We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blanket Bay

5.0 of 5 Glenorchy Road | PO Box 35, Glenorchy 9350, New Zealand
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blanket Bay
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Blanket Bay
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    10
    2
    6
    0
See reviews for
11
81
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (119)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Blanket Bay Lodge exceeded all of our expectations. The setting was magical but what was exceptional was the quality of the service. Staff members made us feel as if we were staying in a friend's home. They even told us not to bother to lock our room or valuables as nothing would be stolen. We didn't lock the room and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm reluctant to write this but I must say I was underwhelmed with our stay given the price. We have stayed at many gorgeous Aman resorts as well as Four Seasons and Peninsula Hotels for example. Prices in these places were much lower but service and special little extras far superior. Three nights of sous vide degustation dinners was unimaginative... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for your Trip Advisor report, we appreciate the time you have taken to review Blanket Bay. I am sorry we have let you leave Blanket Bay disappointed with the quality and value of your experience. The team is very passionate about making every guests experience memorable for all the right reasons so naturally we are also disappointed that... More 

Aliso Viejo, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I always hesitate to give a review of found jewels.... Better to keep it a secret right? This place is too good not to share. The whole place is made to make you feel comfortable and at ease. It is the best luxury resort I've ever stayed, every comfort is thought of before you even know you want it. However,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you had such a great time, there is so much to do in the area to keep everyone, even teenagers, busy. Rest assured we do not have microphones in the rooms but we are happy to hear the team was attentive to and anticipated your... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Gorgeous lodge and just because it's called a lodge does not mean you are roughing it. I lost count of the number of fireplaces. Our bathroom floor is heated. A separate deep tub, shower cum sauna, his & her sinks. Extra large king bed and our own patio. The view of the lake and mountains that greet you every day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

The team is thrilled you had such a great time, it was fun sharing each day with you, watching all the adventurers, and watching you take some time for relaxing. It is always a pleasure to see guests explore the area and participate in the many activities available. We look forward to seeing you back at Blanket Bay soon. More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

November was our 40 wedding anniversary and the welcome extended to us by Brent and his team was outstanding.The view from our chalet was majestic snow capped mountains with a cosy fire inside. Incredibly comfortable bed with fresh flowers in our room and amazing attention to detail with a very high level of service.The food was superb with the chef... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Not a place for budget travellers, but one of life's experiences. A superb building & location; faultless service & quality. Very expensive, but the cost is almost forgotten when you are surrounded by such luxury in idyllic surroundings. Good for the soul!

Was this review helpful? Yes
adelaide, australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Beautiful outlook onto lake, accommodation of excellent quality, very friendly staff. Dinner was very good- portion size measured. The open bar of beer and soft drinks seems a tight fisted gesture when we are in otago wine country! And paying handsomely for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to providing the best possible services to our guests and I appreciate your feedback regarding local wine availability in the complimentary bar areas. More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We stayed at blanket bay lodge during our holidays to New Zealand in september 2014. It is just about the most amazing location imaginable and the views of snow topped mountains are surreal to say the least. The rooms have a balcony/private terrace with spectacular views of the Southern Alps and Lake Wakatipu. The lodge itself though built in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was our pleasure to take care of you and your family and we do look forward to seeing you again in the future, perhaps after graduation?? The Dart River experience is very special and one that encompasses more than a jet boat ride as you discovered. So glad you... More 

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

First class accomodation ! Its expensive but if you are looking for privacy and serenity with breath taking views this may just suit you ! We drove ourselves from the centre of Queenstown and the drive itself is beautiful - very bendy road so don't have a big meal before you leave ! Our bedroom was very luxurious and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we have shared your comments with the team. You are right, the scenic drive to the Lodge is spectacular and one of the best in the world. We look forward to the opportunity to seeing you back at Blanket Bay in the future. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My partner and I were lucky enough to spend a night at Blanket Bay in mid July. We stayed in the Mt Aspiring Suite, which was beautifully appointed with an open fire and a magnificent view across the lake. There is an amazing attention to detail throughout the lodge, both in décor and in service. Every space is treated with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

So happy your stay was everything you wished for and we do look forward to seeing again soon. We appreciate the time you took to write the review. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Blanket Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blanket Bay

Address: Glenorchy Road | PO Box 35, Glenorchy 9350, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blanket Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blanket Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blanket Bay Hotel Queenstown

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
2:31
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (21)
Viewed
Other (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay