We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moorcroft Manor

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Sani Road, Himeville 3256, South Africa
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Moorcroft Manor
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely room with beautiful view. The rooms are set in well cared-for gardens. The staff were very pleasant. Being greeted at breakfast by Constance's lovely smile made the world seem a better place! The food was very good.The mushroom brulee was delicious. We visited Himeville museum and nature reserve. Cobham nature reserve had many walking trails and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Holidaymakerx2
GKropf, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we will definitely let Constance know . More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

My wife and I stayed at Moorcroft Manor in the latter part of October 2015. We stayed here for 2 nights enrolee from East London to St. Lucia. We booked an Executive Suite (only 2, one at each end of the building). We stayed at the southern end of the building. The suite has its own little patio and garden... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ulwazi
GKropf, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

What a beautiful hotel - Absolutely gorgeous setting, beautifully appointed rooms, incredible staff. Genuinely, the staff made the stay. They attended to everything quickly and with a smile. But there was the offset - They had a lot to attend to. When I checked in, there wasn't a towel in my room, and the toilet was broken. Both were fixed... More 

Helpful?
Thank ZakWood
GKropf, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Training of our housekeeping, kitchen , maintenance & reception staff is an ongoing process and the missing towels will be on the agenda of the next session. We do apologise. The failure of the nylon pin that secures the flushing handle was really not foreseeable and as you mention was attended to immediately. We do... More 

Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I went for dinner at this establishment. When we arrived, we were invited to sit in the sitting room and were brought drinks. Later, we were given the menus and we placed our orders. When our meals were ready, we were invited into the dining area. The food was quite delicious. I had mussels for an appetizer... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sickmoose
GKropf, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015

Thank you Mario and your team for treating my colleagues to a fabulous stay at your hotel, everything was 100% from the meals to the rooms and the extra touches, dealing with your staff was an absolute pleasure. In particular, thank you for the delicious meals, really, really remarkable quality.

Helpful?
Thank 101volunteer
GKropf, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is always good to hear everyone enjoyed their stay with us and we hope to see you again. More 

Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015

Moorcroft Manor alludes to elegance and comfort and delivers. We had a convivial welcome from Clements; was shown to our well appointed rooms with a pleasant lounge in between. The weather was miserable but we soon warmed up when the log fire was lit....very friendly and well trained staff. We were made to feel at home immediately. We ate both... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 27trudie
GKropf, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again. More 

Howick, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015

A year ago I opened up Tripadvisor on my phone to find out how Moorcroft Manor had been rated by other travelers. We were driving through Himeville and thought it looked a bit "fancy" with 4 stars on their board. We were pleasantly surprised with the reasonable prices and excellent food. Now in August, a year later, we stopped in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
GKropf, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is good to hear from you that we have maintained our standards. You make reference to the main menu becoming a little bit more pricey.The fact is that margins in a place like Himeville are considerably smaller than in a comparable restaurant in the Midlands or in an urban area because big suppliers do... More 

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 via mobile

We joined a number of friends here for a "Christmas in July celebration" only for us to be blessed with a White Christmas in this magnificent setting. Moorecroft could not have been a more perfect place to be. From the wonderfully appointed rooms to the giant fireplace in the lounge / bar, to the magnificent food served and underfloor heated... More 

Helpful?
Thank William R
GKropf, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your wintery weekend at Moorcroft. The hotel really came alive with the sound of adults and children having a good time and it was a joy to look after you. We hope to see you again. More 

Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

An oak-lined driveway leads you to this magnificent manor at the base of the Drakensberg. Beaurifully furnished interior, lovely restaurant and relaxing patio area with breathtaking views. Relax with a sundowner and watch the mountain reedbuck frolic across the lawn.

Helpful?
Thank Warren144
GKropf, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

Beautiful setting and surrounded by some magnificent countryside. Our room was just stunning and so was our daughter's room which was slightly smaller but equally gorgeous. The view from the windows, looking at the Drakensberg was breathtaking. A very peaceful retreat.

Helpful?
Thank IbanLelang
GKropf, Owner at Moorcroft Manor, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we see you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himeville
3.2 mi away
Premier Hotel Sani Pass
Premier Hotel Sani Pass
#2 of 2 in Himeville
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
16.5 mi away
Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
KarMichael Farm Guesthouse
KarMichael Farm Guesthouse
#3 of 8 in Himeville
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Hotel Himeville Arms
14.8 mi away
Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay