We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
Sani Pass | Sani Pass Road, Himeville 3256, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    18
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (79)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wow, what a fantastic location and backed up by personal service. Gareth and his team pulled out all the stops. We were truly sad to leave. The weather was fantastic and the food and menu delicious. I would stay just for the views!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Wow Justin thanks for the review, and so glad our service levels were up to scratch. Regards Gareth More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

I was awe struck as I entered the premises, what a brilliant surprise from my other half. We had the pleasure of staying at Lakeside Lodge no.2 for 2 nights. The views, are enough to take your breath away. Waking up to the sun rising on the mountains was spectacular. apart from the awesome facilities, like the the Jacuzzi an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Hi "Chrispravs", just to keep your actual name private :) It was honestly a pleasure having you stay with us and I am going to keep you to your promise of returning sooner rather than later. Winter brings its own beauty. All the best, Regards Gareth More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Were lucky enough to stay here for 2 nights a few weeks ago and had a fantastic stay. He views were of the beef were incredible and breathtaking. We did do a little fishing however the weather had been hot so the fish were deep and we had little luck. This disappointment was made up by the rest of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Wow, sorry for the late response guys, thought I had replied to this message ages ago :). Thanks for the review, would love to have you back, sooner rather than later. Regards Gareth More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

The reason the words 'paradise' and 'killer views' get thrown about in almost every review is because it IS true. The views are stunning. The accommodation and service only add to the mix, making this a truly magical place. The drive from Joburg is too long to be enjoyable (about 7 hours. More, if travelling with kids). It would still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Wow the problem with this kind of review is that people may think I either begged you to write something or that I paid you to write something, promise neither is true. Thank you so much for the lovely review, and I am working on how we can get hammocks under the trees :). Hope to have you back........maybe in... More 

Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

I had a comfortable stay at Sunset 1. The view was to die for and the room was lovely and spacious. The staff were pleasant and the food was good. A nice place to relax and let go of the stresses of city life. It doesn't really make sense for someone travelling from Gauteng. An unpleasant +/- 530 km 7... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Delta Thank you for the review, always nice to hear that the staff were good and that you enjoyed our home cooked meals in your lodge.....and obviously the views. The drive from JHB can be long sometimes, sorry you had to deal with it alone and late at night, I agree that it is better to do the drive... More 

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

I think we have found a little piece of paradise. What a wonderful week we spent in Lakeside 2. Stunning views, comfortable lodge and friendly helpful staff. Very well equipped. The Lakeside Lodges are right on the water's edge and made launching a float tube very easy. We opted for the breakfast and dinner package and it was wonderful not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Zoe So glad you had a great time, and you enjoyed our dinners served in your lodge. Sorry I missed you when you left, we left to go away for a while, even we need to get away from paradise :) Regards Gareth More 

Benoni
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Our extended family of fifteen including babies, toddlers and seniors stayed at the Rainbow lodge and three Sunset lodges over Christmas 2014. The setting is idyllic with game on your doorstep, the picturesque mountains and Lake Lifton making you feel immediately at ease. We hiked, flyfished (not very succesfully), mountain biked and relaxed on the lovely decks. We received a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Essop family (extended), what a pleasure having you here, its easy to come accross as a friend....it works both ways :). Bike up Sani Pass...you crazy, car far better. Hope to have you all back again for more than 4 days next time. Regards Gareth More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

If you are looking to relax in beautiful surroundings, then this would certainly be the place to go. We must compliment the staff on always being friendly and professional, going out of their way to make sure that we were comfortable and happy. The service was great and personal, but not invasive, which is very important to us. We wanted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Tash and John, thank you for your review, and the compliments! It makes it easy for me to motivate my staff to keep striving for the best when I get reviews like this. Hope you had a safe trip home, and as you stayed for quite a few nights this review means even more to me. You are welcome... More 

Harare, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

What an amazing lodge to stay at. We stayed in Lakeside 1 which was absolutely stunning. The lodge was very well equipped for self catering, even though we chose the breakfast and dinner package in which the food was delicious. The lodge itself was beautifully fitted with modern amenities including your own private Jacuzzi. The views from the lodge was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Hi David, Thank you for your review, I am going to hold you to your promise of returning some day....hopefully not too long a wait :) Regards Gareth More 

Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Our stay at Sani Valley was our first part of our SA holiday and it was perfect. We really enjoyed the peace and quite and the breathtaking views surrounding us, the lodge was well equipped and was extremely comfortable. We enjoyed warm days but the evenings were still a little chilly, however the Lodge was all set up to keep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hayley, thank you for your kind words, really appreciated! I am glad the fire was ready for you and the electric blankets were on, living in the mountains the weather can change so quickly. We try to make dinners a special time and am so glad you enjoyed them, hopefully we will have you guys back in the future.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (91)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay