We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
Sani Pass | Sani Pass Road, Himeville 3256, South Africa
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    56
    19
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
44
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Ontario, CAN
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked the Sani Valley lodge as "just a place to stay" while we took the Sani Pass tour. Driving into the lodge we were still not sure where we were going to end up! But by the time we were shown to our lakeside bungalow and took in the views we considered it our lucky day, and honestly it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Wow if we have made that type of impression a few months later, I feel we have accomplished what we have set out to do. Thank you for the review and hopefully we see you on your next trip to SA. Yes the second bed area is intended for smaller children normally and not a 3rd adult but we are... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

We went there for our honeymoon in June and I must admit the spectacular view is out of this world! We truly got to rest and just enjoy peace and tranquillity. I must admit that I am a little disappointed in the fact that we only got to stay 5 nights in the honeymoon suite and got moved for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MJvGraan, Thank you for the review, although the heading and ratings are not great, I do appreciate that you enjoyed our food and the relaxing experience. Unfortunately there seems to be a bit of confusion surrounding your booking. We would definitely have preferred you to stay in one unit and not have to move however when you extended your... More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

beautiful and breathtaking surroundings and amazing lodges with attention to detail. Went on pony ride, walked around the lodges, enjoyed the meals delivered direct to door. Children's play area, small but enough. Breakfast lovely. Almost like a spa setting. Nothing to much trouble. Close to sani pass, so great place to stay. Cannot recommend enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sara Thank you for the review, so glad you had a good time and managed to go on the pony ride :) Regards Gareth More 

Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

having just returned from Sani valley lodge 2 days ago, we still cannot stop talking about our stay. value for money for sure!!! the premises are well looked and just stunning! The location: unbelievable, peace, quiet and such stunning views. The View from your Bed/Bath in the morning from cottage lakeside 1 is to die for! The Staff: Pleasant, welcoming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Hi avk12345 (never know if I should use your real name or not????) What an awesome review, thank-you! I will be sure to tell the chef, and all the staff that were involved in your stay. Hope you come back soon with your new family :) Regards Gareth More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Wow, what a fantastic location and backed up by personal service. Gareth and his team pulled out all the stops. We were truly sad to leave. The weather was fantastic and the food and menu delicious. I would stay just for the views!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Wow Justin thanks for the review, and so glad our service levels were up to scratch. Regards Gareth More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

I was awe struck as I entered the premises, what a brilliant surprise from my other half. We had the pleasure of staying at Lakeside Lodge no.2 for 2 nights. The views, are enough to take your breath away. Waking up to the sun rising on the mountains was spectacular. apart from the awesome facilities, like the the Jacuzzi an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Hi "Chrispravs", just to keep your actual name private :) It was honestly a pleasure having you stay with us and I am going to keep you to your promise of returning sooner rather than later. Winter brings its own beauty. All the best, Regards Gareth More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Were lucky enough to stay here for 2 nights a few weeks ago and had a fantastic stay. He views were of the beef were incredible and breathtaking. We did do a little fishing however the weather had been hot so the fish were deep and we had little luck. This disappointment was made up by the rest of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Wow, sorry for the late response guys, thought I had replied to this message ages ago :). Thanks for the review, would love to have you back, sooner rather than later. Regards Gareth More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

The reason the words 'paradise' and 'killer views' get thrown about in almost every review is because it IS true. The views are stunning. The accommodation and service only add to the mix, making this a truly magical place. The drive from Joburg is too long to be enjoyable (about 7 hours. More, if travelling with kids). It would still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Wow the problem with this kind of review is that people may think I either begged you to write something or that I paid you to write something, promise neither is true. Thank you so much for the lovely review, and I am working on how we can get hammocks under the trees :). Hope to have you back........maybe in... More 

Johannesburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

I had a comfortable stay at Sunset 1. The view was to die for and the room was lovely and spacious. The staff were pleasant and the food was good. A nice place to relax and let go of the stresses of city life. It doesn't really make sense for someone travelling from Gauteng. An unpleasant +/- 530 km 7... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Delta Thank you for the review, always nice to hear that the staff were good and that you enjoyed our home cooked meals in your lodge.....and obviously the views. The drive from JHB can be long sometimes, sorry you had to deal with it alone and late at night, I agree that it is better to do the drive... More 

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

I think we have found a little piece of paradise. What a wonderful week we spent in Lakeside 2. Stunning views, comfortable lodge and friendly helpful staff. Very well equipped. The Lakeside Lodges are right on the water's edge and made launching a float tube very easy. We opted for the breakfast and dinner package and it was wonderful not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gareth M, General Manager at Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Zoe So glad you had a great time, and you enjoyed our dinners served in your lodge. Sorry I missed you when you left, we left to go away for a while, even we need to get away from paradise :) Regards Gareth More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (91)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himeville
5.0 mi away
Sani Pass Hotel & Leisure Resort
16.7 mi away
Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
12.6 mi away
Castleburn Leisure Resort
Castleburn Leisure Resort
#1 of 3 in Underberg
4.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages
12.8 mi away
Umzimkulu River Lodge
Umzimkulu River Lodge
#2 of 13 in Underberg
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Old Hatchery
The Old Hatchery
#5 of 10 in Underberg
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay