We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moorcroft Manor

Sani Road, Himeville 3256, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Moorcroft Manor
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #2 of 7 Himeville B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
KayCastleDonington Castle Donington, UK
Review This Hotel

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
39
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (59)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Castle Donington, UK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Moorcroft Manor for 2 nights and did the Sani Pass tour on our one full day. The hotel was charming, peaceful and just what we wanted. The food was excellent both nights that we stayed abd very good value. There were some lovely touches like the sherry and fruit in the room when we arrived and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goolu K, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear the you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again. More 

Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We wish we'd stayed more than one night here. The room was spacious and had everything you needed and the underfloor heating in the bathroom was a luxurious touch. The grounds and gardens were lovely and we wished that we had been able to see them in the sunshine. The food at dinner was high quality and the wine good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goolu K, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope the weather is better the next time we see you. More 

Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

If you plan to go drive up the Sani pass, this is a very good Base. All the rooms are on ground level and most of them look out over the garden and the Drakenbergen in the distance. There are windows on the alley side of the rooms, which are usually open, but therefore it can be a bit noisy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goolu K, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed the beautiful setting of Moorcroft Manor on its own 12 hectare garden and park maintained by the hotel staff. The converted farm house is situated 400 meters from the main road and the rooms face on one side with direct access to the garden,rock pool,dam and fields beyond.On the back side of the rooms... More 

Galgenen
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

We arrived late afternoon after a memorable drive on Lofeni road from Kamsberg. The reception was good. Practical parking just 4 steps up to external corridor and door to room. Room spacious and tastefully decorated, bathroom good size and well equipped. Electrical adapters there where needed. Great view on to park-like grounds and the mountains beyond. Ideal starting point for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goolu K, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for drawing our attention to the service. We will definitely work on it. More 

Germany
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Moorcroft manor only one night. It was a pleasant stay and everything was very nice. The staff was friendly and helpful and the accommodation was clean and in good order. The rooms opening on to a patio and the lawn – spacious and very relaxing. The food was well prepared both at dinner and breakfast. The wonderful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goolu K, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

We arrive for a two day stay, in the most rubbish weather, rain, fog the lot. On arrival log fires were burning and the staff made us well at home. Rooms were of a very good standard, We stayed on a full board bassis, glad we did, food was very good. The best base for visiting the Sani Pass.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goolu K, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are always happy when our guests enjoy their stay with us. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

We stayed two nights in a lovely setting which was a perfect base for visiting the Southern Drakensberg area and Sani Pass. The hotel has an ‘English country side’ touch to it. The rooms and bathrooms are large, clean and all you need. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is unlimited free WiFi throughout the place. The restaurant’s menu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goolu K, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

My husband and I visited Himeville / Sani Pass for a quick break away from Somerset West from 23-26 October. We did not stay at Moorcroft Manor - (although we now wish we did!) - the hotel we did reside in was on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis and after the first night's very disappointing dinner experience we decided... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goolu K, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are always happy to hear from our guests and hope you stay with us the next time you are in Himeville. More 

Epen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful two days at Moorcroft Manor. The room was great. The people very nice. The environment very relaxing. Great lawn and a nice pool. And ...... what a great cook. The dinners were excellent. The best we had during our stay in South Africa. The best staff. A place to come back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goolu K, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are always happy to hear that our guests had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you to Moorcroft again. More 

Accra, Ghana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed at Moorcroft Manor for two nights with our 5 year old daughter. The suit was very comfortable and furnished with taste. Very cozy well heated room with comfortable bed and a very good bathroom. Every detail and accessory in the room was thought of with taste. Feel of perfect cleanliness everywhere. Evenings by the open fire place over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goolu K, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are always happy to hear that our guests had a wonderful time with us. The Moorcroft Team hopes to see you and your little girl again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question