We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Madrugada Beach Resort

3.0 of 5 Beach Road, Makunduchi, Tanzania (Formerly Zanzibar Azure Beach Resort)
Hotel website
Announcement
New hotel name in January
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Madrugada Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
La Madrugada Beach Resort
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (33)
  • Mar-May only
    (0)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just checked in, from the reception, to the room, to the ambience just splendid Friendly staff Mr Jurgen and Mr Solomon awesome people I love the place and recommend it to guys who need peace and quite times

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If your looking for peace and quiet - La Madrugada is the place. It is some 70 km from Stone Town on a beach plot with almost no one but the villagers. The rooms are basic but clean, the food is good; I enjoyed the milkshake with a bit of ice-cream. The hotel as two pools and a open Spa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly, relaxing, service orientated and beautiful place to stay, when the sea was gone, we enjoyed the pool. Helpful staff in particular the owner, Juergen. Good price for great service, particular the room service (very creative). To find peace, warm water and a nice beach...it's worth coming back

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

La Madrugada has excellent, friendly staff who are happy to help you with anything you need. The hotel is beautiful and well maintained and the food is good. Breakfast included eggs, pancakes, fresh fruit and juice, as well as the usual toast and cereal. It's very quiet, great for relaxation. The only minus is the location: it's really out of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in La Madrugada in July 2014 , it was so nice that we came back in November , this time for 11 nights . Everything was wonderful as we remembered , the sea , the beach , the colour and the smell of the sea in this part of the island . We enjoyed so much the our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lusaka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I very much enjoyed my 10 days at La Madrugada Resort. The location is superb to get away from the papasi (annoying guides). The beach is quite nice and not crowded at all. My room was very pleasantly decorated and large. The A/C worked well and we had plenty of hot water. The management was great and there were not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

I was here for a total of 8days. The first two days were amazing. But I son realized that things were not right. They tried to overcharge me a couple of times and even managed to get money off me while I expected a refund. The food was blunt and basic. Jorgen wasn't interested in having anything to do with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jürgen R, General Manager at La Madrugada Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Letty When you write a review you should write the truth and not leave out facts. To your points: 1. overcharge: Your group coordinator ordered a cheap food consisting out of "ugali and beans" for 3 US$ pp because you have a small budget. As you ordered an upgrade to a BBQ with starter, fish, chicken, octopus,.. and desert... More 

Sandbach, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014 via mobile

Situated on the South East corner of the island, La Madrugada is in a remote location far from anything which is splendid if you don't do night life, pubs and bars. It's location also means that guests are not bothered by locals trying to sell their wares, which has happened to us at a much fancier hotel. The staff are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Beautiful beach, clean pools, phantastic room service, helpful waiters, barmen and chef - what else can you desire? The fact that the location is an hour away from town makes it a quiet place surrounded only by bush and the sea. Excursions and transfers are easily organised and Solomon, Juergen and their staff do everything to make it a pleasant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
valencia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

nice place, staff super helpfull and dont forget to do excursions with them, they are very profesionals and well organize, i had tried before with other excursions companies and cant be compared with La Madrugada excursion team

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to La Madrugada Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Madrugada Beach Resort

Address: Beach Road, Makunduchi, Tanzania (Formerly Zanzibar Azure Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Makunduchi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Madrugada Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Madrugada Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Madrugada Beach Resort Zanzibar/Makunduchi

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near La Madrugada Beach Resort

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby