Californian Lodge style. Bedrooms are fantastic , spacious with everything you need.Very comfy lounge with a huge fire . Perfect to relax by. Brett the GM was a fantastic host ,always interested in what we were doing,and making excellent recommendations of other activities. Location is great for activities... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Dear Richard B Thank you for taking the time to share your review, your comments are much appreciated and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and all the activities available. Your comments regarding the menu are noted. Being innovative, exploring old and new techniques, can come with some challenges in finding the right balance to ensure we can showcase... More 

Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I never gave a review but I had to for blanket bay. Exceptional view and this beautiful location are perfect. We passed by Blanket Bay during our honeymoon and I can say that it exceeded all my expectations. I was a bit scared to be bored in a lodge but I was so wrong. I wished we stayed longer. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

How nice to read your review, thank you for taking the time to write it. I do remember you saying you had some adventures on the way to Blanket Bay and we are very happy your adventures continued throughout your stay, they were many and varied but it was great to see you relax around the Lodge as well. Riding... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Blanket Bay Lodge exceeded all of our expectations. The setting was magical but what was exceptional was the quality of the service. Staff members made us feel as if we were staying in a friend's home. They even told us not to bother to lock our room or valuables as nothing would be stolen. We didn't lock the room and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we do appreciate the wonderful comments. The location is indeed superb with magical scenery that guests never tire of. The team is passionate about making every guest experience a special one, we are delighted you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

I'm reluctant to write this but I must say I was underwhelmed with our stay given the price. We have stayed at many gorgeous Aman resorts as well as Four Seasons and Peninsula Hotels for example. Prices in these places were much lower but service and special little extras far superior. Three nights of sous vide degustation dinners was unimaginative... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for your Trip Advisor report, we appreciate the time you have taken to review Blanket Bay. I am sorry we have let you leave Blanket Bay disappointed with the quality and value of your experience. The team is very passionate about making every guests experience memorable for all the right reasons so naturally we are also disappointed that... More 

Aliso Viejo, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015 via mobile

I always hesitate to give a review of found jewels.... Better to keep it a secret right? This place is too good not to share. The whole place is made to make you feel comfortable and at ease. It is the best luxury resort I've ever stayed, every comfort is thought of before you even know you want it. However,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you had such a great time, there is so much to do in the area to keep everyone, even teenagers, busy. Rest assured we do not have microphones in the rooms but we are happy to hear the team was attentive to and anticipated your... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Gorgeous lodge and just because it's called a lodge does not mean you are roughing it. I lost count of the number of fireplaces. Our bathroom floor is heated. A separate deep tub, shower cum sauna, his & her sinks. Extra large king bed and our own patio. The view of the lake and mountains that greet you every day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

The team is thrilled you had such a great time, it was fun sharing each day with you, watching all the adventurers, and watching you take some time for relaxing. It is always a pleasure to see guests explore the area and participate in the many activities available. We look forward to seeing you back at Blanket Bay soon. More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

November was our 40 wedding anniversary and the welcome extended to us by Brent and his team was outstanding.The view from our chalet was majestic snow capped mountains with a cosy fire inside. Incredibly comfortable bed with fresh flowers in our room and amazing attention to detail with a very high level of service.The food was superb with the chef... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Not a place for budget travellers, but one of life's experiences. A superb building & location; faultless service & quality. Very expensive, but the cost is almost forgotten when you are surrounded by such luxury in idyllic surroundings. Good for the soul!

Was this review helpful? Yes
adelaide, australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Beautiful outlook onto lake, accommodation of excellent quality, very friendly staff. Dinner was very good- portion size measured. The open bar of beer and soft drinks seems a tight fisted gesture when we are in otago wine country! And paying handsomely for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to providing the best possible services to our guests and I appreciate your feedback regarding local wine availability in the complimentary bar areas. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Blanket Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blanket Bay

Address: Glenorchy Road | PO Box 35, Glenorchy 9350, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blanket Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blanket Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blanket Bay Hotel Queenstown

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
2:31
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (21)
Viewed
Other (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay