We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Madrugada Beach Resort

3.0 of 5 Beach Road, Makunduchi, Tanzania (Formerly Zanzibar Azure Beach Resort)
Hotel website
Special Price
20% off room rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Madrugada Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
La Madrugada Beach Resort
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (27)
  • Mar-May only
    (0)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Lusaka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I very much enjoyed my 10 days at La Madrugada Resort. The location is superb to get away from the papasi (annoying guides). The beach is quite nice and not crowded at all. My room was very pleasantly decorated and large. The A/C worked well and we had plenty of hot water. The management was great and there were not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was here for a total of 8days. The first two days were amazing. But I son realized that things were not right. They tried to overcharge me a couple of times and even managed to get money off me while I expected a refund. The food was blunt and basic. Jorgen wasn't interested in having anything to do with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jürgen R, General Manager at La Madrugada Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Letty When you write a review you should write the truth and not leave out facts. To your points: 1. overcharge: Your group coordinator ordered a cheap food consisting out of "ugali and beans" for 3 US$ pp because you have a small budget. As you ordered an upgrade to a BBQ with starter, fish, chicken, octopus,.. and desert... More

Sandbach, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Situated on the South East corner of the island, La Madrugada is in a remote location far from anything which is splendid if you don't do night life, pubs and bars. It's location also means that guests are not bothered by locals trying to sell their wares, which has happened to us at a much fancier hotel. The staff are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful beach, clean pools, phantastic room service, helpful waiters, barmen and chef - what else can you desire? The fact that the location is an hour away from town makes it a quiet place surrounded only by bush and the sea. Excursions and transfers are easily organised and Solomon, Juergen and their staff do everything to make it a pleasant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
valencia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

nice place, staff super helpfull and dont forget to do excursions with them, they are very profesionals and well organize, i had tried before with other excursions companies and cant be compared with La Madrugada excursion team

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

It is a down on the southern end of the island so it was quite and a bit secluded. It was nice to be away from all the other vacationers. It is priced very well and all the rooms had A/C which I really enjoyed. Unfortunately the internet was terrible. The signal didn't reach the rooms and even when you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cairo Governorate, Egypt
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

we had great time there. we were amazed by the service there! the crew was more than amazing with great smile and funny. The room was done twice with great care each day and the 2 free water bottles were a nice gesture :) all in all it was very good and the food was great Only it's away from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sandton, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We have stayed here for 8 nights and it was the best deal I could get on the internet! This is my 4th visits to Zanzibar and staying at La Madrugada has been the best! The staff is friendly and rooms are cleaned twice a day and decorated with flowers. Breakfast is fruit , egg and even pancakes! We have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Fantastic hotel, lovely staff, service was superb! Location on the island was perfect for me and my boyfriend, quiet and very romantic! Thanks to everyone there especially the manager (Juergen) for making our holiday so magical! Would recommend this to anyone who wanted Paradise.... Short taxi journey to Jambiani for nightlife! Perfect! X

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

The hotel is very nice, is's clean, the staff is friendly and the price is good. The pool area is beautiful and the beach is beautiful too. The location is a bit out of the way, but it's only 1 hour 10-15 minutes by car to Stone Town and the western side of the island. To Paje it's 15 minutes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to La Madrugada Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Madrugada Beach Resort

Address: Beach Road, Makunduchi, Tanzania (Formerly Zanzibar Azure Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Makunduchi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Madrugada Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, T4B, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your La Madrugada Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Madrugada Beach Resort Zanzibar/Makunduchi

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Other (46)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near La Madrugada Beach Resort

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby