We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Penkridge hotels

Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pinfold Lane, Penkridge ST19 5QP, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
60%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Penkridge
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
calcot2009 Bromborough, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (329)
  • Photos (42)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (70)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    115
    74
    35
    29
See reviews for
57
132
20
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for 2 nights with my partner, teen ginger step son and 8 year old daughter for a couple of days adventure at Alton Towers. Rooms were clean and perfectly adequate for our needs, staff were pleasant and helpful, food was lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments of which i have passed onto my team.Hope you all had a lovely time at Alton Towers & hope to see you all again soon & enjoy this wonderful weather we are having. Kind Regards Peter Miller Deputy General Manager More

middlesbrough
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stay here all the time and have seen an old run down building change hands many times, each new owner changes some parts of the decoration or beds and even TVs. the rooms are getting there and I will keep on staying here as it has good points and bad points just like any other hotel, good points are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelManagerStafford, Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and your business at the Mercure Stafford. I am pleased to see that the work we have done is being noticed but can only apologise that the wi-fi has not come up to your expectations. We are hoping that the work we do in the week commencing 4 August will improve this service. I was... More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff were very nice and informative as well as assuring we were well kept and looked after. Cleaning staff did an amazing job each day. Food in the hotel was very tasty indeed and also were very helpful with my girlfriends allergies.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed-back this week. I am delight to hear that you had a good stay and your kind words will be shared with the team Yours truly Emily Rogers More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My Husband & I stayed here for the Fishomania weekend, our room was lovely, the bathroom could have done with a slight update but all the Staff, Food & Service was 100% / Well Done - Happy Customers ☺️

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for putting your thoughts on Tripadvisor. I am always delighted to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay and that they will be visiting us again. I am sorry that the bathroom was not as good as it could have been but we are working on this. Many thanks again Emily Rogers More

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the hotel and leisure centre were very well equipped.the staff were very helpful and friendly.the food was excellent,from table dote menu or you could pay a small supplement to upgrade to a steak witch was cooked perfectly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to the hotel again Emily Rogers More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself and my boyfriend recently stayed at the Mercure hotel in Penkridge on a Alton towers getaway. We weren't expecting anything fancy because we paid so little for the whole trip but were pleasantly surprised at how lovely the hotel was. Clean, friendly, quiet and relaxing just what we needed after a busy day at Alton towers. Breakfast was lovely!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kid comments, which I will share with the team We look forward to welcoming you back soon Emily Rogers More

Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights and never again, the hotel is old,run down and in need of some tlc!rooms awful,rusty taps ,stained bathtub,bathmat in pieces,was given an upgrade room that was smelly,no air,a heater that wouldn't,t turn off and right next to two very dirty office rooms that looked like they had never seen a cleaner.the whole place needs condemning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Stafford South Penkridge I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. The bedroom you were allocated on arrival is one of our larger rooms which people usually like, however when you pointed out to our Deputy Manager, Peter, that the heating was on he promptly moved... More

Travelers are raving about these Penkridge hotels

alvechurch
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stayed here for a weekend break, 1st impressions were awful ! the outside of the hotel is really run down, right by a train line, front steps are lethal ! our room was fine, spotlessly clean, basic, beds were comfy , rooms were dark with all the overgrown trees outside the staff were mostly excellent, particularly Francesca, Rachel -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I will ensure that all of the team are aware of the recognition. I am very sorry about your experience in the leisure and I assure you that we are looking at the pool as we speak emily rogers More

Nottingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I have no other way to express my disgust in the lack of care and maintenance of the the fitness club in this hotel. I have read many of the reviews in regards to cleanliness and it is the same in the leisure club. Although I am only a leisure/gym member, I am extremely dissapointed with the lack of hygiene... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on this site I am sorry that you are dissapointed with the services offered in leisure. Since the 13 June we have been experiencing problems with the pool temperature and the steam room. Both of these problems required a call out and to order parts and although we managed temporary repairs to the pool they... More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

we stayed last weekend,the staff were very pleasant,food very good a good choice for breakfast,i must agree with the last review some of our room could have done with a bit of a clean but the bed linen was fresh and clean and very comfortable.we did visit the pool , again this does need some attention as the outside grounds... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we take customer feed-back very seriously and we will use your comments in our future staff training. As we speak the grounds are being tidied up, so if you return I hope you will notice the difference Emily Rogers More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel

Address: Pinfold Lane, Penkridge ST19 5QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Penkridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stafford Quality Hotel

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel is ideally located for both the leisure and business traveller, close to Junctions 12 and 13 of the M6 motorway. You can really relax at the Hotel, a wonderful setting surrounded by rural countryside in the peaceful market town of Penkridge. The hotel has a leisure centre and Free WiFi for all guests. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
51

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer