We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blanket Bay

Certificate of Excellence
Glenorchy Road | PO Box 35, Glenorchy 9350, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blanket Bay
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Blanket Bay
Rate this Hotel

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    11
    2
    6
    0
See reviews for
12
86
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (126)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We spent three nights at Blanket Bay. We had a nice large room with a lovely balcony overlooking the snow capped mountains (Remarkables?). The staff greets you when you arrive and are there to help literally every second of your stay. They even greet your helicopter on the lawn when you do a day of sightseeing (with tea and pastries... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a wonderful property. Some highlights: amazing scenery, beautiful rooms, friendly service, tranquility, delicious breakfasts and dinners, and access to some great activities. We stayed for two nights on a tour of New Zealand and wished it could have been longer. While at Blanket Bay we took advantage of a helicopter glacier tour, which departed from the lawn of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aspen, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 3 nights at Blanket Bay . The service, the food and the views are great. You are just 20 min fro the Routeburn track and wonderful hiking. The quiet of Blanket Bay after Queenstown is a refreshing. There are many excursions from there to milford etc that can be arranged. I would return

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Blanket Bay sets the bar for all other luxury lodges in New Zealand. I just spent two weeks traveling through New Zealand with my family. We stayed at The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs, The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, Huka Lodge, and finally, Blanket Bay Lodge. Each lodge we stayed at was beautiful in their own ways and we had wonderful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwalk, Connecticut
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
46 hotel reviews
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Blanket Bay in Glenorchy, Otago, New Zealand with its incredible setting overlooking Lake Wakatipu and the snow-capped mountain ranges, lives up to all expectations. The professional staff is over the top with service. Brent, the general manager, and Anna, the food operations manager, will make certain you have a great time. First the lodge itself with high ceilings, structural timbers,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Dear Cosmo144 Thank you for the lovely feedback and comments, they are much appreciated and have been shared with the team. We are truly lucky to be in such an amazing location and the building and surrounds blend so well together. We are delighted you were able to explore the many options available in our area and hope you return... More 

Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Incredible setting overlooking Lake Wakiputu . The hotel is beautifully furnished in Californian Lodge style. Bedrooms are fantastic , spacious with everything you need.Very comfy lounge with a huge fire . Perfect to relax by. Brett the GM was a fantastic host ,always interested in what we were doing,and making excellent recommendations of other activities. Location is great for activities... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Dear Richard B Thank you for taking the time to share your review, your comments are much appreciated and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and all the activities available. Your comments regarding the menu are noted. Being innovative, exploring old and new techniques, can come with some challenges in finding the right balance to ensure we can showcase... More 

Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

I never gave a review but I had to for blanket bay. Exceptional view and this beautiful location are perfect. We passed by Blanket Bay during our honeymoon and I can say that it exceeded all my expectations. I was a bit scared to be bored in a lodge but I was so wrong. I wished we stayed longer. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

How nice to read your review, thank you for taking the time to write it. I do remember you saying you had some adventures on the way to Blanket Bay and we are very happy your adventures continued throughout your stay, they were many and varied but it was great to see you relax around the Lodge as well. Riding... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Blanket Bay Lodge exceeded all of our expectations. The setting was magical but what was exceptional was the quality of the service. Staff members made us feel as if we were staying in a friend's home. They even told us not to bother to lock our room or valuables as nothing would be stolen. We didn't lock the room and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we do appreciate the wonderful comments. The location is indeed superb with magical scenery that guests never tire of. The team is passionate about making every guest experience a special one, we are delighted you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015 via mobile

I'm reluctant to write this but I must say I was underwhelmed with our stay given the price. We have stayed at many gorgeous Aman resorts as well as Four Seasons and Peninsula Hotels for example. Prices in these places were much lower but service and special little extras far superior. Three nights of sous vide degustation dinners was unimaginative... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for your Trip Advisor report, we appreciate the time you have taken to review Blanket Bay. I am sorry we have let you leave Blanket Bay disappointed with the quality and value of your experience. The team is very passionate about making every guests experience memorable for all the right reasons so naturally we are also disappointed that... More 

Aliso Viejo, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

I always hesitate to give a review of found jewels.... Better to keep it a secret right? This place is too good not to share. The whole place is made to make you feel comfortable and at ease. It is the best luxury resort I've ever stayed, every comfort is thought of before you even know you want it. However,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you had such a great time, there is so much to do in the area to keep everyone, even teenagers, busy. Rest assured we do not have microphones in the rooms but we are happy to hear the team was attentive to and anticipated your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
2:31
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (63)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question